Follow us on Twitter!
Society leans ever heavily on computers, if you have the power to take out computers you can take out society. - cubeman372
Thursday, April 17, 2014
Navigation
Home
HellBoundHackers Main:
HellBoundHackers Find:
HellBoundHackers Information:
Learn
Communicate
Submit
Shop
Challenges
HellBoundHackers Exploit:
HellBoundHackers Programming:
HellBoundHackers Think:
HellBoundHackers Track:
HellBoundHackers Patch:
HellBoundHackers Other:
HellBoundHackers Need Help?
Other
Members Online
Total Online: 15
Guests Online: 15
Members Online: 0

Registered Members: 82813
Newest Member: VesuviusSentinel
Latest Articles
View Thread

HellBound Hackers | Computer General | General Computer Problems

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Author

Newly Built Computer, Disk Boot error

TROY
Member



Posts: 83
Location: Sheffield, UK
Joined: 17.06.08
Rank:
Moderate
Posted on 10-05-10 19:11
Hello, i have recently built a new computer, and i am having a bit of a problem, Ive wired everything up and everything seems to power on fine, however i am soon presented with this Message:
"Boot From CD/DVD:
DISK BOOT FAILURE, INSERT SYSTEM DISK AND PRESS ENTER."
I have tried changing around the boot order, and booted it from a disk of Windows 7, However i am still presented with this message.

Every part of my built computer is brand new, except the Disk Drive, which is over 10 years old, and IDE, Is it simply that i need a new Drive?
On the BIOS the HDD is detected, but i think the problem may be the Drives, any input would be appreciated.
Im really sorry if i sound like a newb here, i have done a lot of research into this but cant quite figure it out.
Thanks.


Author

RE: Newly Built Computer, Disk Boot error

TROY
Member



Posts: 83
Location: Sheffield, UK
Joined: 17.06.08
Rank:
Moderate
Posted on 10-05-10 19:32
Well because its relatively old, i have a seperate DVD and CD drive for it, Ive tried it in both of these drives, with no luck, And yes it detects it.


Author

RE: Newly Built Computer, Disk Boot error

TROY
Member



Posts: 83
Location: Sheffield, UK
Joined: 17.06.08
Rank:
Moderate
Posted on 10-05-10 19:55
Well i have changed it around several times to boot from both the HDD and CD/DVD Drive, yet no luck on any boot order, Ahh yes sorry i didnt want to bore people with loads of info, Ill probably repost tomorrow If my new drive doesnt work as well.
Thanks.


Author

RE: Newly Built Computer, Disk Boot error

korg
Admin from hell



Posts: 2798
Location: ENDING YOUR ONLINE EXPERIENCE!
Joined: 01.01.06
Rank:
God
Posted on 10-05-10 21:43
First thing I suggest is to check your jumper settings on all your drives.
You stated you have a cd and dvd drive, Make sure one is set to master and the other to slave and on the HDD if it's set to master change it to cable select if it's an old drive. If not post back with hardware specs.


i57.photobucket.com/albums/g215/korg1269/shodan13.jpg

I deal in pain, All life I drain, I dominate, I seal your fate.
O R
Author

RE: Newly Built Computer, Disk Boot error

stealth-
Member



Posts: 1003
Location: Eh?
Joined: 10.04.09
Rank:
Mad User
Posted on 10-05-10 22:08
Do you have any other bootable disks to try? Such as a XP CD around or a linux liveCD? That would rule at least one thing out.


The irony of man's condition is that the deepest need is to be free of the anxiety of death and annihilation; but it is life itself which awakens it, and so we must shrink from being fully alive.
http://www.stealt. . .
http://www.stealth-x.com
Author

RE: Newly Built Computer, Disk Boot error


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 11-05-10 01:28
make sure you're booting form the IDE device. It's possible such a new mobo might have this disabled by default. Post the mobo's name. Also have a look around in BIOS. Have you installed windows to the drive? If so at least the bios doesn't have the IDE interface disabled. Still it may have a diferent option for IDE and SATA in the boot order.


Author

RE: Newly Built Computer, Disk Boot error


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 11-05-10 09:20
Maybe it is the disk itself causing the problem, double check the BIOS settings and that the disk drive is plugged in properly. Also check that the disk drive is compatible with your system.
Author

RE: Newly Built Computer, Disk Boot error

TROY
Member



Posts: 83
Location: Sheffield, UK
Joined: 17.06.08
Rank:
Moderate
Posted on 11-05-10 12:30
Ive checked all the BIOS settings and they seem to be fine, all my components are brand new except the CD and DVD drive which are both around 10 years old... which i fear is the problem, I'll list the specs at the end of this reply, The master and slave seem to be set correct and the mobo is detecting all of these drives, I've changed the boot orders around but still had no luck, I havnt tried any other boot disks with this system but i will do later, ill try it with Linux and post back, however i have tried this disc with another computer, and then booted from disc and it loads fine.... Is it likely that the CD/DVD drive's is old and i need a new one?

