Follow us on Twitter!
Imagination is more valuable than knowledge - Albert Einstein
Saturday, April 19, 2014
Navigation
Home
HellBoundHackers Main:
HellBoundHackers Find:
HellBoundHackers Information:
Learn
Communicate
Submit
Shop
Challenges
HellBoundHackers Exploit:
HellBoundHackers Programming:
HellBoundHackers Think:
HellBoundHackers Track:
HellBoundHackers Patch:
HellBoundHackers Other:
HellBoundHackers Need Help?
Other
Members Online
Total Online: 31
Guests Online: 29
Members Online: 2

Registered Members: 82838
Newest Member: w1zarrd
Latest Articles
View Thread

HellBound Hackers | Computer General | Programming

Author

Input in C++ MessageBox


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 16-08-09 00:50
Hello there, I try to let the user input information in a MessageBox in C++.

I'm thinking of that white input bar, in the MessageBox. I have been googled it, but it seems to be something wrong with my queries today.

What I know is that the thing I am looking for is not called a MessageBox, and I know that C and C# has this thing. I don't know if it is in C++, or how it works..

Any help, even "You are an idiot. *Followed by a link*", would be appreciatedSmile
Author

RE: Input in C++ MessageBox


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 16-08-09 04:31
I'm pretty sure what you are looking for is Visual C++. Try looking that up in google.


Author

RE: Input in C++ MessageBox


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 16-08-09 06:04
If you know it in C, then try it in C. After all, C code has a tendency to work with C++ code. Although it looks like you only know that it exists in those languages, but don't know how to properly use them.
If you want to work with GUI in C++ you're going to have to learn a bunch of shit that's OS dependent and thus names for whatever you're looking for aren't set in stone either. Anyhow, what you're looking for seems to rather be something generally called text/input field, try finding that.


Author

RE: Input in C++ MessageBox


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 16-08-09 11:16
I think you are looking for an InputBox.
Try this one: http://www.codeproject.com/KB/dialog/w32inputbox_1.aspx

Edited by on 16-08-09 11:17
Author

RE: Input in C++ MessageBox

spyware
Member



Posts: 4192
Location: The Netherlands
Joined: 14.04.07
Rank:
God
Warn Level: 90
Posted on 16-08-09 15:57
Writing OS-dependent code in C++ is bullshit. If you want to make fancy windows apps, go download some Visual Studio IDE.



img507.imageshack.us/img507/3580/spynewsig3il1.png
"The chowner of property." - Zeph
[small]
Widespread intellectual and moral docility may be convenient for leaders in the short term,
but it is suicidal for nations in the long term.
- Carl Sagan
“Since the grid is inescapable, what were the earlier lasers about? Does the corridor have a sense of humor?” - Ebert
[/s
http://bitsofspy.net
Author

RE: Input in C++ MessageBox

hellboundhackersok
Member



Posts: 353
Location:
Joined: 20.09.07
Rank:
Moderate
Warn Level: 95
Posted on 16-08-09 20:48
spyware wrote:
Writing OS-dependent code in C++ is bullshit. If you want to make fancy windows apps, go download some Visual Studio IDE.

Agreed. Try a library like wxwidgets, Qt, or GTK!


i.imgur.com/qBWHo0R.png
Author

RE: Input in C++ MessageBox


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 16-08-09 22:48
Because they look cooler, DUH! B)
Author

RE: Input in C++ MessageBox


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 16-08-09 23:19
MoshBat wrote:
Why do people always try making GUIs before console programs?


As a matter of fact, I AM making a console program... Sort of...
It is a console, and it is giving out a MessageBox. But while I was doing this particular program, I became curious, as I have seen this "InputBox" before. I just want to know if it exists in C++. And how to use it. As I'm well aware that GUIs are out of the question for me quite yet.
I'd rather learn the language before I learn how to make it look cool.

But thanks for all help! That counts for all of you.
Author

RE: Input in C++ MessageBox


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 17-08-09 00:53
MoshBat wrote:

As a matter of fact, I AM making a console program... Sort of...
It is a console, and it is giving out a MessageBox. But while I was doing this particular program, I became curious, as I have seen this "InputBox" before. I just want to know if it exists in C++. And how to use it. As I'm well aware that GUIs are out of the question for me quite yet.
I'd rather learn the language before I learn how to make it look cool.

But thanks for all help! That counts for all of you.

To do what you're doing, I don't believe you can simply use a MessageBox, you'd likely have to make your own "custom" GUI, and that's a huge pain in the arse.
And in terms of I/O it's easier in the console, and I don't *really* see the need for a console program to create a message box. That would probably annoy me... Though, if it's purely for your own use...[/quote]

I simply used a messagebox... Shock
It is for my own use too, I'm not good enough yet to write any programs that makes very good sence, that you can't find much better alternatives to.
Author

RE: Input in C++ MessageBox


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 18-08-09 02:03
MoshBat wrote:
TheLugal wrote:
I simply used a messagebox... Shock
It is for my own use too, I'm not good enough yet to write any programs that makes very good sence, that you can't find much better alternatives to.

Fix your quote.
Also, if you're not yet good enough to write programs that "makes very good sence", don't bother yourself with creating a GUI of any kind...


I'm not, I'm making a console program. I just had a question. I asked a question. And I got an answere to my question.

Will you be flattered if I call you a cunt?