Follow us on Twitter!
Never in the field of human conflict was so much owed by so many to so few. - Winston Churchill
Friday, April 18, 2014
Navigation
Home
HellBoundHackers Main:
HellBoundHackers Find:
HellBoundHackers Information:
Learn
Communicate
Submit
Shop
Challenges
HellBoundHackers Exploit:
HellBoundHackers Programming:
HellBoundHackers Think:
HellBoundHackers Track:
HellBoundHackers Patch:
HellBoundHackers Other:
HellBoundHackers Need Help?
Other
Members Online
Total Online: 23
Guests Online: 19
Members Online: 4

Registered Members: 82824
Newest Member: devilslegion
Latest Articles
View Thread

HellBound Hackers | Challenges | Rooting

Author

Rooting 3


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 29-10-07 01:18
I've dreaded posting this but i've finally come to my wick's end on this. I'm sure once i get started i'll be able to do this challenge, but at the moment i am stuck at the most noobiest of places.

I am having trouble in being able to change to any directory and i know it's down to my own fault.

Now before you start to laugh or flame me i have already:

A)Searched for CMD commands on google.

B)Opened my own CMD.exe on my OS and practised changing directories on it (had no problem).

C)I am using the CD command to change directory, both CD and cd.

D)I've also checked directory names capitalised and non-capitalised and entered them more than once checking there spelling

E)I've also read a few articles and threads but unfortunately i seem to be the only one stuck at such a noobish place :(

I dunno what i'm doing wrong probably some glaring mistake though :(, if anyone could help me i'd be highly greatful, i enjoy the rooting challenges quite alot and this is pretty much the only one i've had major trouble with :(

Cheers in advanced

[EDIT]Damn Smileys haha![/EDIT]




Edited by on 29-10-07 01:19
Author

RE: Rooting 3


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 29-10-07 01:44
hey man, if you have AIM or MSN, IM me, otherwise, PM me


Author

RE: Rooting 3


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 29-10-07 01:56
actually, I dont remember how I did this... "cd" works fine by itself, but if you put it with anything like the name of a DIR, it gives you that incorrect parameters message...

so maybe it's broken, or maybe we're both retarded..


Author

RE: Rooting 3


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 29-10-07 02:11
Skunkfoot wrote:
actually, I dont remember how I did this... "cd" works fine by itself, but if you put it with anything like the name of a DIR, it gives you that incorrect parameters message...

so maybe it's broken, or maybe we're both retarded..


I wouldn't say the "retarded" part, but you might want to try a case-insensitive approach. Smile


Author

RE: Rooting 3


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 29-10-07 02:15
lmao, now I really do feel retarded...

you'd think that, since when you list the dir's and they come up as all caps, that you'd have to enter them as all caps.. shitty emulator..

I bet all commands are lowercase too.. Smile


Author

RE: Rooting 3


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 29-10-07 02:20
Skunkfoot wrote:
lmao, now I really do feel retarded...

you'd think that, since when you list the dir's and they come up as all caps, that you'd have to enter them as all caps.. shitty emulator..

I bet all commands are lowercase too.. Smile


Yeah, I had the same thought when I did the challenge... the case should've matched the targets. Of course, there is at least one Real that has that same problem, so I guess it helps to keep it "realistic". Smile



Author

RE: Rooting 3


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 29-10-07 02:22
Everything is lowercase sensitive. All commands are in lowercase. Not even when you type C:\.

Furthermore, you must change directory step by step, not all at once like you can do in command prompt.

For example, you are at C:\, and you want to get to
C:\Example\Test\Hi There\

You must type:

cd example
cd test
cd hi there


To get back to C:\,

cd test
cd example
cd c:\


I hope that helps Wink


Author

RE: Rooting 3


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 29-10-07 02:32
Slyce wrote:
Everything is lowercase sensitive. All commands are in lowercase. Not even when you type C:\.

Furthermore, you must change directory step by step, not all at once like you can do in command prompt.


Well, there go all the Rooting 3 threads. Pfft



Author

RE: Rooting 3


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 29-10-07 02:48
Slyce wrote:
Everything is lowercase sensitive. All commands are in lowercase. Not even when you type C:\.

Furthermore, you must change directory step by step, not all at once like you can do in command prompt.

For example, you are at C:\, and you want to get to
C:\Example\Test\Hi There\

You must type:

cd example
cd test
cd hi there


To get back to C:\,

cd test
cd example
cd c:\


I hope that helps Wink


Or just cd .. to get back...


Author

RE: Rooting 3


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 29-10-07 03:46
Skunkfoot wrote:

Or just cd .. to get back...


Oh yeah, I didn't think the emulator supported that, because it doesn't support more than one step at a time, but you're right. B)


Author

RE: Rooting 3


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 29-10-07 03:47
Skunkfoot wrote:

Or just cd .. to get back...


Oh yeah, I didn't think the emulator supported that, because it doesn't support more than one step at a time, but you're right. B)


Author

RE: Rooting 3


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 29-10-07 04:13
yeah, when people make these emulators, they really should include an if statement for every possibility...or at least more than just the basic stuff..half-ass coders piss me off :angry:


Author

RE: Rooting 3

flame_1221
Member



Posts: 179
Location: malaysia
Joined: 13.05.07
Rank:
God
Posted on 29-10-07 04:20
Agree on that. Most of the challenge are just like thatPfft
But, there are too many possibilities that make it hard to code such emulatorSmile
127.0.0.1
Author

RE: Rooting 3


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 29-10-07 20:35
Zephyr_Pure wrote:
I wouldn't say the "retarded" part, but you might want to try a case-insensitive approach. Smile


Cheers Zephyr, when i said i tried everything i obviously hadn't tried it that way >.<