Follow us on Twitter!
Hacking isn't just Computers & Exploits. It's a Philosophy. - Mr_Cheese
Thursday, April 17, 2014
Navigation
Home
HellBoundHackers Main:
HellBoundHackers Find:
HellBoundHackers Information:
Learn
Communicate
Submit
Shop
Challenges
HellBoundHackers Exploit:
HellBoundHackers Programming:
HellBoundHackers Think:
HellBoundHackers Track:
HellBoundHackers Patch:
HellBoundHackers Other:
HellBoundHackers Need Help?
Other
Members Online
Total Online: 19
Guests Online: 18
Members Online: 1

Registered Members: 82813
Newest Member: VesuviusSentinel
Latest Articles
View Thread

HellBound Hackers | Computer General | OS specific

Author

help with GRUB

fuser
Member



Posts: 960
Location: in front of a computer (duh)
Joined: 05.04.07
Rank:
Mad User
Posted on 23-08-07 10:29
I dual-boot between Windows Vista Basic and Ubuntu 7.04. the problem happened when i tried to resize my vista partition to make way for another OS, which i took only an additional 2gigs to an unused partition.

Yesterday, i tried to boot my laptop up, but GRUB displayed an Error 22. Using the Ubuntu live CD, i managed to get GRUB working(where it displayed the list of available OSs, in this case Ubuntu and Vista.) I managed to boot to Vista on the screen, but Ubuntu displaed an error 22Pfftartiton not found.

So, I decided to edit GRUB where it showed the assumed partition, which is (hd0,2), so i edited it to (hd0,1) where i knew where my ubuntu partition is, and it booted Ubuntu properly.

But the main problem is that each time I wanted to use Ubuntu while booting, I have to go to the edit screen and change (hd0,2) back to (hd0,1) and boot from there. It is quite inconvinient, and is there a way for me to make my changes permanent?


img.userbarz.com/51/10006.png
img.userbarz.com/146/29144.gif
img.userbarz.com/99/19602.jpg
img.userbarz.com/4/600.png
img.userbarz.com/45/8814.gif
img360.imageshack.us/img360/9231/bfbarlr0.jpg
[url=http://userbarz.com/][img]ht
catinthecpu@hotmail.com
Author

RE: help with GRUB

mido
Member

Your avatar

Posts: 613
Location: Cairo, Egypt
Joined: 27.01.07
Rank:
Monster
Posted on 23-08-07 11:28
Can't you just boot from Linux's CD and Repair Boot?
mido_eg3[at]hotmail.com
Author

RE: help with GRUB

richohealey
Member



Posts: 1022
Location: #!/usr/local/bin/python
Joined: 01.05.06
Rank:
Monster
Posted on 23-08-07 13:26
what did you use to resize the partition... give us info so we can help you....

(on a side note... fuck ubuntu off for a joke)


bitchohealey at hotmail dot com skype:richohealey www.psych0tik.net
Author

RE: RE: help with GRUB

fuser
Member



Posts: 960
Location: in front of a computer (duh)
Joined: 05.04.07
Rank:
Mad User
Posted on 23-08-07 20:35
i somehow managed to solve the problem myself.

i simply changed to root, cd /boot/grub, chmod 777 menu.lst, opened gedit and changed the ubuntu boot settings from (hd0,2) to (hd0,1), saved it, rebooted and every thing's back to normal.

thanks for checking it out anyway.

(btw:- richo, i'm not that leet compared to you, so that's why i used ubuntu)





img.userbarz.com/51/10006.png
img.userbarz.com/146/29144.gif
img.userbarz.com/99/19602.jpg
img.userbarz.com/4/600.png
img.userbarz.com/45/8814.gif
img360.imageshack.us/img360/9231/bfbarlr0.jpg
[url=http://userbarz.com/][img]ht

Edited by fuser on 23-08-07 20:41
catinthecpu@hotmail.com
Author

RE: help with GRUB


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 24-08-07 03:11
richohealey wrote:
what did you use to resize the partition... give us info so we can help you....

(on a side note... fuck ubuntu off for a joke)


There's absolutely nothing wrong with ubuntu. Purists kill open source. I mean, really. No one is going to invest in an OS unless it has a decent front end and a user can use it without having to open a shell and screw around. And yes, installing a free operating system is an investment for everyone who has a real job -- or any company that actually turns a profit.

Look, it's nice to be able to boot up and connect to a wireless network without having to write and run a shell script.

It's one thing to not be able to operate without a GUI. It's a completely separate thing to believe that having a good GUI with tools that "just work" somehow makes an OS less 'leet' -- whatever that's supposed to mean. furthermore, Ubuntu is a better distro than many others even from the command line.

In conclusion, some of use have lives and need to make a few dozen K a year just to keep food on our plates and a roof over our heads. And although we make a living knowing what goes on behind that GUI, we wouldn't be able to cash in on our knowledge if we did our word processing in vi, wrote our code in hex and laughed at the prospect of a good distro with good support, a good gui and great easy-to-use administration tools.


Author

RE: help with GRUB


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 24-08-07 03:47
well said death. there's plenty of places (ie., downloading packages) where you can use a terminal OR gui...usually I use the terminal just for kicks but the gui is there for people who need it.