Follow us on Twitter!
Few are those who can see with their own eyes and hear with their own hearts. - Albert Einstein
Friday, April 18, 2014
Navigation
Home
HellBoundHackers Main:
HellBoundHackers Find:
HellBoundHackers Information:
Learn
Communicate
Submit
Shop
Challenges
HellBoundHackers Exploit:
HellBoundHackers Programming:
HellBoundHackers Think:
HellBoundHackers Track:
HellBoundHackers Patch:
HellBoundHackers Other:
HellBoundHackers Need Help?
Other
Members Online
Total Online: 11
Guests Online: 10
Members Online: 1

Registered Members: 82822
Newest Member: TheBunter
Latest Articles
View Thread

HellBound Hackers | Computer General | Networking

Author

Modifying Data Packets on a Network?


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 03-09-08 19:36
Ok so i am at a friends college visiting him, it is the Tech college of our state and well to be blunt the network SUCKS, i was doing some tests and it has the potential to Down at 15Megs a sec that's its PEAK... so in seconds i am having a ping of 20 then in seconds a ping of 7000 not even lying.

So i started thinking about switches i scanned the switch and there are only 2 open ports on it 80 and 280. And i started thinking more about the order switch process and to MY understanding (please correct if inaccurate) It looks at the packets coming to it and if the packets data states that there are less supposed to come and are coming then actually are (more are coming then should) it will give that a higher priority before going on with the next. i kinda have proof of that being XBL takes up ALOT of bandwidth and its actually easier to play that instead of WoW (i usually have a 7000 ping here with wow)


So is that because wow doesn't need as much information as XBL does and thats why the xbox is getting a higher priority on the switch?

SO in conclusion, the bigger question, Can i actually give programs a Higher priority via changing the data amount to a lower number or somehow boosting the number of packets sending outta the application?

many thanks
~peace


Author

RE: Modifying Data Packets on a Network?


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 03-09-08 21:21
get a killerNIC card it should go a long way to getting the ping nice and smooth
or take the router


Author

RE: Modifying Data Packets on a Network?


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 03-09-08 23:59
truly brilliant, now does anyone have a educated answer hunch or just a idea?


Author

RE: Modifying Data Packets on a Network?


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 04-09-08 00:42
cis_slayer wrote:
SO in conclusion, the bigger question, Can i actually give programs a Higher priority via changing the data amount to a lower number or somehow boosting the number of packets sending outta the application?


The number of fragmented packets in a transmission is not sent upfront... they are tied together via a sequence id in each packet and the last packet finishes the sequence. As for prioritizing your packets...

Quality of Service:
http://en.wikiped. . .of_service

I don't support anything written by Wikipedia because any jackass could've written it... however, for your purposes, it's a good starting point. Read up, then investigate the QoS capabilities of the router.


Author

RE: Modifying Data Packets on a Network?


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 04-09-08 02:13
Thanks alot man, im giving this a read