Follow us on Twitter!
Society leans ever heavily on computers, if you have the power to take out computers you can take out society. - cubeman372
Friday, April 18, 2014
Navigation
Home
HellBoundHackers Main:
HellBoundHackers Find:
HellBoundHackers Information:
Learn
Communicate
Submit
Shop
Challenges
HellBoundHackers Exploit:
HellBoundHackers Programming:
HellBoundHackers Think:
HellBoundHackers Track:
HellBoundHackers Patch:
HellBoundHackers Other:
HellBoundHackers Need Help?
Other
Members Online
Total Online: 25
Guests Online: 25
Members Online: 0

Registered Members: 82828
Newest Member: uberscon
Latest Articles
View Thread

HellBound Hackers | Computer General | General Computer Problems

Author

hacking vista admin account


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 12-12-09 14:23
im attempting to hack a vista basics admin account, i only have access to a limited account. yes i have tried stuff like ophcrack (doest work with system) and offlin NT password & registry editor (fails to load SAM hive). yes i did all the cmd tricks with 'net user administrator password. yes i have tried doing the change normally. safe mode requires you to login as an admin first and i dont have the vista installation disk. someone asked me to hack this computer for them cuz the ppl who had it b4 wont tell her the password. it prompts me for admin password every time i try to do anything that requires administrative running. yes i tried desktop tools like cain and windows password recovery. I tried changing the registry, access denied. I even made some of my own ideas but still to no avail, can anyone help?
Author

RE: hacking vista admin account


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 12-12-09 14:38
Do you care if you just reset the password as opposed to cracking it?
If not http://trinityhom. . .

Though this only work for local logins not domains.


Author

RE: hacking vista admin account

GTADarkDude
Member



Posts: 142
Location: The Netherlands
Joined: 23.02.08
Rank:
Newbie
Posted on 12-12-09 15:07
Can you get in the system's BIOS setup? Make sure USB/CD is above your HDD in your boot order. (This usually is the default case, so if BIOS setup is blocked by a password, you can still try this.) Then use a Linux Live USB/CD.


...
- - -
Author

RE: hacking vista admin account


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 12-12-09 15:08
site of no help. and i dont have a password reset disk and cant make one without admin access.
Author

RE: hacking vista admin account


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 12-12-09 15:14
... you shouldnt need the reset disk -- that site houses a rescue kit that should reset it anyways.

do you need instructions too?
http://www.walker. . .-password/




Edited by on 12-12-09 15:15
Author

RE: hacking vista admin account


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 12-12-09 15:21
most of the password recovery disks arent working. either not working with system at all or failure to load SAM
Author

RE: hacking vista admin account

KvK
Member



Posts: 94
Location: EIP‭‮
Joined: 17.01.09
Rank:
Apprentice
Posted on 12-12-09 17:20
In case you were unaware, when cracking Vista passwords using Ophcrack, you must download Vista specific precomputed hash tables.

http://ophcrack.s. . .tables.php
(Scroll down for Vista tables.)


Author

RE: hacking vista admin account

hellboundhackersok
Member



Posts: 353
Location:
Joined: 20.09.07
Rank:
Moderate
Warn Level: 95
Posted on 12-12-09 17:58
1. Boot into Linux LiveCD
2. Copy over SAM hashes to USB
3. Crack using Ophcrack.

Worked at my school Pfft


i.imgur.com/qBWHo0R.png
Author

RE: hacking vista admin account


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 12-12-09 20:36
In your school do you choose passwords or are you given them? Also is it the standard log in or do they have an extra security feature? And you do have the tables KvK explained?

