Follow us on Twitter!
It is never to LATE to become what you never WERE.
Thursday, April 24, 2014
Navigation
Home
HellBoundHackers Main:
HellBoundHackers Find:
HellBoundHackers Information:
Learn
Communicate
Submit
Shop
Challenges
HellBoundHackers Exploit:
HellBoundHackers Programming:
HellBoundHackers Think:
HellBoundHackers Track:
HellBoundHackers Patch:
HellBoundHackers Other:
HellBoundHackers Need Help?
Other
Members Online
Total Online: 14
Guests Online: 14
Members Online: 0

Registered Members: 82889
Newest Member: Geriztul
Latest Articles
View Thread

HellBound Hackers | Computer General | Hardware

Author

KORG! 2GB DDR2.800 or 4GB Mix 'n Match 800 + 667?


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 28-06-08 23:45
I recently posted about an amazing hardware find on newegg.com

http://www.hellbo. . .d_id=12921

Anyway, I'm getting 2GB (2x1GB) of DDR2-667 (PC2-5600?)

I already have 2GB (2x1GB) of DDR2-800 (PC2-6400) RAM

Under normal loads I use about .8-1.1GB of RAM (WinXP 64) and about 1GB of swap. Should I install the new RAM, or would it lag my system? It has a retail value of about $45 and it's from Corsair, so it should not be hard to sell; so I am thinking of either reselling it or giving half to my parents and the other half to a friend.

I am thinking that the best thing to do would be to install the 667 in my system alongside the 800, having 4GB of mixed memory, and then disable my swap.

That would be the optimum scenario, right? Korg, buddy, you here?

And, completely irrelevant, but, tomorrow, I should move from a GeForce 6600LE 128 64bit to 8800GT 512 256bit ^_^ so happy.

Edit: didn't realize DDR2-667 was not 5300, it's 5600, right?




Edited by on 29-06-08 00:17
Author

RE: KORG! 2GB DDR2.800 or 4GB Mix 'n Match 800 + 667?

korg
Admin from hell



Posts: 2798
Location: ENDING YOUR ONLINE EXPERIENCE!
Joined: 01.01.06
Rank:
God
Posted on 29-06-08 02:13
Standard ddr2-667 240 pin is pc2-5300. Dual channel ddr2-667 240 is pc2-5400.
You can run the 667 & 800 together though the system will use the lower timing 667.
Depending on your motherboard, You can play with your memory timing,voltage etc.
to bring the 667 up higher.
I would run the 800 alone, 2g is more than enough for anything.
Been busy loading my main computer yesterday and today. My maxtors took a big shit, So replaced the raid with 2 500g hitachi T7K500 Deskstars.



i57.photobucket.com/albums/g215/korg1269/shodan13.jpg

I deal in pain, All life I drain, I dominate, I seal your fate.
O R
Author

RE: KORG! 2GB DDR2.800 or 4GB Mix 'n Match 800 + 667?


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 29-06-08 04:25
I know the motherboard has 4 slots and the manual labeled two of them (A1, B1 I think) as meant for faster memory. I guess I'll install one of the 667 DIMMs in A2, and give the other to my parents, then disable my swap. I would think it would be faster with slower ram and no swap than with faster ram and swap, right?

Edit: bleargh, it's single-channel...

re-edit: I'm just going to time a fresh boot and photoshop cs3 load/unload/load with the 800 and then 800/667 and see which is faster. If i'm faster without a swap I'll use the ram, otherwise I'll give my parents one DIMM and my friend another. Thanks, korg




Edited by on 29-06-08 04:32
Author

RE: KORG! 2GB DDR2.800 or 4GB Mix 'n Match 800 + 667?

korg
Admin from hell



Posts: 2798
Location: ENDING YOUR ONLINE EXPERIENCE!
Joined: 01.01.06
Rank:
God
Posted on 29-06-08 04:34
bleargh, MOD.


i57.photobucket.com/albums/g215/korg1269/shodan13.jpg

I deal in pain, All life I drain, I dominate, I seal your fate.
O R