Follow us on Twitter!
You cannot teach a man anything; you can only help him find it within himself. - Galileo
Sunday, April 20, 2014
Navigation
Home
HellBoundHackers Main:
HellBoundHackers Find:
HellBoundHackers Information:
Learn
Communicate
Submit
Shop
Challenges
HellBoundHackers Exploit:
HellBoundHackers Programming:
HellBoundHackers Think:
HellBoundHackers Track:
HellBoundHackers Patch:
HellBoundHackers Other:
HellBoundHackers Need Help?
Other
Members Online
Total Online: 24
Guests Online: 22
Members Online: 2

Registered Members: 82843
Newest Member: hx47
Latest Articles
View Thread

HellBound Hackers | Computer General | General Computer Problems

Author

boot up error


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 08-02-11 16:37
ok heres the story I got an old 2006 Windows XP laptop that I haven't used in like 4 months so when I start it back up you choose like what modes to start up with, here are the modes you

Safe Mode
Safe Mode with Networking
Safe Mode Command Prompt

Start Windows normally

when I choose any of them the start up windows normally but then it goes to this error messsage:


A problem has been detected and Windows is shutting down to prevent damage to your computer

If this is the fist time you've seen this stop error screen,
restart your computer. if this screen appears again, follow
these steps:

Check to be sure you have adequate disk space, if a driver is
identified in the Stop message, disable the driver or check
with the manufacturer for driver updates. Try changing video
adapters.

Check with your hardware vendor for any BIOS updates. disable
BIOS memory options such as caching or shadowing. If you need
to use Safe Mode to remove or disable components, restart your
computer, press F8 to select Advanced Startup Options, and then
select Safe Mode.

Technical information:

*** Stop: 0x0000007E (0xc0000005,0x86F83562,0xF799F7E4,0xF799F4E0)


Beginning dump of physical memory
Physical memory dump complete.
Contact your system administrator or technical support group for further
assistance.

it holds that message for about a second then loops back to the safe mode options again. No matter what mode option I choose I get the same result I played around with setup options but no success... I have dealt with this problem before but does not loop back to safe mode. I'm I dealing with a virus don't know what I'm dealing with it's probably a simple problem I'm missing. I'm stumped with this one:whoa:. any ideas?


Author

RE: boot up error

j4m32
Member

Your avatar

Posts: 81
Location:
Joined: 01.05.10
Rank:
Newbie
Posted on 08-02-11 17:02
Just to give you a hand, the hexadecimal value after "* Stop, " is 0x0000007E, you can look those up.

To find the specific error, in most cases is Google:
"value OS version" -> "0x0000007E Windows XP"

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/330182

From the looks of it, it points to some form of driver/update/hardware fault.

The only solution may be to try and see what drivers it is loading or see if you can narrow it down from this list

http://kadaitcha.cx/xp/stop/STOP_0x0000007E_SYSTEM_THREAD_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED.html

Have fun.

Jim,

Edited by j4m32 on 08-02-11 17:03
Author

RE: boot up error


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 04-03-11 20:22
format and re-install the OS. Saves the troubleshooting ALL possibilities.

If it still doesn't work its a hardware fault

muh easiness Grin


Author

RE: boot up error


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 04-03-11 22:29
chompy wrote:
format and re-install the OS. Saves the troubleshooting ALL possibilities.

If it still doesn't work its a hardware fault

muh easiness Grin


but then you learn nothing. And in my experience with computer repair, formatting is usually much more time consuming than any single problem like a stop error or malware. If it's a train wreck and slow and bloated, that's usually the only time I format.

but what you need to do is pretty much like formatting. Insert install disk, and repair the system files. If you don't have one, just burn an image of XP to a cd. Check the bios boot order, and you're good to go.
http://www.youtub. . .NOQ0sCYY8s

This can be caused by corrupted files - so hibernation, not shutting down properly, bad drivers, bad hard drive, etc. Run error check once you get it working.




Edited by on 04-03-11 22:40
Author

RE: boot up error

RootsBabilonia
Member



Posts: 32
Location: Brasil
Joined: 31.03.10
Rank:
God
Posted on 04-03-11 23:36
chompy wrote:
format and re-install the OS. Saves the troubleshooting ALL possibilities.

If it still doesn't work its a hardware fault

muh easiness Grin


Sorry friend but I believe that this is the first thing that an amateur would.

Try this:

1- Use this program to understand the windows error
"http://majorgeeks.com/Error_Messages_For_Windows_d1405.html"

2 – Do a full memory test using a linux live-cd.

3- Do a test of surface in HD using chkdsk or norton dd etc. ..

