Follow us on Twitter!
Imagination is more valuable than knowledge - Albert Einstein
Friday, April 25, 2014
Navigation
Home
HellBoundHackers Main:
HellBoundHackers Find:
HellBoundHackers Information:
Learn
Communicate
Submit
Shop
Challenges
HellBoundHackers Exploit:
HellBoundHackers Programming:
HellBoundHackers Think:
HellBoundHackers Track:
HellBoundHackers Patch:
HellBoundHackers Other:
HellBoundHackers Need Help?
Other
Members Online
Total Online: 19
Guests Online: 17
Members Online: 2

Registered Members: 82908
Newest Member: krishna7799
Latest Articles
View Thread

HellBound Hackers | Computer General | Hardware

Author

my screen is set at 4-Bit


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 20-02-11 16:54
Hey everyone, i want to know why this is happening and how to fix, please. I installed Winborg 2010 on my laptop, it installed all drivers "correctly" but by default it set my monitor to 4-bit color and 640x480 i think, or some resolution near those numbers. i downloaded the correct drivers from ASUS website but made no difference. so i uninstalled the driver and rebooted, loeded perfectly into 1024x768 and 32-Bit color. i installed the appropriat ASUS driver and it went back to 4-Bit. so i uninstalled again. its working at 32-bit now, but it still seems like a bit blury or sumting, and wen i reboot it keeps asking to install the drivers, but i keep ignoring it cuz if i install it will go back to prehistoric 4-Bit.
Any help is much appreciated.
Author

RE: my screen is set at 4-Bit

j4m32
Member

Your avatar

Posts: 81
Location:
Joined: 01.05.10
Rank:
Newbie
Posted on 20-02-11 17:26
Probably because it's defaulting back to a VESA graphics driver that supports 1024x768 @ 32bpp when you uninstall the graphics driver.

Laptop model and specifically the GPU vendor/version/model etrc would give us a bit more information.

As it stands there is nothing to indicate that the drivers installed incorrectly, so you're saying you have no options to increase the resolution/colour depth?

Jim,

Edited by j4m32 on 20-02-11 17:30
Author

RE: my screen is set at 4-Bit


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 20-02-11 19:02
yea, thats it. with the driver uninstalled i can change resolution and color depth, but when i install the driver that ASUS provides me with, or the one automatically installed, it defaults back to the 4-bit and i'm not able to change resolution or color depth.
Laptop/Notebook is an ASUS K50IJ
Author

RE: my screen is set at 4-Bit

j4m32
Member

Your avatar

Posts: 81
Location:
Joined: 01.05.10
Rank:
Newbie
Posted on 20-02-11 20:01
There are a few threads on this around the ASUS forums for other Laptops of a similar generation to yours with the exact same issue.

ASUS's official line - or should I say, lame excuse is - that they don't support Windows XP for these products.

ASUS Forum

Either way, I found a small blog post about someone who had downgraded from Vista to Windows XP on the same laptop but reported no problems...

SEOROOT Blog

Don't know if the links provided there are different drivers, so sorry if you already know about all this.

Also, just to be clear, I assume this is probably Windows XP 32bit that you're running rather than the 64bit version.
No point using drivers designed for 32bit on 64bit systems because if they so much as used 16bit instructions, which were allowed in 32bit p-mode (protected mode), they will not work in 64bit p-mode.

Jim,

Edited by j4m32 on 20-02-11 20:02