SPECS :
MOBO - GIGABYTE G31M-ES2L
CPU - Intel core 2 Quad q8300
Graphics - Intel GMA 3100 ( Yes awful i know but this is just until i upgrade which will be very soon )
RAM - Kingston hyper X 1GB
PSU - Antet Earthwatts 650W
Cooling - Intel CPU fan and two case fans
HDD - Western Digital 500GB 16MB Cache
Optical Drives - mitsumi cr-488xate (CD Drive) and an ide dvd-rom 16x driver (DVD Drive)

Note: I have literally very recently built this computer, So i have the basic parts now, but plan on many upgrades in the future (New SATA Disk drive should be arriving today)





Edited by TROY on 11-05-10 13:01
Author

RE: WORKING!

TROY
Member



Posts: 83
Location: Sheffield, UK
Joined: 17.06.08
Rank:
Moderate
Posted on 11-05-10 13:31
Just thought i'd let you all know that it was in fact my old optical drives causing the problems, Thanks very much for your support.... might post some pics of it when ive got everything sorted.



Author

RE: Newly Built Computer, Disk Boot error

yours31f
Member



Posts: 1678
Location: Dallas Texas
Joined: 27.04.07
Rank:
Elite
Posted on 11-05-10 23:48
MoshBat wrote:
TROY wrote:
Thanks very much for your support.... might post some pics of it when ive got everything sorted.

... Okay...
I hope there are flashy LEDs.


Or a fishtank in it...

www.instructables.com/image/FZR7E00G619L50O/Turn-your-Dead-PC-into-an-Aquarium.jpg


Debugging is what programmers do to beta software to make it take up more room on your hard drive if it is running too efficiently.


img259.imageshack.us/img259/3713/sigr.png

yours31f@live.com yours31f@yahoo.com rpwd.info
Author

RE: Newly Built Computer, Disk Boot error

stealth-
Member



Posts: 1003
Location: Eh?
Joined: 10.04.09
Rank:
Mad User
Posted on 12-05-10 04:53
MoshBat wrote:
That's fucking disgusting.


The fact that someone actually bought a purple and green computer, or that there is a fish tank inside?


The irony of man's condition is that the deepest need is to be free of the anxiety of death and annihilation; but it is life itself which awakens it, and so we must shrink from being fully alive.
http://www.stealt. . .
http://www.stealth-x.com
Author

RE: Newly Built Computer, Disk Boot error

korg
Admin from hell



Posts: 2798
Location: ENDING YOUR ONLINE EXPERIENCE!
Joined: 01.01.06
Rank:
God
Posted on 12-05-10 09:41
stealth- wrote:
MoshBat wrote:
That's fucking disgusting.


The fact that someone actually bought a purple and green computer, or that there is a fish tank inside?


Yes, to both.


i57.photobucket.com/albums/g215/korg1269/shodan13.jpg

I deal in pain, All life I drain, I dominate, I seal your fate.

Edited by korg on 12-05-10 09:45
O R
Author

RE: Newly Built Computer, Disk Boot error


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 13-05-10 18:46
the error said it booted from the cd/dvd drive and failed. If it doesn't look fixable, then I would set the cd/dvd drive to boot after the hard drive in the bios for now. It could just be a bad cable. make sure there isn't a cd in there.


Author

RE: Newly Built Computer, Disk Boot error

ynori7
Member



Posts: 1486
Location: #valhalla
Joined: 08.10.07
Rank:
God
Posted on 13-05-10 23:25
yours31f wrote:
Or a fishtank in it...

I wonder how you feed them and filter the water...


halls-of-valhalla.org/images/affiliateLogo.png voodoorage.halls-of-valhalla.org/images/smallLogo.png
i537.photobucket.com/albums/ff338/ynori77/archenemysig1.jpg
ynori7 http://halls-of-valhalla.org
Author

RE: Newly Built Computer, Disk Boot error

ynori7
Member



Posts: 1486
Location: #valhalla
Joined: 08.10.07
Rank:
God
Posted on 14-05-10 01:03
MoshBat wrote:
ynori7 wrote:
yours31f wrote:
Or a fishtank in it...

I wonder how you feed them and filter the water...

Well, you have a filter stuck in there, and an air pump. There will be a gap in which you shove food. Never had a fishtank before?

Not sealed inside a computer case.


halls-of-valhalla.org/images/affiliateLogo.png voodoorage.halls-of-valhalla.org/images/smallLogo.png
i537.photobucket.com/albums/ff338/ynori77/archenemysig1.jpg
ynori7 http://halls-of-valhalla.org
Author

RE: Newly Built Computer, Disk Boot error

goluhaque
Member



Posts: 197
Location: India
Joined: 17.02.10
Rank:
Apprentice
Warn Level: 30
Posted on 14-05-10 07:49
and how do we take it out to clean it?


