Follow us on Twitter!
Hacking isn't just Computers & Exploits. It's a Philosophy. - Mr_Cheese
Thursday, April 17, 2014
Navigation
Home
HellBoundHackers Main:
HellBoundHackers Find:
HellBoundHackers Information:
Learn
Communicate
Submit
Shop
Challenges
HellBoundHackers Exploit:
HellBoundHackers Programming:
HellBoundHackers Think:
HellBoundHackers Track:
HellBoundHackers Patch:
HellBoundHackers Other:
HellBoundHackers Need Help?
Other
Members Online
Total Online: 32
Guests Online: 27
Members Online: 5

Registered Members: 82818
Newest Member: Ahmed
Latest Articles
View Thread

HellBound Hackers | Computer General | Programming

Author

little question about setting up php

thehare
Member



Posts: 73
Location: Canada
Joined: 01.05.08
Rank:
God
Posted on 08-03-09 22:34
Hey all just have a question here, I am going to start learning php and I'm downloading the php program and it asks which web server would i like to use, well me being me i (sadly) have no clue what the would be the best choice to pick, so if someone could give a little help it would be appreciated.

Thanks

thehare


If you need help, dont be afraid to ask, just be sure to give the challenge an honest try before you do.

Author

RE: little question about setting up php

spyware
Member



Posts: 4192
Location: The Netherlands
Joined: 14.04.07
Rank:
God
Warn Level: 90
Posted on 08-03-09 22:35
Stop what you are doing, install WinLAMP instead.

In about half a year you can answer your own questions.



img507.imageshack.us/img507/3580/spynewsig3il1.png
"The chowner of property." - Zeph
[small]
Widespread intellectual and moral docility may be convenient for leaders in the short term,
but it is suicidal for nations in the long term.
- Carl Sagan
“Since the grid is inescapable, what were the earlier lasers about? Does the corridor have a sense of humor?” - Ebert
[/s

Edited by spyware on 08-03-09 22:35
http://bitsofspy.net
Author

RE: little question about setting up php

thehare
Member



Posts: 73
Location: Canada
Joined: 01.05.08
Rank:
God
Posted on 08-03-09 22:42
alright ill try WinLamp



If you need help, dont be afraid to ask, just be sure to give the challenge an honest try before you do.

Author

RE: little question about setting up php

p4plus2
Member

Your avatar

Posts: 167
Location:
Joined: 31.03.08
Rank:
Newbie
Posted on 08-03-09 22:45
For a beginner there are three easy pathsSadCHOOSE ONLY ONE)
http://www.wampserver.com/en/
http://www.apachefriends.org/en/xampp-windows.html
http://winlamp.sourceforge.net/


Picking one of those should give you a great jump start into PHP Smile
p4plus2@hotmail.com
Author

RE: little question about setting up php

thehare
Member



Posts: 73
Location: Canada
Joined: 01.05.08
Rank:
God
Posted on 08-03-09 22:45
Sorry mate but just ONE more question, do i download the mini version or the full size.

Sorry for the inconvenience

EDIT: NVM ill just get full version


If you need help, dont be afraid to ask, just be sure to give the challenge an honest try before you do.



Edited by thehare on 08-03-09 22:47
Author

RE: little question about setting up php

spyware
Member



Posts: 4192
Location: The Netherlands
Joined: 14.04.07
Rank:
God
Warn Level: 90
Posted on 08-03-09 22:51
thehare wrote:
Sorry mate but just ONE more question, do i download the mini version or the full size.

Sorry for the inconvenience

EDIT: NVM ill just get full version



Two flavors: Full-size and Mini

If you simply need to install Apache and PHP, download the Mini version of WinLAMP. It is an 11MB file. It installs Apache 2.0.58 and PHP 5.14, and nothing else.

If, however, you want the classic Apache, MySQL, PHP, Perl, and GUI options as described below, download the full version. It is 60MB, and includes documentation options.


Taken directly from the WinLAMPs sourceforge page. If space isn't a problem, and you aren't afraid of tinkering with things you don't fully understand, go with the full install. Don't bother with the SQL until you've picked up on the basics of PHP though.

Also, browse through the Apache configuration file. Don't edit anything, but just be aware of the possible choices. Do the same with the PHP.



img507.imageshack.us/img507/3580/spynewsig3il1.png
"The chowner of property." - Zeph
[small]
Widespread intellectual and moral docility may be convenient for leaders in the short term,
but it is suicidal for nations in the long term.
- Carl Sagan
“Since the grid is inescapable, what were the earlier lasers about? Does the corridor have a sense of humor?” - Ebert
[/s
http://bitsofspy.net
Author

RE: little question about setting up php

thehare
Member



Posts: 73
Location: Canada
Joined: 01.05.08
Rank:
God
Posted on 08-03-09 22:53
spyware wrote:
thehare wrote:
Sorry mate but just ONE more question, do i download the mini version or the full size.

Sorry for the inconvenience

EDIT: NVM ill just get full version



Two flavors: Full-size and Mini

If you simply need to install Apache and PHP, download the Mini version of WinLAMP. It is an 11MB file. It installs Apache 2.0.58 and PHP 5.14, and nothing else.

If, however, you want the classic Apache, MySQL, PHP, Perl, and GUI options as described below, download the full version. It is 60MB, and includes documentation options.


Taken directly from the WinLAMPs sourceforge page. If space isn't a problem, and you aren't afraid of tinkering with things you don't fully understand, go with the full install. Don't bother with the SQL until you've picked up on the basics of PHP though.

Also, browse through the Apache configuration file. Don't edit anything, but just be aware of the possible choices. Do the same with the PHP.




Alright thanks for the help


If you need help, dont be afraid to ask, just be sure to give the challenge an honest try before you do.

Author

RE: little question about setting up php


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 08-03-09 23:03
When i decided to learn php, instead of installing llamp, i've installed an apache server, php and mysql server support...
However, i also tried XAMPP and similar thing and have proved it is also an excellent choice.


Author

RE: little question about setting up php

AldarHawk
Member



Posts: 1690
Location: Canada
Joined: 26.01.06
Rank:
Hacker Level 1
Posted on 09-03-09 13:00
another good way to go about this (if you do not want to install servers on your computer) is just sign up for a free hosting site (freehostia, awardspace, izfree, etc...) and do your tinkering there Smile


Just ask Yahoo!Taboo! http://www.erikwestlake.com
Author

RE: little question about setting up php


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 09-03-09 14:15
AldarHawk wrote:
another good way to go about this (if you do not want to install servers on your computer) is just sign up for a free hosting site (freehostia, awardspace, izfree, etc...) and do your tinkering there Smile


True, those can do just as well. But with your own server you can try much more things. And you don't have to use those annoying web interfaces or FTP. Smile


Author

RE: little question about setting up php


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 09-03-09 17:37
yeah, and with your own server i think you can browse faster your pages...


Author

RE: little question about setting up php


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 09-03-09 18:04
Cyph3rHell wrote:
yeah, and with your own server i think you can browse faster your pages...


The order you put your words in I like. Pfft
But yeah, often a lot faster. And if you haven't opened the port up in your router, you won't have to worry about someone sneaking up on you when you're trying some dangerous stuff out. :ninja: