Follow us on Twitter!
The important thing is not to stop questioning. - Albert Einstein
Monday, April 21, 2014
Navigation
Home
HellBoundHackers Main:
HellBoundHackers Find:
HellBoundHackers Information:
Learn
Communicate
Submit
Shop
Challenges
HellBoundHackers Exploit:
HellBoundHackers Programming:
HellBoundHackers Think:
HellBoundHackers Track:
HellBoundHackers Patch:
HellBoundHackers Other:
HellBoundHackers Need Help?
Other
Members Online
Total Online: 29
Guests Online: 26
Members Online: 3

Registered Members: 82857
Newest Member: varshith_kh
Latest Articles
View Thread

HellBound Hackers | Computer General | General Computer Problems

Author

lan problem


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 16-03-08 19:03
I'm using ubuntu on another computer of mine, and I can't get it to connect through this computer to the internet (or this computer at all; an XP machine). Aside from not being able to get it to connect through this computer, whenever I enable the connection it the XP machine stops connecting to the internet through the wireless card. Anyone have any ideas/solutions?:ninja::ninja:
Author

RE: lan problem


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 16-03-08 20:03
a p2p and another wireless? Make sure both are up and running, you also need to use crossover Ethernet I believe to have a p2p, or regular with a hub, otherwise it's not sure which goes to the internet.


Author

RE: lan problem


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 16-03-08 20:43
I'm using a crossover, and it does work (the cable, not the connection), I've never set up direct computer connections before. (even as a cisco student, they just dont teach us this Sad)
Author

RE: lan problem


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 16-03-08 22:26
I'm a networking student in Highschool and the best bet is probably using a hub and making sure the firewall is set to allow p2p,


Author

RE: lan problem


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 17-03-08 00:20
I'm sure I won't need a hub, and the firewall is disabled, it' something wrong with the way I'm trying to set it up using 2 connections
Author

RE: lan problem

richohealey
Member



Posts: 1022
Location: #!/usr/local/bin/python
Joined: 01.05.06
Rank:
Monster
Posted on 17-03-08 02:57
i bet you're setting the gateway as the XP machine.

You need to bridge the connections (which is an ethernet principle, not a TCP/IP one, so it's invisible on the transport/application layers) and then still set the gateway as you router.


bitchohealey at hotmail dot com skype:richohealey www.psych0tik.net
Author

RE: lan problem

shadowls
You Like this!



Posts: 840
Location:
Joined: 07.12.06
Rank:
God
Posted on 17-03-08 07:13
richohealey wrote:
i bet you're setting the gateway as the XP machine.

You need to bridge the connections (which is an ethernet principle, not a TCP/IP one, so it's invisible on the transport/application layers) and then still set the gateway as you router.



Wow, Richo, you speak so intelligent.


If you think my post are useful to you, please vote for them. Thank You


knowledge is powerful itself - SHADOWLS


i41.tinypic.com/mjwz7t.jpg

Made by:agentmax69, but remastered by: KvK


Coffee
None None
Author

RE: lan problem

richohealey
Member



Posts: 1022
Location: #!/usr/local/bin/python
Joined: 01.05.06
Rank:
Monster
Posted on 17-03-08 09:09
you've lost me, i was just saying what needed to be said, it's pretty common knowledge.


bitchohealey at hotmail dot com skype:richohealey www.psych0tik.net
Author

RE: lan problem

shadowls
You Like this!



Posts: 840
Location:
Joined: 07.12.06
Rank:
God
Posted on 17-03-08 09:47
No, i was just complimenting you on how fluently you speak. Most people won't be able to explain as clear as you did. Thanks all i am saying,


If you think my post are useful to you, please vote for them. Thank You


knowledge is powerful itself - SHADOWLS


i41.tinypic.com/mjwz7t.jpg

Made by:agentmax69, but remastered by: KvK


Coffee
None None
Author

RE: lan problem

richohealey
Member



Posts: 1022
Location: #!/usr/local/bin/python
Joined: 01.05.06
Rank:
Monster
Posted on 17-03-08 11:32
oh, in that case, thanks Smile


bitchohealey at hotmail dot com skype:richohealey www.psych0tik.net