Follow us on Twitter!
Hacking isn't just Computers & Exploits. It's a Philosophy. - Mr_Cheese
Saturday, April 19, 2014
Navigation
Home
HellBoundHackers Main:
HellBoundHackers Find:
HellBoundHackers Information:
Learn
Communicate
Submit
Shop
Challenges
HellBoundHackers Exploit:
HellBoundHackers Programming:
HellBoundHackers Think:
HellBoundHackers Track:
HellBoundHackers Patch:
HellBoundHackers Other:
HellBoundHackers Need Help?
Other
Members Online
Total Online: 25
Guests Online: 24
Members Online: 1

Registered Members: 82843
Newest Member: hx47
Latest Articles
View Thread

HellBound Hackers | Computer General | Networking

Author

IP Scanner...


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 31-03-11 16:06
Hi all...
Currently I'm using Angry IP Scanner...
In Angry IP Scanner there is a box which labeled "Hostname", so we will be able to get someone's IP address by using the Hostname...
Sometimes I can get the IP address of the hostname..., but sometimes I can't get it, and it ends with result "No DNS entry" eventhough the computer is actually online...
So, I'm wondering what actually affects the result of the scan...
And I'm also wondering if there's any Scanner which could be better to get the IP addresses of computers connected to Wireless connection only by the hostname...

Thanks...
Author

RE: IP Scanner...

suid
Member



Posts: 33
Location: /
Joined: 12.11.10
Rank:
Newbie
Posted on 31-03-11 17:04
nmap, but all the tools that discovery the IP address from hostname essentially do the same thing. It's not hard to program this sort of thing yourself.
Author

RE: IP Scanner...

techb
Member



Posts: 384
Location:
Joined: 15.02.09
Rank:
Moderate
Posted on 01-04-11 00:35
fping


www.userbars.com/74460/665255/337-7865-ubda3219.gif
kbcarte.wordpress.com
Author

RE: IP Scanner...


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 03-04-11 15:10
If the machine you want the hostname of is running Windows, you can use Nmblookup ( nmblookup -A 192.168.1.2 ), but that would require you to have Samba installed. if you are running Windows yourself, try using nbtstat.


Author

RE: IP Scanner...


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 05-04-11 21:48
Vgers wrote:
So, I'm wondering what actually affects the result of the scan...


If i understand them correctly essentially they just do an nslookup of the ip address and check if there is DNS entries for it on the DNS server.

If there is none then you will get no results for the host name.

I'm going to guess you have no control over the DNS server? and therefore wont be able to check if the results are accurate?


Author

RE: IP Scanner...


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 09-04-11 10:08
@MoshBat: ping sometimes just doesn't work...
I know my target is online(which is my housemate) but when I ping the hostname, it will result Ping request could no find host or sometimes it show some sort of code for example hostname[fe80::bd44::77cb:f78c:7ef4%12]
Or sometimes I can get the IP, for example hostname[192.168.1.77].
So I found it not reliable to get the IP.

@suid: I had tried Nmap as well..., but sometimes it doesn't work as well...
If I can get my target's IP with Angry IP Scanner, then only the Nmap work.

@techb: I tried to seach in google and went to the website, but I don't understand how it works or even how to download it...Frown

@hauk142: I had tried NBTSTAT -a hostname, but it will result me Host not found.

@chompy: yup..., I have no control of any computer in my network... It just that we are in the same network...

Thanks all for the reply...
Author

RE: IP Scanner...

starofale
Member



Posts: 218
Location: England
Joined: 05.12.07
Rank:
Moderate
Posted on 09-04-11 11:33
Vgers wrote:
sometimes it show some sort of code for example hostname[fe80::bd44::77cb:f78c:7ef4%12]

That looks similar to an ipv6 address, but not quite right. Did you copy and paste that directly from ping or type it yourself?
There should be a maximum of one set of double colons '::' in an ipv6 address.


Try a new search engine
Author

RE: IP Scanner...


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 10-04-11 14:33
@starofale: I typed it myself...
So it might be typing-error...
Anyway do u know how to convert it to IP like 192.168.1.16 for example...
Thanks...
Author

RE: IP Scanner...

starofale
Member



Posts: 218
Location: England
Joined: 05.12.07
Rank:
Moderate
Posted on 10-04-11 19:47
Vgers wrote:
Anyway do u know how to convert it to IP like 192.168.1.16 for example...

You can't generally convert an IPv6 address to an IPv4 address. http://secure.wik. . ._addresses
You might be able to set ping to give you the IPv4 address instead.

Is there some reason you can't just use the IPv6 address though?


EDIT: It seems HBH doesn't like https links


Try a new search engine

Edited by starofale on 10-04-11 19:49
Author

RE: IP Scanner...


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 11-04-11 14:25
Is this in a Large business network or just your home?




Author

RE: IP Scanner...


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 15-04-11 14:23
Hey vgers, you need to do a nbtstat -A <IP>, not nbtstat -a <IP>.

-a is not the same as -A .


Author

RE: IP Scanner...


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 20-04-11 16:56
@starofale: Yeah... The program I'm using does not support IPv6 I think...

@chompy: It's just my home...lol...

@hauk142: Yeah..., I know...
NBTSTAT -A <IP>
NBTSTAT -a <hostname>
Now I know the hostname..., so I'm using NBTSTAT -a...

Thanks all for the reply...
Author

RE: IP Scanner...


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 21-04-11 20:40
Well then, if you want to find the IP of a hostname, I guess you'd better see which hosts are up, and do a nbtstat -A on everyone of them until you find the hostname you were looking for. At least that's how I roll. Pfft