Follow us on Twitter!
Things are more like they are now than they have ever been before. - Dwight D. Eisenhower
Thursday, April 24, 2014
Navigation
Home
HellBoundHackers Main:
HellBoundHackers Find:
HellBoundHackers Information:
Learn
Communicate
Submit
Shop
Challenges
HellBoundHackers Exploit:
HellBoundHackers Programming:
HellBoundHackers Think:
HellBoundHackers Track:
HellBoundHackers Patch:
HellBoundHackers Other:
HellBoundHackers Need Help?
Other
Members Online
Total Online: 29
Guests Online: 26
Members Online: 3

Registered Members: 82901
Newest Member: sjs
Latest Articles
View Thread

HellBound Hackers | Computer General | General Computer Problems

Author

Need help with 1324 error


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 24-04-07 16:21
OK basically one of my hardrives died spontaneously a little while ago and then i began receiving a 1324: The path My Documents has an invalid character i have read everything about it tried every registry cleaner i could get my hands on, manually removed registry entries which i knew were fucking up.

Oh and i obviously checked that My Documents doesn't have and invalid character. Basically i think that once my hard drive died it fucked up something in the registry some how, since i changed my documents path to the hard drive that failed.

When the hard drive died some of my programs were also screwed up in the process which are detected in the add/remove option but there files are not in the program files folder(where they were originally installed) and all the shortcuts have disappeared) so when i attempt to try to reinstall these programs or uninstall i get the 1324 error and basically i just have used up space on my harddrive that i can't do anything with.

I've also tried uninstalling through the command prompt with no success.
So if anyone has any idea what i could try next to solve this problem(apart from formating my harddrive) or has experienced it before and was able to fix it please post how you did it or what i could do?

Thankyou to anyone in advance
Author

RE: Need help with 1324 error


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 24-04-07 16:24
i think the mbr of your harddrive got corrupted :happy:
just format it.




Edited by on 24-04-07 16:24
Author

RE: Need help with 1324 error

spyware
Member



Posts: 4192
Location:
Joined: 14.04.07
Rank:
God
Warn Level: 90
Posted on 24-04-07 16:29
So if anyone has any idea what i could try next to solve this problem(apart from formating my harddrive)


My instincts say format though.
Author

RE: Need help with 1324 error


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 24-04-07 16:37
Yeh i was hoping that i could be fixed without formating it (hoping that my partition sector(MBR) was not corrupted, but i also read about people reconstructing their partition tables to make it work again but that would take longer than formating it.

But yeh thanks for the reply ill probably format it when i get the time i just have heaps of programs on there it would take me a while to reinstall everythingGrin

Edited by on 24-04-07 16:38
Author

RE: Need help with 1324 error

spyware
Member



Posts: 4192
Location:
Joined: 14.04.07
Rank:
God
Warn Level: 90
Posted on 24-04-07 16:40
Aight, throw it in an external HDD casing (make sure it's SATA compatible) and hook it up on another pc. Then you can retrieve most files probably (hopefully).
Author

RE: Need help with 1324 error


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 24-04-07 17:09

@spyware
well see the hardrive is working the 200gig that failed is dead already and is some where in computer heaven, but yes i did try to get the data from the failing hard drive through the caddy, and after that i tried the freezer trick worked for about 5 mins got some data of and then permanently died.

But thats not about that hard drive the one that is alive (120gig) is working perfectly except for this gay 1324 error that has appeared after the 200gig failed.

Basically the reason why i don't want to format is because it takes along time for me to resintall all the programs back and to take all the data of my back up DVDs.

But thx anyway
Author

RE: What...


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 24-04-07 18:59
...OS are you using? What I might try first would be a system restore to a point before the crash if OS permits. I have had this work when other things failed surprisingly. I mean if you are faced with formatting it might be worth a shot...Frown