You can also reset the password, I suggest:
http://pogostick.net/~pnh/ntpasswd/
Author

RE: hacking vista admin account


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 12-12-09 23:49
yes i have the table for ophcrack. and it just wont load on the system. and yes i have ntpasswd too, it has a problem loading the SAM files. but i will try copying the SAM to usb. do you know the location of the SAM files? oh and im not doing this to a school computer, I am hacking it FOR the police, its security is very tight.
Author

RE: hacking vista admin account


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 12-12-09 23:54
i dont think this will be any help, but on XP i used SAMinside and got the hashed password and just cracked it that way, as i said i don't know if it will help at all due to the fact i was cracking a XP password and i don't know if it will work for vista, or a vista limited access account, worth a try though.
Author

RE: hacking vista admin account

hellboundhackersok
Member



Posts: 353
Location:
Joined: 20.09.07
Rank:
Moderate
Warn Level: 95
Posted on 13-12-09 00:12
cruizrisner wrote:
yes i have the table for ophcrack. and it just wont load on the system. and yes i have ntpasswd too, it has a problem loading the SAM files. but i will try copying the SAM to usb. do you know the location of the SAM files? oh and im not doing this to a school computer, I am hacking it FOR the police, its security is very tight.


copy everything from: C:\Windows\System32\config\SAM

to the USB, then in ophcrack select them.

Oh! And you can't copy them if you're IN windows, you have to boot linux from a USB, CD, or DVD.


i.imgur.com/qBWHo0R.png
Author

RE: hacking vista admin account


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 13-12-09 00:19
well yea i know that. nevermind now i got it now. solution: boot into a Ubuntu LiveCD and replace C:\Windows\System32\sethc.exe by C:\Windows\System32\cmd.exe (don't forget to make a backup of sethc.exe to restore it later) After that you can boot back into windows and press shift 5 times at the login screen. You will get a shell with system right. You can try to do you net user tricks there.
Author

RE: hacking vista admin account

korg
Admin from hell



Posts: 2798
Location: ENDING YOUR ONLINE EXPERIENCE!
Joined: 01.01.06
Rank:
God
Posted on 13-12-09 02:24
Booting windows with a live linux cd is the oldest trick to remove passwords or recover data, It was suggested to you a few times in this thread, So it's nothing new. By the way the trinity rescue disk works great on vista, If you know how to use it.


i57.photobucket.com/albums/g215/korg1269/shodan13.jpg

I deal in pain, All life I drain, I dominate, I seal your fate.
O R
Author

RE: hacking vista admin account


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 13-12-09 05:25
well i didnt know the sethc.exe and the five shifts trick
Author

RE: hacking vista admin account


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 13-12-09 06:16
what is isethc.exe?


Author

RE: hacking vista admin account

KvK
Member



Posts: 94
Location: EIP‭‮
Joined: 17.01.09
Rank:
Apprentice
Posted on 13-12-09 06:57
Did you seriously not use Google?
http://www.google. . .=sethc.exe

Next time, please do so before posting such a simplistic question. :happy:


Author

RE: hacking vista admin account


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 22-04-10 05:44
cruizrisner,you mean rename the cmd.exe to sethc.exe and delte the original sethc.exe?as both are in the same directory
Author

RE: hacking vista admin account

stealth-
Member



Posts: 1003
Location: Eh?
Joined: 10.04.09
Rank:
Mad User
Posted on 22-04-10 05:59
silvercats wrote:
cruizrisner,you mean rename the cmd.exe to sethc.exe and delte the original sethc.exe?as both are in the same directory


Okay, this is the second thread in less than a day you have unnecessarily necro'd. This thread is 4 months old, and your bringing it back up to ask a *really* dumb question. Googling this would probably answer the question right away, if it isn't obvious from common sense.

Please think about stuff before you do it.
Seriously, apparently it can really be beneficial.

But, yes, the idea is that you should move sethc.exe to another filename (ex: sethc.exe.old) and copy cmd.exe to a new name of sethc.exe. Then, once booted up, pressing shift 5 times in a row activates the sticky keys configuration window, which is sethc.exe. Since sethc.exe is actually a command binary (cmd.exe), a command shell gets executed, instead of the configuration window. Then you can move sethc.exe.old back to sethc.exe to replace sticky-keys functionality.


The irony of man's condition is that the deepest need is to be free of the anxiety of death and annihilation; but it is life itself which awakens it, and so we must shrink from being fully alive.
http://www.stealt. . .

Edited by stealth- on 22-04-10 06:05
http://www.stealth-x.com
Author

RE: hacking vista admin account


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 22-04-10 15:50
thanks stealth ,Pfft sorry for asking a dumb question Smile