Follow us on Twitter!
Don't judge the unknown - Grindordie
Wednesday, April 16, 2014
Navigation
Home
HellBoundHackers Main:
HellBoundHackers Find:
HellBoundHackers Information:
Learn
Communicate
Submit
Shop
Challenges
HellBoundHackers Exploit:
HellBoundHackers Programming:
HellBoundHackers Think:
HellBoundHackers Track:
HellBoundHackers Patch:
HellBoundHackers Other:
HellBoundHackers Need Help?
Other
Members Online
Total Online: 89
Guests Online: 88
Members Online: 1

Registered Members: 82803
Newest Member: Tired_of_being_ignorant
Latest Articles
View Thread

HellBound Hackers | Computer General | Hacking in general

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Author

Blowing a computers power supply remotely.


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 08-08-08 03:34
I think it is possible, to change a computers power regulation through remote access , am i right or is this not possible?
Author

RE: Blowing a computers power supply remotely.


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 08-08-08 03:39
Ok, wasnt expecting such a bad response, one i have tried google, and didnt come up with much except a newspaper article and two remote as in from another comp not in the same building or server , just connected via the web.
Author

RE: Blowing a computers power supply remotely.


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 08-08-08 03:46
Yer, soz about the name ,lolz ,picked it a while ago , was in a stage ,lolz , ok, so you can confirm for me that it is possible for someone to blow(in a sense) a persons computer remotely through an internet connection, using maybe a trojan to gain control? And also what setting would you change to do it?
Author

RE: Blowing a computers power supply remotely.


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 08-08-08 03:50
I think you need to take a course in electronics/circuits....

Though strictly theoretically speaking I guess you could make a virus that basically reboots the computer over and over, and if completely ignored for a very long time, you might break the physical hardware faster then it normally would.

Short answer though is, no.


Author

RE: Blowing a computers power supply remotely.


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 08-08-08 03:51
Wow, are all the forum members twats like you??(moshbat)

Edited by on 08-08-08 03:51
Author

RE: Blowing a computers power supply remotely.


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 08-08-08 03:53
stdio

But , the way you overclock a computer, can you not do this via remote access but overclock higher .
Author

RE: Blowing a computers power supply remotely.


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 08-08-08 04:08
Lol, you wish it was that easy.
Author

RE: Blowing a computers power supply remotely.


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 08-08-08 04:09
moshbat wrote:
EMOKID:
PM me if you want your email account back.


Hahahahaha


Author

RE: Blowing a computers power supply remotely.

The-Scarecrow
Member



Posts: 167
Location: Australia
Joined: 18.05.07
Rank:
Newbie
Posted on 08-08-08 04:10
Whoa harsh lol.


img518.imageshack.us/img518/1368/userbar619616sw2.gif
Ask me for it ill give it.
Author

RE: Blowing a computers power supply remotely.

The-Scarecrow
Member



Posts: 167
Location: Australia
Joined: 18.05.07
Rank:
Newbie
Posted on 08-08-08 04:14
and im pretty sure thats illegal :S you better hope your in a diff country if he wants to press charges... thats if u actually did breach his privacy. but what would i know im only doing justice studies Pfft


img518.imageshack.us/img518/1368/userbar619616sw2.gif
Ask me for it ill give it.
Author

RE: Blowing a computers power supply remotely.


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 08-08-08 04:16
um wow, thats just nice.

but i did remember my old ECT instructer mentioned a virus that blew your harddrive, as in melted(a little dramatic). Now it might have to do with the power source or it might have to do with a setting in the hard drive itself, but yeah, google knows a lot more.

So maybe you should ask google, maybe if you do it nicely and say please you wont get an error message either. good luck with your email account


Author

RE: Blowing a computers power supply remotely.


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 08-08-08 04:20
Thanks, for all the nice advice, when i tried google all i found was an old newspaper article, all i really need to know is it possible through the comp alone with tampering with the hardware, i am not wanting to do this to anyone ,just to prove a point to someone that it is possible.
Author

RE: Blowing a computers power supply remotely.


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 08-08-08 04:21
over clocking is controlled by the bios -- while I know of 1 virus that destroyed the bios (Chernobyl Virus) but its still technically software not hardware related (despite the fact that at that point its easier to replace the hardware). Also over clocking your processor/video card will not destroy the power supply. Also, there generally are many safe guards against this, automatic temperature shutdown, fuses etc. So again it would take some time with a computer running and no one paying any attention to the random malfunctions happening at the time

Its not entirely out of the realm of possibilities but as far as I know there has never been a virus do date that does what your asking.


Author

RE: Blowing a computers power supply remotely.

The-Scarecrow
Member



Posts: 167
Location: Australia
Joined: 18.05.07
Rank:
Newbie
Posted on 08-08-08 04:21
true true, i think my course would be the best course for a hacker, as in not getting caught. cause a part of my course is Evidence and there are sooo many things you can get off with, were the police evidence is circumstantial and or illegally obtained.


img518.imageshack.us/img518/1368/userbar619616sw2.gif
Ask me for it ill give it.
Author

RE: Blowing a computers power supply remotely.


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 08-08-08 10:38
Thanks for speaking for me while I was away moshbat Grin
First thing I thought when I saw the name was hang him, burn him, pour tons of salt on him.


Author

RE: Blowing a computers power supply remotely.


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 08-08-08 10:52
you could kill the cpu with software overclocking in theory with clockgen


Author

RE: Blowing a computers power supply remotely.


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 08-08-08 11:33
moshbat wrote:
What I did was good Pfft

Yes and I'm very proud of you, if I'd live near you I'd bring you a box of cookies Pfft


Author

RE: Blowing a computers power supply remotely.


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 08-08-08 13:39
First of all! Who are you (moshbat) to give mean comments. Why is verybody so hatefull against Emo's? Fact is: I'm half emo half goth. Anyone noticed that? NO! If it wouldn't be for his name no one would complain!


Back to the thread: If you mean like overclocking his omputer on-the-fly and burn his CPU then your victim needs to have that support on his motherboards, New Asus motherboards i know has that support atleast. The asus overclocking tool caa be accessed and used through command line aswell as the GUI so by making your own trojan you could do this, although; new Motherboards has a failsafe on there if OC goes wrong.

(Sorry for spelling misstakes, just woke up)




Edited by on 08-08-08 13:40
Author

RE: Blowing a computers power supply remotely.


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 08-08-08 14:15
Everyone loves labels Grin
Buy classic root_op, emo root_op, goth, root_op, or picnic root_op, only $9.99 Grin
If you buy at least three you'll get root_op's dreamhouse for only $25.


Author

RE: Blowing a computers power supply remotely.


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 08-08-08 16:21
moshbat wrote:
US/UK

Also, something so trivial.. Community service at the most.

With hackers luck they would want to make an example of you, and say that no matter how little it wont be taken lightly. And last time I checked the UK hasn't found its balls for standing up to the US and just saying no to extradition of one of there own...
Not very smart to try and show off, why didn't you send him a pm?

@EMO I don't know about the power supply but I have heard that if you set a monitors refresh rate far too high it will ruin the monitor within a couple hours.
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >