Follow us on Twitter!
Hacking isn't just Computers & Exploits. It's a Philosophy. - Mr_Cheese
Thursday, April 24, 2014
Navigation
Home
HellBoundHackers Main:
HellBoundHackers Find:
HellBoundHackers Information:
Learn
Communicate
Submit
Shop
Challenges
HellBoundHackers Exploit:
HellBoundHackers Programming:
HellBoundHackers Think:
HellBoundHackers Track:
HellBoundHackers Patch:
HellBoundHackers Other:
HellBoundHackers Need Help?
Other
Members Online
Total Online: 20
Guests Online: 15
Members Online: 5

Registered Members: 82894
Newest Member: Ricardox
Latest Articles
View Thread

HellBound Hackers | Computer General | General Computer Problems

Author

Windows; Run programs, without them being in PATH.


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 28-07-10 20:25
Right, this is rather a question than an issue.

I'm just curious; How come I can start for example firefox and notepad++ without supplying their absolute path from Start->Run, without their paths being in my PATH variable? My OS (for now) is Windows Seven Professional x64


Author

RE: Windows; Run programs, without them being in PATH.


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 28-07-10 20:33
It's probably because they are in the index.
Author

RE: Windows; Run programs, without them being in PATH.

stealth-
Member



Posts: 1003
Location: Eh?
Joined: 10.04.09
Rank:
Mad User
Posted on 28-07-10 21:05
Er, not that I know anything about windows, but isn't an index of all 'installed' programs kept in the registry?


The irony of man's condition is that the deepest need is to be free of the anxiety of death and annihilation; but it is life itself which awakens it, and so we must shrink from being fully alive.
http://www.stealt. . .
http://www.stealth-x.com
Author

RE: Windows; Run programs, without them being in PATH.

ellipsis
Member



Posts: 173
Location:
Joined: 13.06.09
Rank:
Uber Elite
Posted on 29-07-10 00:32
If you place the application in the WINDIR\SystemRoot you can Run it without supplying the absolute path.

Point being you could always check there.


10000101

Edited by ellipsis on 29-07-10 00:38
Author

RE: Windows; Run programs, without them being in PATH.


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 29-07-10 22:21
Ellipsis, that's mainly because %SystemRoot%\System32 and further directories of great importance for the operating system is allready predefined inside your system wide PATH variable.

I don't think it's the index, you see. Of all the progams I have installed, the only programs I can start bu this method is exactly Firefox and Notepad++, not Eclipse, not Spotify, not Visual Studio, nothing else.


[edit]

Although, there is the possibility that Notepad++ and Firefox are the only applications on my computer that actually utilizes the Windows Indexing Service, highly unlikely though since not even Windows Live Mail works this method.




Edited by on 29-07-10 22:22
Author

RE: Windows; Run programs, without them being in PATH.

ynori7
Member



Posts: 1486
Location: #valhalla
Joined: 08.10.07
Rank:
God
Posted on 30-07-10 02:29
root_op wrote:
Although, there is the possibility that Notepad++ and Firefox are the only applications on my computer that actually utilizes the Windows Indexing Service, highly unlikely though since not even Windows Live Mail works this method.

Or maybe you just don't know the real name of the application. For example, if you want to open paint from the run dialogue you type "mspaint", not "paint". And I think only some programs are indexed.


halls-of-valhalla.org/images/affiliateLogo.png voodoorage.halls-of-valhalla.org/images/smallLogo.png
i537.photobucket.com/albums/ff338/ynori77/archenemysig1.jpg
ynori7 http://halls-of-valhalla.org
Author

RE: Windows; Run programs, without them being in PATH.

korg
Admin from hell



Posts: 2798
Location: ENDING YOUR ONLINE EXPERIENCE!
Joined: 01.01.06
Rank:
God
Posted on 30-07-10 08:41
Any program installed in windows is held in the registry under:
"HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\App Paths"
Ynori hit it right on the head, If you don't know the actually programs run ID it won't open. Example: Wordpad is held under write.exe. So you need to type "write" to open it. You can check the installed paths through the registry point I posted and if a program is not listed there you can add a subkey and it's string variable with the paths to where it's located.
(check your registry for examples). Not sure why you would go through the trouble of typing in the run box when you can just assign a Hotkey and open it faster. Start > Programs > Rt click on the exe > properties > shortcut > shortcutkey: then just press any letter or number to apply (It auto adds Ctrl,Alt).



i57.photobucket.com/albums/g215/korg1269/shodan13.jpg

I deal in pain, All life I drain, I dominate, I seal your fate.
O R
Author

RE: Windows; Run programs, without them being in PATH.


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 03-08-10 01:26
Right on the spot korg! The entries in HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\App Paths can be loaded through run without them being in the actual PATH!

That's truly something worth remembering, thank you HBH for clearing this out!