4-Try a manual system recovery! This is a little complex but basically
do this:
Using live-cd linux look at the files inside the folder "C:\windows\repair" Now look at the files inside the folder "C:\windows\system32\config" understood what should be done? replace the files in the folder ..\config for files on ..\repair folder! But not replace the SAM file! Grin

5-Finally… If none of this work, use the live-cd linux and install on your machine! :evil:

Format + reinstall is for losers! Wink


GAT/GP/GCS/GSS/GE/GH/J d- s++:++ a C++++ ULS*+++ P+ L++ K---
w---(++++) M- PS+++ PE-(--) Y++ PGP t R !tv b++++ h-- r+++ z+++++



Every person takes the limits of their own field of vision for the limits of the world.
---Arthur Schopenhauer

You can fool all the people some of the time, and some of the people all the time, but you cannot fool all the people all the time.
--Abraham Lincoln



.. ... http://www.freedocumentaries.org/
Author

RE: boot up error

Parker
Member



Posts: 77
Location: England, UK
Joined: 26.11.07
Rank:
Newbie
Posted on 06-03-11 18:23
chompy wrote:
format and re-install the OS. Saves the troubleshooting ALL possibilities.

If it still doesn't work its a hardware fault

muh easiness Grin


Touché!

However, maug has a good point. You learn nothing from simply re-formatting and re-installing.
Have you changed any hardware before you stopped using it at all, or did you recieve any updates from microsoft the last time that you used your laptop?

Finally, from personal experience, whenever i have had a bluescreen it is usually a hardware error even when i haven't touched the hardware. So i'd reccomend checking your RAM, HDD etc and make sure that they're correctly inserted.



[img]http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b153/Golden_Lemur/parkersig.png [/img]


Cheers Lemur


The Ultimate security will not protect you, it is your understanding of reality that will. - ZoDoom

The 1st thing to do, is to have "certainty" that it is not a hardware problem! - RootsBabilonia

Edited by Parker on 06-03-11 18:32
silance@hotmail.co.uk
Author

RE: boot up error


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 06-03-11 19:50
Parker wrote:
chompy wrote:
format and re-install the OS. Saves the troubleshooting ALL possibilities.

If it still doesn't work its a hardware fault

muh easiness Grin


Touché!

However, maug has a good point. You learn nothing from simply re-formatting and re-installing.
Have you changed any hardware before you stopped using it at all, or did you recieve any updates from microsoft the last time that you used your laptop?

Finally, from personal experience, whenever i have had a bluescreen it is usually a hardware error even when i haven't touched the hardware. So i'd reccomend checking your RAM, HDD etc and make sure that they're correctly inserted.


Hardware problems would cause a beep code - not a blue screen. This is a file corruption issue. So a corrupt driver for new hardware maybe, but not hardware in general.


Author

RE: boot up error


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 06-03-11 20:05
sorry for not getting back to you all, thanks for replying. I will try your answers and get back to you with my results. thank you all for helping (kinda a noob when comes to errors like this, google and your answers are all I have)

thanks again for your help!




Author

RE: boot up error

Parker
Member



Posts: 77
Location: England, UK
Joined: 26.11.07
Rank:
Newbie
Posted on 06-03-11 20:57
maug wrote:
Hardware problems would cause a beep code - not a blue screen. This is a file corruption issue. So a corrupt driver for new hardware maybe, but not hardware in general.

Not always, RAM bluescreens can occur when you try and mix your module bus speeds when your motherboard doesn't support it.

It's easily done when someone passes you some RAM and random motherboard, or with those who aren't familiar with hardware.

@nack: No problem! We all have to start somewhere Smile Always happy to give advice



-Parker


[img]http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b153/Golden_Lemur/parkersig.png [/img]


Cheers Lemur


The Ultimate security will not protect you, it is your understanding of reality that will. - ZoDoom

The 1st thing to do, is to have "certainty" that it is not a hardware problem! - RootsBabilonia
silance@hotmail.co.uk
Author

RE: boot up error

RootsBabilonia
Member



Posts: 32
Location: Brasil
Joined: 31.03.10
Rank:
God
Posted on 07-03-11 02:25
maug wrote:
Parker wrote:
chompy wrote:
format and re-install the OS. Saves the troubleshooting ALL possibilities.

If it still doesn't work its a hardware fault

muh easiness Grin


Touché!

However, maug has a good point. You learn nothing from simply re-formatting and re-installing.
Have you changed any hardware before you stopped using it at all, or did you recieve any updates from microsoft the last time that you used your laptop?

Finally, from personal experience, whenever i have had a bluescreen it is usually a hardware error even when i haven't touched the hardware. So i'd reccomend checking your RAM, HDD etc and make sure that they're correctly inserted.


Hardware problems would cause a beep code - not a blue screen. This is a file corruption issue. So a corrupt driver for new hardware maybe, but not hardware in general.


