Follow us on Twitter!
Become the change you seek in the world. - Gandhi
Thursday, April 24, 2014
Navigation
Home
HellBoundHackers Main:
HellBoundHackers Find:
HellBoundHackers Information:
Learn
Communicate
Submit
Shop
Challenges
HellBoundHackers Exploit:
HellBoundHackers Programming:
HellBoundHackers Think:
HellBoundHackers Track:
HellBoundHackers Patch:
HellBoundHackers Other:
HellBoundHackers Need Help?
Other
Members Online
Total Online: 27
Guests Online: 21
Members Online: 6

Registered Members: 82895
Newest Member: kevy90
Latest Articles
View Thread

HellBound Hackers | Computer General | OS specific

Author

Resolution problem...


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 05-09-07 21:28
My Box that has ubuntu on it randomly decided to make everything HUGE and not fit on the screen... I just figured something went wrong with my GUI when i installed something or switched monitors or something and over-looked it. I decided it was past time to move up from ubuntu anyway and tested knoppix out on my newer box. Everything booted fine and what i saw of knoppix i liked. Sooo i went to install knoppix over ubuntu... same problem... Everything is as big as it can get my resolution is extremly low.
I tried to change it but it only gave the one option. But when i looked at it on my newer box i saw many options for resolution....
This is frustrating me... I figured it must be some sort of restriction due to hardware... since its the same problem on both distros. But the only hardware i changed was the monitor, so i changed it back... no diffrence
Im pretty confused right now. I googled and found a few ppl with the same prob but no answer:angry:


Author

RE: Resolution problem...


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 05-09-07 21:49
Might be a graphics driver issue. Try updating to the latest version for your card and see if that fixes it.


Author

RE: Resolution problem...

BIBER
Member



Posts: 70
Location: Serbia
Joined: 30.07.06
Rank:
Newbie
Posted on 05-09-07 21:57
Its probably a XORG problem,try reconfiguring it.


take your time,look around
i178.photobucket.com/albums/w261/BIBERR/Revisionist.jpg
i178.photobucket.com/albums/w261/BIBERR/dmz.jpg
Author

RE: Resolution problem...


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 05-09-07 21:58
the card was working fine with ubuntu for like half a year.
Researcching xorg reconfiguring...


Author

RE: Resolution problem...


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 05-09-07 22:04
$ sudo dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg
asks a shitload of questions idk the answer to and leaves res the same...




Edited by on 05-09-07 22:05
Author

RE: Resolution problem...

BIBER
Member



Posts: 70
Location: Serbia
Joined: 30.07.06
Rank:
Newbie
Posted on 05-09-07 22:17
OK,now if u cant find the resolution u want type on google
Ubuntu(or knopix,whatever) 1024-768(for example)resolution
LoL so
Ubuntu 1024-768 resolution
u will find a tutorial how to edit /etc/X11/xorg.conf


take your time,look around
i178.photobucket.com/albums/w261/BIBERR/Revisionist.jpg
i178.photobucket.com/albums/w261/BIBERR/dmz.jpg
Author

RE: Resolution problem...


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 05-09-07 22:19
already tried that. It wont change the resolution it gives me some error code and a blue screen.
i've also tried randr
right now im giving it a fresh installation.


Author

RE: Resolution problem...


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 05-09-07 23:19
ctr+alt++ or ctr+alt+-?

bbl


Author

RE: Resolution problem...


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 05-09-07 23:43
basically the same thing happened to me, but on windows. Idk how to do it on ubuntu or knoppix, but i just reinstalled my graphics driver from device manager.


Author

RE: Resolution problem...

BIBER
Member



Posts: 70
Location: Serbia
Joined: 30.07.06
Rank:
Newbie
Posted on 05-09-07 23:56
Ubuntu restricted drivers,if not,then im blank....sry


take your time,look around
i178.photobucket.com/albums/w261/BIBERR/Revisionist.jpg
i178.photobucket.com/albums/w261/BIBERR/dmz.jpg
Author

RE: Resolution problem...


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 06-09-07 01:20
driver reinstalled.
no progress.
xorg reconfigured.
no progress.


it says You passed an undefined mode number...

right now im downloading Fedora core 7 to see if that has the same problem
Also a more recent iso for knoppix just for the hell of it.



Author

RE: Resolution problem...


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 06-09-07 01:45
sorry 'bout my useless post, so basically your screen is displayed too large for it to all be on your monitor?

I'm a little new to Linux, I use DSL and Xubuntu, and that happened to me once. It was fixed after I reconfigured Xorg though. If drivers and xorg reconfig didn't do it I don't know what will, but see if FC6 does it too. If so, it may be a hardware problem, but you said it's worked in the past... hmm... Good luck with it man, if I hear anything about this I'll let you know pronto


Author

RE: Resolution problem...

regret
Member



Posts: 144
Location: edge of existence...
Joined: 16.10.06
Rank:
Apprentice
Posted on 06-09-07 03:56
Copy and paste your xorg.conf file either here or PM me with it and I'll see if I can help.


www.hellboundhackers.org/sig/r/12852.png
I am the machine that reveals the truth to you as only I can see it.

Memories are nice, but that\'s all they are....memories.

You can\'t ever find a place that\'s nice and peaceful, because there isn\'t any. You may think there is, but once you get there, when you\'re not looking, somebody\'ll sneak up and write \'Fuck you\' right under your nose.
di3m0nd6ack www.regretexistence.com
Author

RE: Resolution problem...

korg
Admin from hell



Posts: 2798
Location: ENDING YOUR ONLINE EXPERIENCE!
Joined: 01.01.06
Rank:
God
Posted on 06-09-07 11:28
Try this might work:
sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg
Then look at screen resolutions and select the one you want.
It should appear in your dropdownlist
Restart X-server and it should work fine.

Or try gconf-editor But that's balls sometimes.



<PS:I love XP, But I use Linux also>


i57.photobucket.com/albums/g215/korg1269/shodan13.jpg

I deal in pain, All life I drain, I dominate, I seal your fate.

Edited by korg on 06-09-07 11:32
O R
Author

RE: Resolution problem...


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 06-09-07 21:41
i love XP too
I use linux cuz next summer that will be my job...
right now im booting redhat to see if it has the same prob (it seems to be frozen...) so as soon as im done doing that i'll reconfigure xorg.
but last time i did it it didnt ask for a resolution it just asked a bunch of random questions about my monitor video card and keyboard...


Author

RE: Resolution problem...


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 06-09-07 22:47
Have you thought about monitor drivers?
i know they can restrit the resoloution in windows to those that are only displayable on the monitor, im not sure how this kind of stuff works on Ubuntu or Knoppix, but on windows i would uninstall and reinstall all display related drivers.