Follow us on Twitter!
Become the change you seek in the world. - Gandhi
Thursday, April 24, 2014
Navigation
Home
HellBoundHackers Main:
HellBoundHackers Find:
HellBoundHackers Information:
Learn
Communicate
Submit
Shop
Challenges
HellBoundHackers Exploit:
HellBoundHackers Programming:
HellBoundHackers Think:
HellBoundHackers Track:
HellBoundHackers Patch:
HellBoundHackers Other:
HellBoundHackers Need Help?
Other
Members Online
Total Online: 28
Guests Online: 26
Members Online: 2

Registered Members: 82904
Newest Member: jamessmith123
Latest Articles
View Thread

HellBound Hackers | Computer General | Trouble Shooting

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Author

need help


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 22-04-08 04:19
OK i booted up my laptop and i got an alert saying that my computer was infected with spyware.

so i download a program run it. and it turns out i had 265 viruses and/or infections on my laptop. most of them were Trojans that were for programs that download updates. but there was one the was diagnosed to be "extremely high risk" it was called an "Odyssey Trojan horse"

i went to go to the task manager (by using ctrl + alt + del) and I'm using vista so i get a list of five options and task manager is at the bottom. i wanted to see what processes were running. but this time it wasn't there. so i deleted all the viruses and such. but the task manager is still not there. i can't seem to find a way to get to it.

so here are my questions

1. what is an Odyssey Trojan horse (don't find anything on Google)
2. how can i get the task manager back. (i tried ice sword but having some problems with it)

thank you for any constructive post.

or could you please pm me on the issue


Author

RE: need help

ynori7
Member



Posts: 1486
Location: #valhalla
Joined: 08.10.07
Rank:
God
Posted on 22-04-08 04:30
fallingmidget wrote:
1. what is an Odyssey Trojan horse (don't find anything on Google)

what program did you use to find out what the trojan was called? i know with norton/symantec you can usually click on the virus and it will take you to their website where they have a documentation on the risk.

i found this: http://www.symantec.com/security_response/writeup.jsp?docid=2002-021311-5903-99&tabid=1 but i'm not sure if it's the right thing.


halls-of-valhalla.org/images/affiliateLogo.png voodoorage.halls-of-valhalla.org/images/smallLogo.png
i537.photobucket.com/albums/ff338/ynori77/archenemysig1.jpg
ynori7 http://halls-of-valhalla.org
Author

RE: need help


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 22-04-08 04:35
i used spyware doctor. i don't think that is it since thats a JS. this said in the details it was Java. but thanks for trying to help.




Edited by on 22-04-08 04:36
Author

RE: need help


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 22-04-08 04:51
1: try Odyssey +malware or greyware

2: only download your spyware scanner or w/e from a trusted source.

3: if it is a trogan, you might want to avoid using that computer unless you are trying to get rid of the trogan. You also probably don't want to connect to the internet (use a CD to transport the scanner).

There is a program called killbox that will probably help you a little.
http://www.hoodch. . .ml?ext=all If you don't know what the process does, look for one of these archives. It's not a substitute for a good scanner though


Author

RE: need help


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 22-04-08 06:06
the problem is i can;t get on the task manager to see the process



Author

RE: need help


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 22-04-08 06:24
fallingmidget wrote:
the problem is i can;t get on the task manager to see the process


I don't really understand what you are saying.
If you mean you can't launch task manager via c + a + d, then do it by cmd.

Code
taskmgr







Edited by on 22-04-08 06:25
Author

RE: need help

flame_1221
Member



Posts: 179
Location: malaysia
Joined: 13.05.07
Rank:
God
Posted on 22-04-08 06:44
Have you try Ctrl-Shift-Esc ?



i19.photobucket.com/albums/b153/Golden_Lemur/flame1221sig.png
Thanks for the sig Lemur
127.0.0.1
Author

RE: need help


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 22-04-08 07:10
thanks for the help guys but ctrl + shift + esc doesn't work

and neither does run-->taskmgr


Author

RE: need help


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 22-04-08 07:19
To Enable Taskmanager: http://www.vistax64.com/tutorials/103275-task-manager-enable-disable.html

If regedit is disabled then: http://www.vistax64.com/tutorials/116415-regedit-enable-disable.html

Easiest way to remove the trojan is to manually lookup the exe file that is infected then remove it, if the deletion is prevented then use a software called Unlocker (google) to unlock the exe.

~root_op


Author

RE: need help


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 22-04-08 07:42
ok i got it now. thanks root op.


Author

RE: need help

yours31f
Member



Posts: 1678
Location: Dallas Texas
Joined: 27.04.07
Rank:
Elite
Posted on 22-04-08 12:40
oh, and next time you get something thats says you have spyware, don't download that software that it gives you. google ad-ware.


Debugging is what programmers do to beta software to make it take up more room on your hard drive if it is running too efficiently.


img259.imageshack.us/img259/3713/sigr.png

yours31f@live.com yours31f@yahoo.com rpwd.info
Author

RE: need help

ynori7
Member



Posts: 1486
Location: #valhalla
Joined: 08.10.07
Rank:
God
Posted on 22-04-08 15:41
yours31f wrote:
oh, and next time you get something thats says you have spyware, don't download that software that it gives you. google ad-ware.

i'm pretty sure it didnt tell her it was a virus until after she downloaded it.


halls-of-valhalla.org/images/affiliateLogo.png voodoorage.halls-of-valhalla.org/images/smallLogo.png
i537.photobucket.com/albums/ff338/ynori77/archenemysig1.jpg
ynori7 http://halls-of-valhalla.org
Author

RE: need help


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 22-04-08 18:11
well something poped up in the corner that said "you're computer is infected with spyware click here to remove it" so i clicked to see what it would give me and it was PC-spyware remover. so i googled it and it turns out that it is a spyware app that tricks you into buying it and then causes damage so i downloaded spyware doctor and everything is fine now.


Author

RE: need help

flame_1221
Member



Posts: 179
Location: malaysia
Joined: 13.05.07
Rank:
God
Posted on 23-04-08 14:56
Sounds like a common smitfraud infection to me, and yes, spyware doctor can deal with it since the usual removal tool for this infection (SmitFraudFix) is not updated for vista yet.


i19.photobucket.com/albums/b153/Golden_Lemur/flame1221sig.png
Thanks for the sig Lemur
127.0.0.1
Author

RE: need help


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 23-04-08 15:12
My first thought on this was like "hmmm.. yeah definitly Windows Alerter!" But then again you run Vista so it couldn't possibly be that anyway.

No problemo midget :ninja:


Author

RE: need help


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 23-04-08 17:03
my computer is slow as hell now so i'm avout to get rid of it and buy an alien ware


Author

RE: need help


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 23-04-08 18:13
I think i have heard of that torjan before... but i can't pin point what i've heard about....

if i were you i'd just reinstall vista or install linux after format.... Grin

and I honestly think alien ware is overpriced... i can make similar one much cheaper by buy parts over online.... it's just that tower cases out in market these days isn't as good as alien's tower case....

but if you really wanna see overpriced computer go to www.falcon-nw.com...


Author

RE: need help


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 23-04-08 19:52
i'm getting it for $300 has 3.4Ghz processor and 2G RAM has a bad graphics card but i don't care about that.


Author

RE: need help


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 23-04-08 22:19
Build one yourself, you get x times much better for the same price.


Author

RE: need help


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 23-04-08 23:37
you should deff. get an alien ware there really nice my friend just got one and its huge it has a water cooler inside Shock
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >