Follow us on Twitter!
The measure of a mans life is not how well he dies, but how well he lives.
Wednesday, April 16, 2014
Navigation
Home
HellBoundHackers Main:
HellBoundHackers Find:
HellBoundHackers Information:
Learn
Communicate
Submit
Shop
Challenges
HellBoundHackers Exploit:
HellBoundHackers Programming:
HellBoundHackers Think:
HellBoundHackers Track:
HellBoundHackers Patch:
HellBoundHackers Other:
HellBoundHackers Need Help?
Other
Members Online
Total Online: 22
Guests Online: 17
Members Online: 5

Registered Members: 82811
Newest Member: IsaiahBowman
Latest Articles
View Thread

HellBound Hackers | Computer General | OS specific

Page 3 of 9 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 > >>
Author

RE: Linux


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 02-06-05 20:53
thats one thing everyone should do, check if there hardware is supported suse has a good database for things it supports out the box. Also why do you have to drop windows? windows is still good, wine sucks for games i think. I mean is good but i'd prefer to keep windows and have my games working that us wine.


Author

RE: Linux


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 03-06-05 19:01
i recently recieved my cd of knoppix. i love linux it took a couple of trickts to get it to run on my sony laptop (could not access bios) but i got it working now. im currently building a desktop and trying to decide on which distro to install. i like knoppix but seems to load webpages a lot slower than my winxp. also i have a problem loading knoppix onto my desktop. i donot currently have a hard drive in the machine but i do have enough mem for it to run very nicely. so here it is: when i boot from the cd everythings fine until it starts unpacking the kernal. then i get an error saying kernal panic cannot create rootfs. what am i doing wrong does it need to have some form of physical disk to write to?


Author

RE: Linux


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 03-06-05 19:13
How did you get into your bios? Cause i'm trying to install knoppix on my laptop but i can't access my bios os i can't make adjustements.

I forgot how to do it once, i tried keyboard error, esc, del , f1, f2, ctrl+alt+s,ctrl+alt+enter, ctrl+alt+esc, almost everything i remembered but still no bios.




Author

RE: Linux

n3w7yp3
Member

Your avatar

Posts: 358
Location: USA
Joined: 19.03.05
Rank:
Moderate
Posted on 03-06-05 20:05
the kernal panic message is usually because it cant find a directory called initrd. this is a top level dir. it is normally empty (and it should be). it has no other use excpet for when the box is booting.


"Root is a state of mind" -- K0resh
Author

RE: Linux


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 04-06-05 12:53
I run Ubuntu Its easy and fun Im having trouble with my network card on it though so i have to use windows for the moment while i find a driverAngry


Author

RE: Linux


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 04-06-05 13:50
linux is too frusturating for me to try to install, and im too lazy to go buy a burnable cd


Author

RE: Linux


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 04-06-05 13:50
<<<<<<<<<<<although the mandrake penguin is the coolest


Author

RE: Linux


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 04-06-05 14:15
The SUSE Logo owns you!!


Author

RE: Linux


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 04-06-05 19:46
lol, yes the suse logo is cool, though i think the older one was rubbish. Too lazy to install linux? your joking right Pfft? Smile


Author

RE: Linux


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 04-06-05 19:54
I dont know how to partition my hard drive, and i dont have time to go buy cd's


Author

RE: Linux


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 04-06-05 19:56
you dont have to partition your hard drive linux does it for you (well the more user friendly ones do). though i dont like partitioning.


Author

RE: Linux


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 05-06-05 00:39
You do have to do it using fdisk i think.. on Gentoo and Slackware(The ones without graphical user interfaces)


Author

RE: Linux


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 05-06-05 12:37
Just make sure you have a bit of free space on your hdd.
If this is the case almost every user friendly distro you use should partition for you etc.

If you are planning on using F'edora Core 3 i can walk you thrue the whole partitioning thingy.
If you just want to know how to partition folow the partitioning bit on the irongeek tutorial about installing knoppix on hdd, it's basically the same for each distro.

And if you really are taht lazy (wich is fine by me Grin ) just get linspire
It's basically windows with the linux kernel =)

Hope some of this motivated you lol


Author

RE: Linux


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 05-06-05 12:48
And if you really are taht lazy (wich is fine by me ) just get linspire
It's basically windows with the linux kernel =)

What a waste of a perfectly good kernel whats the point?


Author

RE: Linux


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 05-06-05 13:47
user friendlyness, big hardware support and good installer that's why i said
basically windows (for the installing that is) Wink


Author

RE: Linux

n3w7yp3
Member

Your avatar

Posts: 358
Location: USA
Joined: 19.03.05
Rank:
Moderate
Posted on 05-06-05 14:58
most linux distros nowadays provide easy partitioning. If you are going to make a dual booting box, you can use FIPS to clear out room in windows and then go and install Linux on the free space


"Root is a state of mind" -- K0resh
Author

RE: Linux


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 07-06-05 07:13
wow dont you kill the fun Sad its just been a while since anyone acctually posted on this


Author

RE: Linux


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 07-06-05 09:20
My sony has 250 gb hard drive

Do i really need to have any more space open Pfft0


Author

RE: Linux


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 07-06-05 09:20
New sonys have 400, they own me Sad


Author

RE: Linux


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 07-06-05 09:53
My Dreams to achieve in the next 4 years
2 x 500Gb HDD's 100Mb/s


Page 3 of 9 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 > >>