Follow us on Twitter!
You cannot teach a man anything; you can only help him find it within himself. - Galileo
Thursday, April 24, 2014
Navigation
Home
HellBoundHackers Main:
HellBoundHackers Find:
HellBoundHackers Information:
Learn
Communicate
Submit
Shop
Challenges
HellBoundHackers Exploit:
HellBoundHackers Programming:
HellBoundHackers Think:
HellBoundHackers Track:
HellBoundHackers Patch:
HellBoundHackers Other:
HellBoundHackers Need Help?
Other
Members Online
Total Online: 18
Guests Online: 14
Members Online: 4

Registered Members: 82895
Newest Member: kevy90
Latest Articles
View Thread

HellBound Hackers | Computer General | Networking

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Author

SSH Over Secure tied down network?


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 20-01-08 02:36
Hey Guys.

What i am trying to do is find a way to connect to a computer on this network that seems to block everything! for example i am trying ssh and all it does is timeout. It seems to be impossible to do anything other than PING on this network. Does anyone have any ideas how/if i could find a route through the network to my PC?

Maybe i could set my SSH pc to run on port 80? How is this done if it is possible?

This might not make sense if it doesnt please tell me what more info you need. Thank you all.

Relentless.


Author

RE: SSH Over Secure tied down network?


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 20-01-08 02:42
you can usually tunnel around firewalls by running the SSH daemon on port 443 it works 9 times out of 10.

The traffic on port 443 is usually SSL encrypted so its not usually monitored or encrypted data is not shaped.

Usually i get an SSH tunnel out to my remote box and then tunnel everything down the SSH, i even do this on normal networks that are not locked down as i'm paranoid that someone could be sniffing the connection <puts tin foil hat on>

Edited by on 20-01-08 02:46
Author

RE: SSH Over Secure tied down network?


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 20-01-08 02:45
Awsome. How can i configure it to run on port 443 then?

Thanks again.

Relentless.


Author

RE: SSH Over Secure tied down network?


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 20-01-08 02:46
first off are you running linux or windows?
Author

RE: SSH Over Secure tied down network?


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 20-01-08 02:47
Windows :S


Author

RE: SSH Over Secure tied down network?


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 20-01-08 02:54
first off id say run linux but thats just me lol

if your wanting to use the remote box for getting around firewalls you can do more with a linux box easier including DNS tunneling for getting free wifi from hotspots!

anyway on to the SSH

go to c:/program files/openssh/etc/ and open the sshd_config file.

it will be in a linux format so you might want to use crimson editor to make it look pretty.

look for the line "Port 22" and change that to "Port 443"

save and close the file

go to start>run and type services.msc

look for the openssh service and restart it

that should work, im gonna boot up my old laptop and test it out

EDIT you need to uncomment the port line so remove the #

Edited by on 20-01-08 02:58
Author

RE: SSH Over Secure tied down network?


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 20-01-08 03:01
I have done that and connected with Putty like localhost port 443 to test to see if it works and it does! thank you.

But when i try to connect to it on another computer on the network the connection just times out as usuall. I am going to try port 80 and see what happens this that.

Thanks again...

Relentless.


Author

RE: SSH Over Secure tied down network?


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 20-01-08 03:05
ok. That does not work either. I have just realized i cannot even ping that computer even though they are connected to the same server and on the same network and of course on the internet also.

Odd! Any ideas?

Relentless.


Author

RE: SSH Over Secure tied down network?


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 20-01-08 03:06
try running it on a high port too 65534 sometimes that works.

if you can browse to HTTPS websites then port 443 is allowed the fact that you can't SSH out sounds to be like theyre doing some sort of packet shaping. as a last ditch attempt you could try to tunnel over HTTP/HTTPS i've never done it myself but i know it can be done but your prob gonna need a linux box.

If you dont mind me asking what is the environment your in?

im gonna guess university halls Wink
Author

RE: SSH Over Secure tied down network?


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 20-01-08 03:21
Good guess! The network is insane. I never realized i cant even ping! That kind of means i can't do anything Sad

The way i remote login is using logmein.com so would there be a way i could get hold of one of those free shells and then tunnel through the free shells to my shell in my Room?

THanks alot man!

Relentless.


Author

RE: SSH Over Secure tied down network?


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 20-01-08 03:27
are you accessing from the same subnet/network or from another network?