Hardware is not so simple dude... At startup "IF" POST "Power-on self-test" detects some "known" error, MOBO responds with a beep for error that was encountered.
To make sure that the machine does not have any errors related to hardware leave prime running by the "minimum" 8 hours. www.majorgeeks.com/Prime95_d4363.html

(You can believe what I say! I did overclock Pentium-I 166 MHz @ 208mhz) :evil:

If the cause of the problem was something related to driver... He sure could get into safe mode. "The safe mode uses standard drivers, used at first boot of windows"!!!

But I also believe that it can be caused by a corrupted file or corrupt registry...
I don't like these microsoft tools... (I think they do not understand much about windows) HAHAHAHAHAHAHA :happy:
The way that I showed, manual recovery solves problems of corrupted registry... Corrupted system files give more work... Wink

But the 1st thing to do, is to have "certainty" that is not a hardware problem!

RootsBabilonia...


GAT/GP/GCS/GSS/GE/GH/J d- s++:++ a C++++ ULS*+++ P+ L++ K---
w---(++++) M- PS+++ PE-(--) Y++ PGP t R !tv b++++ h-- r+++ z+++++



Every person takes the limits of their own field of vision for the limits of the world.
---Arthur Schopenhauer

You can fool all the people some of the time, and some of the people all the time, but you cannot fool all the people all the time.
--Abraham Lincoln



.. ... http://www.freedocumentaries.org/
Author

RE: boot up error

Parker
Member



Posts: 77
Location: England, UK
Joined: 26.11.07
Rank:
Newbie
Posted on 07-03-11 02:33
RootsBabilonia wrote:
the 1st thing to do, is to have "certainty" that *it* is not a hardware problem!
RootsBabilonia...


I like that enough to quote it in my sig Grin


- Parker


[img]http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b153/Golden_Lemur/parkersig.png [/img]


Cheers Lemur


The Ultimate security will not protect you, it is your understanding of reality that will. - ZoDoom

The 1st thing to do, is to have "certainty" that it is not a hardware problem! - RootsBabilonia

Edited by Parker on 07-03-11 02:36
silance@hotmail.co.uk
Author

RE: Thank you very much...

RootsBabilonia
Member



Posts: 32
Location: Brasil
Joined: 31.03.10
Rank:
God
Posted on 07-03-11 03:14
Thank you very much for the honor of being cited! :happy:

As you like it, I'm sure you feel at home in a hardware lab! :ninja:

Sorry for bad english...
Thanks for fix *it* Wink


GAT/GP/GCS/GSS/GE/GH/J d- s++:++ a C++++ ULS*+++ P+ L++ K---
w---(++++) M- PS+++ PE-(--) Y++ PGP t R !tv b++++ h-- r+++ z+++++



Every person takes the limits of their own field of vision for the limits of the world.
---Arthur Schopenhauer

You can fool all the people some of the time, and some of the people all the time, but you cannot fool all the people all the time.
--Abraham Lincoln





Edited by RootsBabilonia on 07-03-11 03:16
.. ... http://www.freedocumentaries.org/
Author

RE: boot up error

Parker
Member



Posts: 77
Location: England, UK
Joined: 26.11.07
Rank:
Newbie
Posted on 07-03-11 03:25
RootsBabilonia wrote:
Thank you very much for the honor of being cited! :happy:

As you like it, I'm sure you feel at home in a hardware lab! :ninja:

Sorry for bad english...
Thanks for fix *it* Wink



It's fine Grin

and i guess you could call my house a lab, it's full of RAM, HDD's and motherboards etc


Anyhow, back on topic!


- Parker


[img]http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b153/Golden_Lemur/parkersig.png [/img]


Cheers Lemur


The Ultimate security will not protect you, it is your understanding of reality that will. - ZoDoom

The 1st thing to do, is to have "certainty" that it is not a hardware problem! - RootsBabilonia
silance@hotmail.co.uk
Author

RE: boot up error


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 07-03-11 03:54
Yeah, that makes sense with POST. I was talking in rules of thumb. I know it can get more obscure, and it's awesome you guys know about that stuff too. But I'm never going to check RAM first unless I hear a post code, because it's a pain in the ass and it takes time. Just pop in the install disk and gettr dun. Almost everyone I've seen with computer repair who had a blue screen had bad system files. yeah it could be the motherboard, or ram, or the hard drive... but if it is you'll be able to find out later.

Usually the first thing I do when I'm the one working on the computer is put in a live cd and see if it still doesn't work. Generally, most people don't know how to make a live cd/usb, and they have the install cd lying around anyways. So that's why I recommended the other stuff I did. I guess HBH folk could be expected to know how to make one.




Edited by on 07-03-11 22:48