Follow us on Twitter!
Few are those who can see with their own eyes and hear with their own hearts. - Albert Einstein
Saturday, April 19, 2014
Navigation
Home
HellBoundHackers Main:
HellBoundHackers Find:
HellBoundHackers Information:
Learn
Communicate
Submit
Shop
Challenges
HellBoundHackers Exploit:
HellBoundHackers Programming:
HellBoundHackers Think:
HellBoundHackers Track:
HellBoundHackers Patch:
HellBoundHackers Other:
HellBoundHackers Need Help?
Other
Members Online
Total Online: 28
Guests Online: 26
Members Online: 2

Registered Members: 82841
Newest Member: and3rv1sh
Latest Articles
View Thread

HellBound Hackers | Computer General | Trouble Shooting

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Author

nvlddmkm.sys

chess_rock
Member



Posts: 244
Location:
Joined: 20.02.08
Rank:
Apprentice
Posted on 26-04-09 17:49
Hey there people,

I'm experiencing some serious problems with my pc, and i thought this was the best place to post something.

I have two versions of vista installed in my computer (32 and 64) due to compatibility problems with some applications. Yesterday, i started to watch a movie and... Boom!... the screen got weird. I restarted my computer... Both my two versions of windows had the same problem... They couldn't recognize the System Management BUS and the videocard (a Nvidia 8800GTX btw)

So i re-installed both my motherboard and videocard drivers...
It worked for like 5 minutes, and then....Boom!...again! x_X

I restarted, and a Black Screen of death appeared saying there was some problem with the nvlddmkm.sys...

I did all suggestions they posted in forums like underclocking the whole pc to stock speed, reinstalling the driver, praying, etc. But none of them worked. Some guys said that they had even changed videocards and reinstalled windows and the problem continued...

Anyone could help me please? 640x480 configuration sucks... Sad
Author

RE: nvlddmkm.sys

chess_rock
Member



Posts: 244
Location:
Joined: 20.02.08
Rank:
Apprentice
Posted on 26-04-09 18:35
Thank you mosh. Yes you can have them:

Windows Vista Ultimate (32 and 64 bits)
Motherboard: Micro-Star International Co.
MS-7360
It's a P35 Neo

Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo 6600 2.40 Ghz

4MB ram
DirectX 10

Video Card Nvidia 8800GTX
Author

RE: nvlddmkm.sys

chess_rock
Member



Posts: 244
Location:
Joined: 20.02.08
Rank:
Apprentice
Posted on 26-04-09 18:48
MoshBat wrote:
Try the hard-drive in a different box whilst we wait for Korg Grin
I'm no expert when it comes to this kinda thing, but I will try and give you as much help as I can.


I'll do that
thanks a lot Smile
Author

RE: nvlddmkm.sys

korg
Admin from hell



Posts: 2798
Location: ENDING YOUR ONLINE EXPERIENCE!
Joined: 01.01.06
Rank:
God
Posted on 26-04-09 20:54
Give me a few minutes, Let me look that msi board up real quick.


i57.photobucket.com/albums/g215/korg1269/shodan13.jpg

I deal in pain, All life I drain, I dominate, I seal your fate.
O R
Author

RE: nvlddmkm.sys

chess_rock
Member



Posts: 244
Location:
Joined: 20.02.08
Rank:
Apprentice
Posted on 26-04-09 20:57
thanks man, i did what mosh told me but it didn't work. I was looking for more things to do, but they didn't work either.... scanned my pc with three different anti-spywares and nothing...
Author

RE: nvlddmkm.sys

korg
Admin from hell



Posts: 2798
Location: ENDING YOUR ONLINE EXPERIENCE!
Joined: 01.01.06
Rank:
God
Posted on 26-04-09 21:08
Here some stuff to do, You didn't mention if you ever updated your bios. (This is usally the problem when hardware fails). I found some: Bios update:
http://eu.msi.com. . .od_no=1215

Inf drivers:
http://eu.msi.com. . .od_no=1215

Also check your bios settings and apply these (Your using Pcie)
PnP O/S Installed: Enable
PCI Bursting: Disable PCI Latency Timer: 128 Peer Concurrency: Disable
Video BIOS Shadowing: Disable
Video RAM Cacheable: Disable
USWC: Disable/UC
Pipeline Cache Write: Disable
PCI 2.1 Compliance: Enable
Passive Release: Enable
Delayed Transaction:Enable
Graphics Aperture Size: 128MB (Set to half your total ram)

Also in the DirectX diag tool make sure that your directdraw and direct3d are enabled

After that uninstall your nvidia drivers completely and go here:
http://www.nvidia. . .lang=en-us
choose option 2