I cant say i've used that service i would still aim for the ssh as you can do a lot more with it. maybe take a look at this site http://dag.wieers.com/howto/ssh-http-tunneling/
Author

RE: SSH Over Secure tied down network?


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 20-01-08 03:31
Thanks alot. Yes i am on the same subnet and everything that is need by the looks of things so strange i really dont know what i could do.

I will have a look at that link but im pretty sure i wont be able to do anything if i cant even ping the machine.

Thanks again.

Relentless.


Author

RE: SSH Over Secure tied down network?


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 20-01-08 03:37
if your only needing local access get a cheap wireless router or stick a wired network card in each computer and run a patch cable between the 2 machines.

As a final test you could install WAMP on the computer and it will run a web server and you should 100% be able to access that.

It sounds like the sys admin at your uni have it pretty much dialled down its not a good sign when even ICMP is blocked.

Might sound stupid but is all the firewalls and windows firewalls turned off?

If your on the same network then there shouldn't be any filtering if they have you running though a bog standard switch. Its usually incoming and outgoing traffic you filter not internal or maybe they want to stop students sharing media or something.
Author

RE: SSH Over Secure tied down network?


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 20-01-08 03:43
Well i have wamp didnt know i could remote connect to that Grin will try that also.

about local access what i want to be able to do is be able to get access to a shell on the box anywhere on the Uni network so i can run a cable but not when im at the main campus Grin

Going to double check the firewalls and other stuff etc. Will be very imbarissing if it was because of then because i have not actuall checked xD me@idiot.com. Lets see...

Thanks

Relentless


Author

RE: SSH Over Secure tied down network?


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 20-01-08 03:46
just try browsing to the web server on wamp so http://www.<ip>:80 you should be able to see the website thats configured in the WAMP dir.

double check the IP addresses too Wink

im gonna get to bed before my missus hits me! let me know how it goes!
Author

RE: SSH Over Secure tied down network?


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 20-01-08 03:46
This describes how i feel now! omg. Turned off the firewall. You have no idea how stupid i am lol why i didnt check i do not know.

But anyway i have learnt alot! so im glad Grin

Thanks alot! Now i have the shell working any good tutorials anywhere so i can see what i can do with it?

Thanks alot man!

Relentless


Author

RE: SSH Over Secure tied down network?


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 20-01-08 04:02
lmao! no network admin block that much! lol

the thing is you able to connect to that IP from within that subnet but when you go to your main uni your not going to be able to get a connection to the computer. To do that you'll need to get someone i.e. sys admin to forward a port from the gateway device to your computer.

in the mean time play around with SSH tunnels (tho you dont really need them locally)

basically tunnels work, well like tunnels imagine the entrance is your computer and the remote server is the exit, anything within that tunnel is encrypted.

say in the server your running a proxy so TCP port 3128 and your sitting in an internet cafe that filters out hell bound hackers.

what you can do is configure the tunnel so that local traffic on port 3128 goes to the remote computer 3128 and connects to the proxy. Set firefox to use a proxy localhost:3128 and what happens is your request for HBH goes down the SSH tunnel to the server from the server to the internet, back to the server, down the tunnel and back to you.

heres a pretty picture someone made:

http://www.sans.edu/resources/images/firewall3.gif

but unless you can get that port forwarded your pretty much sunk.

make sure that SSH install is secure too incase someone trys to PWN you locally!

nino

Author

RE: SSH Over Secure tied down network?


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 20-01-08 04:49
Thanks alot man. I will see tomoz if i can get a connection from the main campus xD

THanks again!

Relentless.


Author

RE: SSH Over Secure tied down network?


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 20-01-08 14:35
Ok im remote to my box now on subnet 10.1.0.0 and my box is on 10.157.11.0

I can ping fine but nothing else. Is the only way to ssh to my box getting a port fowarded? Any ideas?

Thanks.

Relentless.




Edited by on 20-01-08 15:32
Author

RE: SSH Over Secure tied down network?


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 20-01-08 16:39
not that i can think of off hand.

is the SSH server still running on 443?

a good test of routing is to run WAMP on the server and just try and view the website on the server, if you can do that then the routing is fine and you wont need to forward and some sort of filtering is at play. If you cant view the site then the routing is maybe off.

try connecting using telnet. ie

telnet <ipaddresS> 443

should bring back your banner on the SSH server saying the vendor and version

telnet <ipaddress> 80
GET / HTTP/1.0
<enter button>
<enter button>

should get the index of the web server

try the webserver first tho
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >