Follow us on Twitter!
Imagination is more valuable than knowledge - Albert Einstein
Thursday, April 24, 2014
Navigation
Home
HellBoundHackers Main:
HellBoundHackers Find:
HellBoundHackers Information:
Learn
Communicate
Submit
Shop
Challenges
HellBoundHackers Exploit:
HellBoundHackers Programming:
HellBoundHackers Think:
HellBoundHackers Track:
HellBoundHackers Patch:
HellBoundHackers Other:
HellBoundHackers Need Help?
Other
Members Online
Total Online: 22
Guests Online: 21
Members Online: 1

Registered Members: 82889
Newest Member: Geriztul
Latest Articles
View Thread

HellBound Hackers | Computer General | General Computer Problems

Author

AMD or Intel


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 08-08-09 22:02
My PC is dying, after many upgrades and a few years of service, its dying, and I am looking up new parts, what would you suggest? which one is better on high end games, and which lasts longer?


Author

RE: AMD or Intel

p4plus2
Member

Your avatar

Posts: 167
Location:
Joined: 31.03.08
Rank:
Newbie
Posted on 08-08-09 22:14
Can't look through the threads that already exist on this subject? For example http://www.hellboundhackers.org/forum/viewthread.php?forum_id=30&thread_id=14625

My opinion though: Go AMD, for the price your getting a better deal. Also if schedule holds true AMD promises a 16 core by 2011 (http://www.computerworld.com/s/article/9131991/AMD_plans_16_core_server_chip_but_not_until_2011?source=toc). While it would be for servers, it just means AMD has plans and is going places(or going to flop really bad Pfft).


"You can't be something your not,
Be yourself by yourself
Stay away from me" ~Walk, Pantera

"Playing an acoustic guitar is like having sex with your clothes on" ~Dave Mustaine
p4plus2@hotmail.com
Author

RE: AMD or Intel


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 08-08-09 22:55
Personally I agree with p4. Based on personal experience & opinion, Intel's get the job done, but Im not their biggest fan. But for AMD, since I started using them, I have been amazed. I just built another computer, and I put AMD Phenom II Quads, I honestly couldn't be happier at all, the speed at which the operates is "phenominal". And as p4 said, and he has shown me their plan, they do have intentions on improving both corporate, and personal computing. So my vote is AMD, but you should do some research first, not only before making your decision, but also, posting a thread.


Author

RE: AMD or Intel

Demons Halo
Member



Posts: 261
Location: Sweden
Joined: 26.03.09
Rank:
Apprentice
Posted on 08-08-09 23:55
for some reason I've come to the conclusion that intel overclocks a little better than what AMD does (my E2160 goes 80% OC EASY!!). But if you want to run a decent system with the best money/performance ration, I'd suggest AMD.

Both intel & AMD are great, yet still AMD keeps surprising me with good products for little money!


base_dropper@hotmail.com www.demonshalo.com
Author

RE: AMD or Intel

p4plus2
Member

Your avatar

Posts: 167
Location:
Joined: 31.03.08
Rank:
Newbie
Posted on 09-08-09 00:07
Demons Halo wrote:
for some reason I've come to the conclusion that intel overclocks a little better than what AMD does (my E2160 goes 80% OC EASY!!). But if you want to run a decent system with the best money/performance ration, I'd suggest AMD.

Both intel & AMD are great, yet still AMD keeps surprising me with good products for little money!


True in most cases Intel does OC better. However the Phenom II X4 955(3.2GHz) can OC to 3.8GHz in safely in a home environment with only fan cooling required(up to 7GHz if you use liquid helium cooling Pfft).


"You can't be something your not,
Be yourself by yourself
Stay away from me" ~Walk, Pantera

"Playing an acoustic guitar is like having sex with your clothes on" ~Dave Mustaine
p4plus2@hotmail.com
Author

RE: AMD or Intel

Demons Halo
Member



Posts: 261
Location: Sweden
Joined: 26.03.09
Rank:
Apprentice
Posted on 09-08-09 00:42
p4plus2 wrote:
True in most cases Intel does OC better. However the Phenom II X4 955(3.2GHz) can OC to 3.8GHz in safely in a home environment with only fan cooling required(up to 7GHz if you use liquid helium cooling Pfft).