Should fix you up. If not you can try bumping some settings up on the pci bus:
Up the voltage on the pci and the frontsidebus by +1 v at a time
Also up the frequency of the pci by +5 mhz










i57.photobucket.com/albums/g215/korg1269/shodan13.jpg

I deal in pain, All life I drain, I dominate, I seal your fate.
O R
Author

RE: nvlddmkm.sys

chess_rock
Member



Posts: 244
Location:
Joined: 20.02.08
Rank:
Apprentice
Posted on 26-04-09 21:19
korg wrote:
Here some stuff to do, You didn't mention if you ever updated your bios. (This is usally the problem when hardware fails). I found some: Bios update:
http://eu.msi.com. . .od_no=1215

Inf drivers:
http://eu.msi.com. . .od_no=1215

Also check your bios settings and apply these (Your using Pcie)
PnP O/S Installed: Enable
PCI Bursting: Disable PCI Latency Timer: 128 Peer Concurrency: Disable
Video BIOS Shadowing: Disable
Video RAM Cacheable: Disable
USWC: Disable/UC
Pipeline Cache Write: Disable
PCI 2.1 Compliance: Enable
Passive Release: Enable
Delayed Transaction:Enable
Graphics Aperture Size: 128MB (Set to half your total ram)

Also in the DirectX diag tool make sure that your directdraw and direct3d are enabled

After that uninstall your nvidia drivers completely and go here:
http://www.nvidia. . .lang=en-us
choose option 2

Should fix you up. If not you can try bumping some settings up on the pci bus:
Up the voltage on the pci and the frontsidebus by +1 v at a time
Also up the frequency of the pci by +5 mhz


I did all those driver reinstalling. I uninstalled them and installed them from zero. And it didn't work.

I'll try those configurations in some minutes... I'll first eat something because i haven't had my lunch yet... It's 5pm here

but tell me... You said i need to put my card at half, 128mb. But my videocard has 768mb... can i put 384mb instead? that'd be half of my GPU ram.

btw, do you know if i reformat my computer and install windows, if this problem will continue there? Because my computer is somewhat unstable really, and i want to install ubuntu with Vista Ultimate 64 in it Smile
Author

RE: nvlddmkm.sys

korg
Admin from hell



Posts: 2798
Location: ENDING YOUR ONLINE EXPERIENCE!
Joined: 01.01.06
Rank:
God
Posted on 26-04-09 21:21
No you physical ram. In other words if you have a gig of ram set it to 512. 128 is the default setting just put it there to show you the setting.

Also if you update the bios and inf files, Reinstall the nvidia drivers again so they take right.


i57.photobucket.com/albums/g215/korg1269/shodan13.jpg

I deal in pain, All life I drain, I dominate, I seal your fate.

Edited by korg on 26-04-09 21:27
O R
Author

RE: nvlddmkm.sys

chess_rock
Member



Posts: 244
Location:
Joined: 20.02.08
Rank:
Apprentice
Posted on 26-04-09 21:27
korg wrote:
No you physical ram. In other words if you have a gig of ram set it to 512. 128 is the default setting just put it there to show you the setting.


oh, cool. Thought you were talkin' about my videocards memory ^_^
I'll do that then, thx. I'll post the results in some minutes... got approx 8 bites more to finish my sandwich Pfft lol
Author

RE: nvlddmkm.sys

chess_rock
Member



Posts: 244
Location:
Joined: 20.02.08
Rank:
Apprentice
Posted on 26-04-09 22:00
*destroyed look*
It didn't work Sad
Author

RE: nvlddmkm.sys

korg
Admin from hell



Posts: 2798
Location: ENDING YOUR ONLINE EXPERIENCE!
Joined: 01.01.06
Rank:
God
Posted on 26-04-09 22:03
What did you do exactly. Did you update your bios and inf files.
Change settings etc.

Did you try bumping your voltages and frequency.

I'll check back later I got to bolt.


i57.photobucket.com/albums/g215/korg1269/shodan13.jpg

I deal in pain, All life I drain, I dominate, I seal your fate.

Edited by korg on 26-04-09 22:21
O R
Author

RE: nvlddmkm.sys

chess_rock
Member



Posts: 244
Location:
Joined: 20.02.08
Rank:
Apprentice
Posted on 26-04-09 22:42
korg wrote:
What did you do exactly. Did you update your bios and inf files.
Change settings etc.

Did you try bumping your voltages and frequency.

