Follow us on Twitter!
You cannot teach a man anything; you can only help him find it within himself. - Galileo
Thursday, April 24, 2014
Navigation
Home
HellBoundHackers Main:
HellBoundHackers Find:
HellBoundHackers Information:
Learn
Communicate
Submit
Shop
Challenges
HellBoundHackers Exploit:
HellBoundHackers Programming:
HellBoundHackers Think:
HellBoundHackers Track:
HellBoundHackers Patch:
HellBoundHackers Other:
HellBoundHackers Need Help?
Other
Members Online
Total Online: 16
Guests Online: 16
Members Online: 0

Registered Members: 82889
Newest Member: Geriztul
Latest Articles
View Thread

HellBound Hackers | Computer General | General Computer Problems

Author

BSoD when trying to run game


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 12-01-09 14:24
I installed Heroes of Might and Magic IV on a 64-bit Vista Ultimate.
But when I try to run it I get a blue screen saying something about cdd.dll
I've googled a bit and found stuff about running it in compatibility mode and setting the color to 16-bit.

I tried running it in compatibility mode for XP SP2, as administrator, disable visual themes, disable desktop composition, disable display scaling on high DPI settings and setting color to 16 bit instead of 32. But none have worked, all leading to the blue screen.

Isn't there any way to get it to run on 64-bit? Preferably without a virtual machine.


Author

RE: BSoD when trying to run game

korg
Admin from hell



Posts: 2798
Location: ENDING YOUR ONLINE EXPERIENCE!
Joined: 01.01.06
Rank:
God
Posted on 12-01-09 15:36
I've run into this a few times. Download this update it should help,
http://www.micros. . .732DCB2756


i57.photobucket.com/albums/g215/korg1269/shodan13.jpg

I deal in pain, All life I drain, I dominate, I seal your fate.
O R
Author

RE: BSoD when trying to run game


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 12-01-09 18:59
Thanks for the reply.

Downloaded it but when I ran the install file it say that it didn't apply to this system. However, I know that this is a x64-based system (tried with the x86-version as well, just to check). So I expanded the installation file and installed it using the package manager and it's now installed. Restarted my computer just to be sure.

But the game is still causing a blue screen. Sad Any more ideas?


Author

RE: BSoD when trying to run game

AldarHawk
Member



Posts: 1690
Location: Canada
Joined: 26.01.06
Rank:
Hacker Level 1
Posted on 12-01-09 20:41
Not to sound rude or anything...but thought of Downgrading to XP?

I hate Vista with a passion...and not just because it is Windows but because it is buggy as hell and built for the computer illiterate.

Anyways, other than downgrade to XP I cannot say.


Just ask Yahoo!Taboo! http://www.erikwestlake.com
Author

RE: BSoD when trying to run game


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 12-01-09 20:54
The illiterate.
This is the truth, another garbage OS by Windows..
Yet they hide behind their billions. I say, time to make a new linux kernal and reinvent Windows.
And im not talking about Linspire.



Author

RE: BSoD when trying to run game

spyware
Member



Posts: 4192
Location:
Joined: 14.04.07
Rank:
God
Warn Level: 90
Posted on 12-01-09 20:56
Try a no-cd crack.



img507.imageshack.us/img507/3580/spynewsig3il1.png
"The chowner of property." - Zeph
[small]
Widespread intellectual and moral docility may be convenient for leaders in the short term,
but it is suicidal for nations in the long term.
- Carl Sagan
[center]�Since the grid is inescapable, what were the earlier lasers about? Does the corridor have a sense of humor?� - Ebert[/ce
Author

RE: BSoD when trying to run game


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 13-01-09 10:20
I tried installing Heroes III instead and it worked directly. I'll try with another crack for Heroes IV and see how it goes.

Thanks for the replies.