I am the n00b here and I call that a shitty OC :S come on 3.8 sucks :S:S
I took my E2160 (1.8 @ stock) to 3.6 the day I got it with Blue Orb II cooling, and I'm still @ 37 degree.
my E6650 (2,33 @ stock) to 3.2 with stock cooler.

AMD does not clock as good as intel, but the new phenom II X4 clocks a lot better than what you're saying. I bet you anything that you can get the X4 955 to 4GH with stock cooler. With a new air cooler like thermaltake or zalman you can get even better results so... =D=D

Although the new I7 OC like a bitch!!!


base_dropper@hotmail.com www.demonshalo.com
Author

RE: AMD or Intel

p4plus2
Member

Your avatar

Posts: 167
Location:
Joined: 31.03.08
Rank:
Newbie
Posted on 09-08-09 01:13
Demons Halo wrote:
p4plus2 wrote:
True in most cases Intel does OC better. However the Phenom II X4 955(3.2GHz) can OC to 3.8GHz in safely in a home environment with only fan cooling required(up to 7GHz if you use liquid helium cooling Pfft).


I am the n00b here and I call that a shitty OC :S come on 3.8 sucks :S:S
I took my E2160 (1.8 @ stock) to 3.6 the day I got it with Blue Orb II cooling, and I'm still @ 37 degree.
my E6650 (2,33 @ stock) to 3.2 with stock cooler.

AMD does not clock as good as intel, but the new phenom II X4 clocks a lot better than what you're saying. I bet you anything that you can get the X4 955 to 4GH with stock cooler. With a new air cooler like thermaltake or zalman you can get even better results so... =D=D

Although the new I7 OC like a bitch!!!



I never said 3.8 was amazing, I was only pointing out that it is not bad considering there is no extra cooling going into it(and it was default voltage), I never said is was amazing.


"You can't be something your not,
Be yourself by yourself
Stay away from me" ~Walk, Pantera

"Playing an acoustic guitar is like having sex with your clothes on" ~Dave Mustaine
p4plus2@hotmail.com
Author

RE: AMD or Intel


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 09-08-09 02:38
I'm no expert at all and haven't looked into this subject in quite some time. But I had an AMD athlon earlier and now I've changed to an Intel Core 2 Duo. I'm very satisfied with both. If I would buy a new one today, it would probably be an AMD, based on how I'm feeling now.


Author

RE: AMD or Intel

korg
Admin from hell



Posts: 2798
Location: ENDING YOUR ONLINE EXPERIENCE!
Joined: 01.01.06
Rank:
God
Posted on 09-08-09 16:17
@Op, Read the forum link p4 listed and read my post on what to look for in a cpu. Clock speed isn't the only thing to look at. The best cpu IMO is the x4-955 very responsive and runs nice and cool. The only reason to spend the extra glue on the i-7 is if your running intel based programs (cad,cnc,etc). The x4-955 was clocked over 7g but this is in extreme conditions and only for seconds, It will run nice and comfy at 3.8, Staying cool on air and real stable. Defo my choice with the Asus M4A79T.


i57.photobucket.com/albums/g215/korg1269/shodan13.jpg

I deal in pain, All life I drain, I dominate, I seal your fate.
O R
Author

RE: AMD or Intel


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 09-10-09 03:20
From what I've seen, AMD puts out the exact same thing as Intel, but a year or so later. If you don't have a tight budget, I say get the Intel i7. that's the newest, and it's been changed substantially since the Core2.

If you want an Intel processor that isn't a ton of money, go with the Core2 Quad. That's what I have. It's at 2.66GHZ and wasn't that much money either.