That applause I receive from y'all on posting this post would have gotten me drunk on power if I hadn't already been high on life.
Author

RE: Newly Built Computer, Disk Boot error


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 14-05-10 22:37
MoshBat wrote:
maug wrote:
the error said it booted from the cd/dvd drive and failed. If it doesn't look fixable, then I would set the cd/dvd drive to boot after the hard drive in the bios for now. It could just be a bad cable. make sure there isn't a cd in there.

You haven't read this thread, have you?


Oh, I'm sorry. I didn't know the thread was about a fuckin fish tank. Oh lord, we're in dark times. We need those computer techs to see that we got happy fish too.

I think the only part I missed was that he's trying to install the OS still. It's easy to imagine a cable going bad after 10 years (assuming he's using the same cables that came with the drive). Whether it's the cable or the drive, it should be an easy, cheap fix.

If you want to make sure it's a hardware problem, and not the cd, then put in a linux live cd. I always like to have an ubuntu or mandriva live cd around just for that reason.


Author

RE: Newly Built Computer, Disk Boot error


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 14-05-10 22:50
MoshBat wrote:
maug wrote:
MoshBat wrote:
maug wrote:
the error said it booted from the cd/dvd drive and failed. If it doesn't look fixable, then I would set the cd/dvd drive to boot after the hard drive in the bios for now. It could just be a bad cable. make sure there isn't a cd in there.

You haven't read this thread, have you?


Oh, I'm sorry. I didn't know the thread was about a fuckin fish tank. Oh lord, we're in dark times. We need those computer techs to see that we got happy fish too.
I think the only part I missed was that he's trying to install the OS still.

TROY wrote:
Just thought i'd let you all know that it was in fact my old optical drives causing the problems, Thanks very much for your support.... might post some pics of it when ive got everything sorted.

But, by all means, keep suggesting causes and fixes. I'm sure it will help him, very much.


by all means be an over-bearing douche bag.

And it still could be the cable, disk, or drive.


Author

RE: Newly Built Computer, Disk Boot error

stealth-
Member



Posts: 1003
Location: Eh?
Joined: 10.04.09
Rank:
Mad User
Posted on 14-05-10 23:45
maug wrote:
MoshBat wrote:
maug wrote:
MoshBat wrote:
maug wrote:
the error said it booted from the cd/dvd drive and failed. If it doesn't look fixable, then I would set the cd/dvd drive to boot after the hard drive in the bios for now. It could just be a bad cable. make sure there isn't a cd in there.

You haven't read this thread, have you?


Oh, I'm sorry. I didn't know the thread was about a fuckin fish tank. Oh lord, we're in dark times. We need those computer techs to see that we got happy fish too.
I think the only part I missed was that he's trying to install the OS still.

TROY wrote:
Just thought i'd let you all know that it was in fact my old optical drives causing the problems, Thanks very much for your support.... might post some pics of it when ive got everything sorted.

But, by all means, keep suggesting causes and fixes. I'm sure it will help him, very much.


by all means be an over-bearing douche bag.

And it still could be the cable, disk, or drive.


He wasn't being a douchebag. You came in and supplied a useless post, and then while trying to defend yourself you suggested something I had already recommended, and on top of that you still had no clue the problem had already been solved. Try reading the *whole* thread, not just the chunks of it you think apply to what you feel like talking about.


The irony of man's condition is that the deepest need is to be free of the anxiety of death and annihilation; but it is life itself which awakens it, and so we must shrink from being fully alive.
http://www.stealt. . .
http://www.stealth-x.com
Author

RE: Newly Built Computer, Disk Boot error


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 15-05-10 09:14
stealth- wrote:
maug wrote:
MoshBat wrote:
maug wrote:
MoshBat wrote:
maug wrote:
the error said it booted from the cd/dvd drive and failed. If it doesn't look fixable, then I would set the cd/dvd drive to boot after the hard drive in the bios for now. It could just be a bad cable. make sure there isn't a cd in there.

You haven't read this thread, have you?


Oh, I'm sorry. I didn't know the thread was about a fuckin fish tank. Oh lord, we're in dark times. We need those computer techs to see that we got happy fish too.
I think the only part I missed was that he's trying to install the OS still.

TROY wrote:
Just thought i'd let you all know that it was in fact my old optical drives causing the problems, Thanks very much for your support.... might post some pics of it when ive got everything sorted.

But, by all means, keep suggesting causes and fixes. I'm sure it will help him, very much.


by all means be an over-bearing douche bag.

And it still could be the cable, disk, or drive.


He wasn't being a douchebag. You came in and supplied a useless post, and then while trying to defend yourself you suggested something I had already recommended, and on top of that you still had no clue the problem had already been solved. Try reading the *whole* thread, not just the chunks of it you think apply to what you feel like talking about.


Sorry, it's just the thread was a little de-railed. And honestly, when someone tells me "Read the whole thread and then you'll understand", I think of a bad political rant where someone writes 3 pages of blather and says "You didn't read my whole post did you. If you did you'd understand my stance on that issue." If you got something to say, you should be able to say it simply. Not spit out a spaghetti glomp or try to educate people. Beautiful thread HBH.

lock?


Page 1 of 2 1 2 >