Follow us on Twitter!
Things are more like they are now than they have ever been before. - Dwight D. Eisenhower
Wednesday, April 23, 2014
Navigation
Home
HellBoundHackers Main:
HellBoundHackers Find:
HellBoundHackers Information:
Learn
Communicate
Submit
Shop
Challenges
HellBoundHackers Exploit:
HellBoundHackers Programming:
HellBoundHackers Think:
HellBoundHackers Track:
HellBoundHackers Patch:
HellBoundHackers Other:
HellBoundHackers Need Help?
Other
Members Online
Total Online: 28
Guests Online: 22
Members Online: 6

Registered Members: 82878
Newest Member: defcon812
Latest Articles
View Thread

HellBound Hackers | Computer General | General Computer Problems

Author

Master Boot Record


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 22-11-06 04:55
Hey y'all,

Ive been trying to get this problem right for quite some time now and I was wondering if you could help me.

Ok so here it is... I bought a external harddrive with some extre cash so that i can put linux on it. But when i put linux (Ubuntu) it gets past the loading screen then just gives me a error. So i thought nah i dont really want lnux. So i got it on another box. How would I format the harddrive to fat32 and take the GRUB loader off my masterboot record. Becuase when i disconnect the external harddrive and i boot up it just gives me a GRUB error so i google the error and it said somthing about the Master Boot Record not being able to find the the source files. I've searched every where for it and got no helpful answer.

Cheers
Author

RE: Master Boot Record

Uber0n
Member



Posts: 1963
Location: Sweden‭‮
Joined: 13.06.06
Rank:
Hacker Level 3
Posted on 22-11-06 06:37
Maybe this is what you're looking for? http://support.mi. . .m/kb/69013


img230.imageshack.us/img230/724/uber0nsig3hj6.gif
http://uber0n.web. . .
Nope http://uber0n.webs.com/
Author

RE: Master Boot Record


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 22-11-06 08:18
if you have linux on another box then just connect it, boot from the working linux then format aggressively, using fdisk or something..... Won't that work?


Author

RE: Master Boot Record


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 22-11-06 12:42
Right ok, so you've got windows on your internal hard-drive and linux on the external. is grub installed on the MBR of the internal hard-drive? To re-install the windows bootloader you have to boot from the windows install CD and there should be an bit were it says something like "Windows was already found" and there should be an option to recover it. that shoudl install the windows bootloader. Or you can go to the recovery console and enter "fixmbr".


Author

RE: Master Boot Record


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 23-11-06 03:49
Thanks for the help guys...
I appreciate it

Cheers
Author

RE: Master Boot Record

Uber0n
Member



Posts: 1963
Location: Sweden‭‮
Joined: 13.06.06
Rank:
Hacker Level 3
Posted on 23-11-06 06:23
No problem Pfft


img230.imageshack.us/img230/724/uber0nsig3hj6.gif
http://uber0n.web. . .
Nope http://uber0n.webs.com/