I'll check back later I got to bolt.


did all things you told me; scanned my pc with Spybot,adware and trojan remover; reinstalled my drivers like 20 times today; prayed; considered installing linux into this machine...

for the last action, i'm kind of afraid, since i never used linux before...i'm afraid of having a not compatible OS... but i admid i've been watching videos and listening to linux users and i'm tempted.... xP
Author

RE: nvlddmkm.sys

korg
Admin from hell



Posts: 2798
Location: ENDING YOUR ONLINE EXPERIENCE!
Joined: 01.01.06
Rank:
God
Posted on 27-04-09 00:40
Well this is a known issue with vista and cards above 8600. I've had lot's of people with issues in nvidia and Sli. When you uninstalled the Nvidia drivers are you just using the uninstaller or are you doing a Full uninstall manually. If at one point vista installed the microsoft drivers for that card they conflict. Do this download drive sweeper:
http://www.guru3d. . .ersweeper/
Follow the instruction on the main page. When your done running the drivesweeper (you'll be in safe mode) Check the system32 folder for any more copies of nvlddmkm.sys if there are any delete them.
Then reboot Do not let vista install any drivers, Then install the Nvidia drivers. I've done this many times and never had a problem afterwards. See what happens.



i57.photobucket.com/albums/g215/korg1269/shodan13.jpg

I deal in pain, All life I drain, I dominate, I seal your fate.
O R
Author

RE: nvlddmkm.sys

chess_rock
Member



Posts: 244
Location:
Joined: 20.02.08
Rank:
Apprentice
Posted on 27-04-09 02:29
i'll try that tomorrow when i get back from university and inform ya if that works Smile Thanks a lot for your help man Smile
Author

RE: nvlddmkm.sys

chess_rock
Member



Posts: 244
Location:
Joined: 20.02.08
Rank:
Apprentice
Posted on 27-04-09 19:21
c4p_sl0ck wrote:
pigmanbear wrote:
Why don't you just reinstall a fresh copy of your OS and see if it gives you the same problem?


Maybe he has a lot of stuff he doesn't want to reinstall etc. And if you can avoid having to reinstall the OS it's better than having to.


Yep, c4p_sl0ck is right Smile I don't like to reinstall the OS... got lots of files and don't wanna lose time doing that and complicating things if i can solve the problem without the OS reinstall...

@korg: I did everything you told me and the problem continues. So i downloaded and ran the LiveCD version of ubuntu and my computer looks perfect...
Conclusions... My videocard is alright, and the problem was not caused by any driver... damn
what do you think? am i going to need to reinstall windows? Sad
Author

RE: nvlddmkm.sys

chess_rock
Member



Posts: 244
Location:
Joined: 20.02.08
Rank:
Apprentice
Posted on 27-04-09 19:33
bad news... I think my videocard is fucked up....
After i posted the last message in ubuntu live cd, the pc tilted... the screen went purple.
Author

RE: nvlddmkm.sys

korg
Admin from hell



Posts: 2798
Location: ENDING YOUR ONLINE EXPERIENCE!
Joined: 01.01.06
Rank:
God
Posted on 27-04-09 21:34
Doesn't sound good but before we condemn it try this:
Go to the Nvidia control panel. Under 3d settings go to adjust image settings with preview. Check use my preference and move the slider to balanced or performance. Make sure you click apply at the rt bottom to save the settings.

Also download this tester and try it:
http://freestone-. . .y-test.htm

Wish I had this rig in front of me it be alot easier.


i57.photobucket.com/albums/g215/korg1269/shodan13.jpg

I deal in pain, All life I drain, I dominate, I seal your fate.
O R
Author

RE: nvlddmkm.sys

chess_rock
Member



Posts: 244
Location:
Joined: 20.02.08
Rank:
Apprentice
Posted on 27-04-09 22:54
man... Benchmark = 0
and it didn't work properly since i have directx 10

it seems to be an error in the PCI-E configurations.... I changed it from 64 to 32 in BIOS (the other options were 96 and 128) and it worked for 5 minutes... but then again... failure! the screen loads even uglier...

can't even boot ubuntu live cd anymore Sad

changed it back to the original setting, 64, and damn....
Author

RE: nvlddmkm.sys


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 08-05-09 01:49
I'm no expert, and you may have already checked this.. but what are you running for a power supply in your computer? An 8800 GTX is a very good card, and besides for me being slightly jealous, that thing needs a lot of juice. Failure to provide enough, and you kind of get visual failure, similar to what I think you're describing. Yes? No? ;D


Author

RE: the same...


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 08-05-09 08:53
Hi!

I had the same problem.
I tried everything.

- checked the RAM
- checked the drivers
- set up my computer
and much more..

The only thing that helped at the end was, that I bought a new Card.
I tried the card (with the problem) in the Computer of my friend and: Oo
The same problem.

So the Graphic Card was defect!!


greetz.

and sorry for my english Pfft
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >