Follow us on Twitter!
The important thing is not to stop questioning. - Albert Einstein
Sunday, April 20, 2014
Navigation
Home
HellBoundHackers Main:
HellBoundHackers Find:
HellBoundHackers Information:
Learn
Communicate
Submit
Shop
Challenges
HellBoundHackers Exploit:
HellBoundHackers Programming:
HellBoundHackers Think:
HellBoundHackers Track:
HellBoundHackers Patch:
HellBoundHackers Other:
HellBoundHackers Need Help?
Other
Members Online
Total Online: 22
Guests Online: 22
Members Online: 0

Registered Members: 82843
Newest Member: hx47
Latest Articles
View Thread

HellBound Hackers | Challenges | Javascript

Author

Js 5 broken. (spoilers)


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 08-08-06 22:22
Okay, so I did some research on getYear, put what I thought was the correct year in, then submitted. It gave me a "Good job! You got it!" then redirected me to "Wrong Answer! Why don't you do some research on the code!"

So I tried one other possibility, also wrong, except this time I just got a plain "Try again".

Edited by Mr_Cheese on 08-08-06 22:30
Author

RE: Js 5 broken. (spoilers)

Mr_Cheese




Posts: 2468
Location: Brighton, UK
Joined: 30.11.04
Rank:
Uber Elite
Posted on 08-08-06 22:29
challenge is working fine.


http://www.hellboundhackers.org/
Author

RE: Js 5 broken. (spoilers)


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 09-08-06 03:28
Hmm. Looking at the js code, I would have to disagree.

There are two options that it gives you.

1 is alert("Good job! You got it!"Wink;
window.location.href=year+".php"


Which means that if you enter what I am presuming to be the password it wants, it will redirect you to /js/js5/2006.php which is the page for the wrong answer.

Otherwise it will give you the try again message and leave you at the blank page that you get if you put in the wrong password.

Would I be correct in assuming that there is no third option? And thus there is no redirect to the "Congrats! x points has been added!" page? Or am I just a noob and totally missing something? (and believe me this is a huge possibility)

Edit: just to clarify I tried it with the broken getYear and that answer didn't work either.

Edited by on 09-08-06 03:43
Author

RE: Js 5 broken. (spoilers)


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 09-08-06 03:43
Try to find what happens in js when you use the "year" command.
*w3schools would be a good place to look*


Author

RE: Js 5 broken. (spoilers)


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 09-08-06 04:43
"year" or "getYear"?

I know what happens when you use getYear. In the case of this script year is just a variable unless I'm reading it wrong. However, getYear is based on 1900 in some browsers. It happens to work normally in mine (IE).

Anyway, it seems to me that the issue here is that there are only two possible links to go to, and neither one is the correct one. Of course, I'm a js nub, but... I think I'm reading it right. If anyone wants to look over what I'm doing wrong via PM's, I'd be much obliged.
Author

RE: Js 5 broken. (spoilers)


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 09-08-06 05:02
You are making this way too hard on yourself man. all i did...was copy and paste something from the souce and make it a js injection and that is all. should be easy enough


Author

RE: Js 5 broken. (spoilers)


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 09-08-06 05:15
I did. That was edited out of my original post. It gave me the answer that took me to the "wrong" page. Pfft

EDIT: Got the answer just by messing around. Yeah, this challenge is definitely broken on IE.

Edited by on 09-08-06 05:34
Author

RE: Js 5 broken. (spoilers)

I-O-W-A
Member



Posts: 206
Location: Somewhere Only I Know
Joined: 01.08.06
Rank:
Apprentice
Posted on 09-08-06 10:47
the challange aint broke in IE coz thts whatt i use an i done it, its to do with the GetYear function read up on it an you'll see some interesting info on it


img517.imageshack.us/img517/8460/iowasssec7kh5.jpg

^thanx x-x for the sig^



img411.imageshack.us/img411/7846/sigforiowa2px1.gif
thanks CyberSpider For The Sig ^^


You See My Soul Its Kinda Grey, You See My Heart You look Away
the_new_abortion_is_here@hotmail.com
Author

RE: Js 5 broken. (spoilers)

SySTeM
Member

Your avatar

Posts: 1524
Location: England, UK
Joined: 27.07.05
Rank:
HBH Guru
Posted on 09-08-06 13:40
I-O-W-A wrote:
the challange aint broke in IE coz thts whatt i use


You use IE?! Are you insane?!?!?!?!?! FrownFrownFrownFrownFrownFrownFrown


img138.imageshack.us/img138/6527/sig2ak1.jpg
www.hellboundhackers.org/sig/r/2783.png



Edited by SySTeM on 09-08-06 17:30
http://www.elites0ft.com/
Author

RE: Js 5 broken. (spoilers)


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 09-08-06 17:05
I agree with system_meltdown..

ie sucks, no matter what you say..

I've did it now just for testing.. it works..

but, I think you haven't researched enought the source-code..
Try it again..

view-source:http:. . ./index.php



Author

RE: Js 5 broken. (spoilers)


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 09-08-06 18:01
if i remember the thing is date format Frown

i just setted up one phpfusion and i cant login using IE, and i can login using firefox. man when i remmember how stupid i was few years ago when i was stubborn for IE, not wanting firefox.... firefox rulz

edit: yes its format. ive been searchin something for javascript 14 as i have no idea where to start looking so i found this. it should help you on javascript 5 greatly. http://hellboundhackers.org/readarticle.php?article_id=321




Edited by on 09-08-06 18:24
Author

RE: Js 5 broken. (spoilers)


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 09-08-06 19:06
a few years ago the best browser wasnt firefox it was opera.
and in some ways it still is


Author

RE: Js 5 broken. (spoilers)


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 08-10-06 22:32
****************warning***************possible spoiler********* ok well how do you find out which number to use as 'year' in the first place? maybe try some simple javascript commands in the address bar. like oh I don't know, what kind of command could you use to make the page alert you of which 'year' to use?