Follow us on Twitter!
It is the path of least resistance that makes rivers and men crooked. - Bj Palmer
Friday, April 25, 2014
Navigation
Home
HellBoundHackers Main:
HellBoundHackers Find:
HellBoundHackers Information:
Learn
Communicate
Submit
Shop
Challenges
HellBoundHackers Exploit:
HellBoundHackers Programming:
HellBoundHackers Think:
HellBoundHackers Track:
HellBoundHackers Patch:
HellBoundHackers Other:
HellBoundHackers Need Help?
Other
Members Online
Total Online: 16
Guests Online: 15
Members Online: 1

Registered Members: 82910
Newest Member: toni7
Latest Articles
View Thread

HellBound Hackers | Computer General | Networking

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Author

Ethernet connection doesn't work on windows :(


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 17-10-07 19:57
My internet keeps disconnecting since i changed isp to BT, alot of the time when am playing online games, which is really pissing me off especially when in a clan match Angry
I also changed my router when i switched to bt, because my other 1 stopped working.
Setup -

Linksys Wireless-G PCI Adapter WMP54G

D-Link DSL-G624T router

BT Option 1

btw i cant try try connecting with a Ethernet cable to see if it still disconnects because my computer is up stairs and wont reach :xx:

Any help appreciated.

..oh yeah and i know its not a problem with the linksys wireless adapter, because my psp internet disconnected also.





Edited by on 24-10-07 17:21
Author

RE: ffs Keeps disconnecting!


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 17-10-07 20:06
my advice would be:

- try moving the computer to a different point in the room.

- make sure there are no microwaves/cordless phones near. they can affect the signal

- see if there are driver updates


recently my connection was randomly dying. the ISP said that as we had recently upgraded (so this would maybe apply to you as you have recently changed) the line takes about 10 days to collaborate. you may see huge changes in speed and it may disconnect.

anyway, it hasnt disconnected in a while so maybe it will sort itself out...

*posted before you edited*




Edited by on 17-10-07 20:07
Author

RE: ffs Keeps disconnecting!

Flaming_figures
Member

Your avatar

Posts: 209
Location: ΦΠΥΔΓΙΦ
Joined: 28.06.06
Rank:
Apprentice
Posted on 17-10-07 20:07
I use bell and have this problem frequently. Try connecting to the net, open MSN or something, and then pick up a phone (cordless if you have one) and walk around the house for a second. I think the phones frequency interferes with my router, and if it is the same for you, at least you know the problem.


Author

RE: ffs Keeps disconnecting!


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 17-10-07 20:07
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sUTT8wdN_VA

if your router is supported then this is worth a shot:
link here
basically it gets rid of the usually rubbish default software and puts some better software on.

Also try making sure no-one is on the internet in your house and running a packet sniffer to see if a neighbor is using it without your permission.

You could change ISP to be internet. Im not trying to advertise but 24 for 24mb/second and its unlimited without a fair usage policy.


Author

RE: ffs Keeps disconnecting!


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 17-10-07 20:33
thanks for the help every1, i forgot to mention i have a dynamic ip address and every time it disconnects and reconnects i have a new ip, also when it does disconnect it stays connected to the access point but not to the internet.


Author

RE: ffs Keeps disconnecting!

Mr_Cheese




Posts: 2468
Location: Brighton, UK
Joined: 30.11.04
Rank:
Uber Elite
Posted on 17-10-07 20:33
had exactly same problem.

its bloody wireless and the to do with the distance from you and the router. on top of any reflective surfaces and concrete it has to travel through.

i solved the problem by buying 20 metres of network cable and connecting my computer to the network that way. not only does my connection never fail, but its more than twice the speed of what i was running with wireless.

so my suggestion, buy metres of network cable and connect it that way.


http://www.hellboundhackers.org/
Author

RE: ffs Keeps disconnecting!


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 17-10-07 20:45
Mr_Cheese wrote:
had exactly same problem.

its bloody wireless and the to do with the distance from you and the router. on top of any reflective surfaces and concrete it has to travel through.

i solved the problem by buying 20 metres of network cable and connecting my computer to the network that way. not only does my connection never fail, but its more than twice the speed of what i was running with wireless.

so my suggestion, buy metres of network cable and connect it that way.


Ok just ordered a 30m network cable, should come in a couple of days and hopefully it will work then :whoa: . will post again once i got it to say if it works or not Smile


Author

RE: ffs Keeps disconnecting!

Mr_Cheese




Posts: 2468
Location: Brighton, UK
Joined: 30.11.04
Rank:
Uber Elite
Posted on 17-10-07 21:53
hopefully that should sort the problem, and will deffinatly give you faster network speeds.

be prepared to spend 1/2 the day trying to clip and fit the dam network cable into the RJ45 clips.... sounds easy until you learn each tiny cable has an order it has to go in. have fun with that Wink


http://www.hellboundhackers.org/
Author

RE: ffs Keeps disconnecting!


