Follow us on Twitter!
Imagination is more valuable than knowledge - Albert Einstein
Sunday, April 20, 2014
Navigation
Home
HellBoundHackers Main:
HellBoundHackers Find:
HellBoundHackers Information:
Learn
Communicate
Submit
Shop
Challenges
HellBoundHackers Exploit:
HellBoundHackers Programming:
HellBoundHackers Think:
HellBoundHackers Track:
HellBoundHackers Patch:
HellBoundHackers Other:
HellBoundHackers Need Help?
Other
Members Online
Total Online: 21
Guests Online: 20
Members Online: 1

Registered Members: 82843
Newest Member: hx47
Latest Articles
View Thread

HellBound Hackers | Events | Root This Box

Author

Putty Error

haZZknightZ
Member



Posts: 16
Location: Philippines
Joined: 13.11.06
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 04-01-07 06:34
I'm new on rooting, why is it I always get "PuTTY fATAL Error
Network Error: Connection timed out" everytime when i'm connecting on smashthestack's tux.smashthestack.org, I have already provided the necessary connection details provided by the site? is there a wrong cofigurations on PuTTY that i have to change? Frown


img340.imageshack.us/img340/3340/hkali1mq2.jpg


Author

RE: Putty Error


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 04-01-07 07:56
do you use proxy's with putty?is the port number correct
and the protocol too?

if these are oke,you should be able to connect to remote servers.
if these servers accept connections.

darksun.


Author

RE: Putty Error


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 04-01-07 11:50
if it's timing out it might be an SSH problem on your host , or they might not have SSH open , SSH is the unsafest thing ever without SSH your PC is almost safe cause no'one can connect to you so i dont doubt if your host has it off , if not its a connection problem
Author

RE: Putty Error

haZZknightZ
Member



Posts: 16
Location: Philippines
Joined: 13.11.06
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 04-01-07 13:07
thank you guys, i tried using other PC w/ your solutions on my problem, and yes it's workin' now, but when i try it on my PC again there's this fatal error comin' out again, so i guess this concludes that my ssh port is disabled or somewhat close just like _xTc_ mentioned. again THANK YOU FOR ALL your answers THANK YOU for helping a NOOB. Good thing there's a site like this. I'm learning. Then again thanks alot.Smile


img340.imageshack.us/img340/3340/hkali1mq2.jpg


Author

RE: Putty Error


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 04-01-07 13:21
you might be missing a few system files as well , do a system restore/reapair with the windows cd
Author

RE: Putty Error


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 04-01-07 14:52
haZZknightZ wrote:
I'm new on rooting, why is it I always get "PuTTY fATAL Error
Network Error: Connection timed out" everytime when i'm connecting on smashthestack's tux.smashthestack.org, I have already provided the necessary connection details provided by the site? is there a wrong cofigurations on PuTTY that i have to change? Frown


Maybe your firewall blocks putty? A lot of AV do it by defualt.


Author

RE: Putty Error

haZZknightZ
Member



Posts: 16
Location: Philippines
Joined: 13.11.06
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 04-01-07 23:25
@Wolfmankurd:
Does disabling my AV will do?

@killerguppy:
thank you for the maybe i'll try this one instead of smashthestack

@_xTc_:
i will also try to repair my OS for some loss file.

TO ALL:
Thank you for responding. I'm LearningGrin


img340.imageshack.us/img340/3340/hkali1mq2.jpg