Author

RE: AMD or Intel

korg
Admin from hell



Posts: 2798
Location: ENDING YOUR ONLINE EXPERIENCE!
Joined: 01.01.06
Rank:
God
Posted on 09-10-09 06:21
With the new release of the Phenom X4 965, 3.4 GHz, 4000 M/T's and 6mb's on the L3 cache, At a price of around $250, Really put's a slap down on any of the intel i7's. That's the fastest clock core to date now. Go AMD!


i57.photobucket.com/albums/g215/korg1269/shodan13.jpg

I deal in pain, All life I drain, I dominate, I seal your fate.
O R
Author

RE: AMD or Intel

korg
Admin from hell



Posts: 2798
Location: ENDING YOUR ONLINE EXPERIENCE!
Joined: 01.01.06
Rank:
God
Posted on 09-10-09 06:39
Never buy oem. Black box! (Retail). The rumor is intel has plans release the 6 core i9 in spring of 2010, Although I don't see it happening with the bug reports I've seen.


i57.photobucket.com/albums/g215/korg1269/shodan13.jpg

I deal in pain, All life I drain, I dominate, I seal your fate.

Edited by korg on 09-10-09 06:41
O R
Author

RE: AMD or Intel

korg
Admin from hell



Posts: 2798
Location: ENDING YOUR ONLINE EXPERIENCE!
Joined: 01.01.06
Rank:
God
Posted on 09-10-09 06:56
Oem products are just that. Products that only need to meet certain criteria to be sold to oem companies. (IE: Dell, HP) Where your retail box has passed all the tests fully and meet the highest level of quality. That's why when you buy oem all you get is the cpu itself, No fan or heatsink. (Not to say I use the ones they send anyway).


i57.photobucket.com/albums/g215/korg1269/shodan13.jpg

I deal in pain, All life I drain, I dominate, I seal your fate.
O R
Author

RE: AMD or Intel

korg
Admin from hell



Posts: 2798
Location: ENDING YOUR ONLINE EXPERIENCE!
Joined: 01.01.06
Rank:
God
Posted on 09-10-09 07:11
I stick with retail for the fact that I know it's 100% and won't have come backs from people. Grin


i57.photobucket.com/albums/g215/korg1269/shodan13.jpg

I deal in pain, All life I drain, I dominate, I seal your fate.
O R
Author

RE: AMD or Intel

korg
Admin from hell



Posts: 2798
Location: ENDING YOUR ONLINE EXPERIENCE!
Joined: 01.01.06
Rank:
God
Posted on 09-10-09 07:27
I only use AMD Unless a request comes in for one (Yes there are die hard Intel fans too). Oh, I really didn't need to hear about your boner, Thanks for that.


i57.photobucket.com/albums/g215/korg1269/shodan13.jpg

I deal in pain, All life I drain, I dominate, I seal your fate.
O R
Author

RE: AMD or Intel

tbaybucs
Member



Posts: 64
Location: usa
Joined: 20.09.09
Rank:
Newbie
Posted on 09-10-09 11:41
well i use a mac so ............................just kiddin i love amd and will NEVER use a intel cpu never i tell ya never:evil:


tbaybucs@hotmail.com tbaybucs
Author

RE: AMD or Intel


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 09-10-09 14:20
Well, I for one love AMD to be fair. I've always been a Intel person before, been using it since Pentium II. Although since I changed to Phantom II X4 my perception has all changed.

Allthough Intel is more of the Corporate CPU, AMD can perform just as good.

A big difference is though that Intel has the socket overboard pins maintained on all of their CPU's from Pentium 4 and forward. This is the pins that are needed to create a dual socket motherboard.

If you want this for AMD you have to go with Opteron.


Author

RE: AMD or Intel


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 13-10-09 06:41
On one of my older computers, I had an Intel Pentium 4 630, which was the "extreme edition" and had hyper-threading, which I was using it on a 32-bit system. I currently use an Intel Core2 Quad Q9300 running at 2.5GHz on my 64-bit system.

I love them both; neither have given me problems.
Author

RE: AMD or Intel

korg
Admin from hell



Posts: 2798
Location: ENDING YOUR ONLINE EXPERIENCE!
Joined: 01.01.06
Rank:
God
Posted on 13-10-09 19:32
Never heard the term "socket overboard pins". Anyway if you want kick ass server boards you need to check out: http://www.tyan.com/. Dual support on the phenom was dropped for now.


i57.photobucket.com/albums/g215/korg1269/shodan13.jpg

I deal in pain, All life I drain, I dominate, I seal your fate.
O R