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 22-10-07 17:03
Ok I've got the network cable, but it doesn't show up in network connections, it only shows wireless network connection, vmware and blue tooth, no local area connection Sad
any1 know how to get the local area connection back up?




Edited by on 22-10-07 18:09
Author

RE: ffs Keeps disconnecting!


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 22-10-07 21:35
What is your problem exactly. When you plug the LAN In does it just not show up?


Author

RE: ffs Keeps disconnecting!


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 22-10-07 22:08
FireSaleHaxor wrote:
What is your problem exactly. When you plug the LAN In does it just not show up?


The lan connection is not even detected in device manager Sad
am using "Abit Fatal1ty FP-IN9 SLI" motherboard which is on board lan.
i know its not dead as it's lit up at back.



Author

RE: ffs Keeps disconnecting!

Mr_Cheese




Posts: 2468
Location: Brighton, UK
Joined: 30.11.04
Rank:
Uber Elite
Posted on 22-10-07 22:20
you gone through the network setup to setup a new LAN?

is the workgroup the right name?


http://www.hellboundhackers.org/
Author

RE: ffs Keeps disconnecting!


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 23-10-07 08:23
ye, its a problem with windows because when i got wireless i had to set it up with Linux, because the Ethernet connection wasn't even shown as connection, nor is the onboard lan Sad


Author

RE: ffs Keeps disconnecting!


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 23-10-07 08:31
Well,

to be honest,that's what you get from wireless crap!
wireless is crap,not secure,and has loads of dis advantages.
There is 1 advantage,and that is you have no cables.
But,hardwired connections are secure,and wont break down due to intereferrance from other devices.Just don't buy wireless,and if you do,
just accept that it is crappy.Sure if it runs,it might be oke,
but then its just waiting for the next breakdown.r the next person to call your house,and make your cnnection go haywire.
WIRELESS DEVICES YOU CAN GET FOR YOUR HOME SUCK!
HARDWIRED CONNECTIONS RULE!

:happy:




Edited by on 23-10-07 08:32
Author

RE: ffs Keeps disconnecting!


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 23-10-07 11:37
indeed, wireless is crap in many many cases. however, unless you find trailing a 30m cable around the house with you and fitting it in your garden fun, then wireless may be a better choice.

everyone knows it isnt for gaming. that kind of goes without saying but new technologies such as 802.11n are significantly closing the gap on the speed issue. wikipedia says:

Data Rate (Typ) Data Rate (Max) Range (Indoor)
74 Mbit/s 248 Mbit/s (2 streams) ~70 meters

sure, n routers are expensive, but, as my friend found out, it can make a significant difference to online gaming ie, he can actually play rather than sit for 5 mins waiting for the lag to subside.

-----------
back to the topic, have you got an ethernet card you could nick from somewhere and try it to see if it detects anything?


Author

RE: ffs Keeps disconnecting!


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 23-10-07 16:19
nope all I've got is onboard which works on linux but not windows Sad
how do i get it to work on windows, whats the problem?
motherboard is a 'ABIT Fatal1ty FP-IN9 SLI' the specs are here -

http://shopping.msn.com/specs/shp/?itemId=714159465

I've tried look for drivers but can't find any what work Sad




Edited by on 23-10-07 17:41
Author

RE: ffs Keeps disconnecting!


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 24-10-07 13:28
anymore help please? Sad


Author

RE: ffs Keeps disconnecting!


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 24-10-07 16:06
btw this COULD actually be a problem with the line going into your house, or the quality of service you are receiving. I have no idea how to test for QOS, or even what it is about, but I suggest you google it, and if your results are particularly low, contact your ISP.


Author

RE: ffs Keeps disconnecting!


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 24-10-07 16:09
dizzydawg wrote:
btw this COULD actually be a problem with the line going into your house, or the quality of service you are receiving. I have no idea how to test for QOS, or even what it is about, but I suggest you google it, and if your results are particularly low, contact your ISP.


am pretty sure its a problem with windows, just don't know why as i already said it works on linux :xx:


Author

RE: Ethernet connection doesn't work on windows :(


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 24-10-07 18:28
CyberSpider wrote:
nope all I've got is onboard which works on linux but not windows Sad
how do i get it to work on windows, whats the problem?
motherboard is a 'ABIT Fatal1ty FP-IN9 SLI' the specs are here -

http://shopping.msn.com/specs/shp/?itemId=714159465

I've tried look for drivers but can't find any what work Sad


From the link you posted, I can tell that you might need to get the nForce Chipset driver if you haven't already. Check out Nvidia's website to get the recent one; that might help in restoring the NIC. If not...

Try finding out what kind of onboard NIC is on the board (using the manufacturer's website or Google), then just search for the correct driver on Google.

So, your NIC isn't showing up in Device Manager... did you try right-clicking the Computer Name and clicking "Scan for New Hardware"? If that doesn't work, then download the driver for your onboard NIC, click "Add New Hardware" (in System Properties), and choose to manually install a NIC / Ethernet device. When it asks for a driver, use the one you downloaded.

Once you've done all that, let us know how it went.



Page 1 of 2 1 2 >