Follow us on Twitter!
Hacking isn't just Computers & Exploits. It's a Philosophy. - Mr_Cheese
Thursday, April 17, 2014
Navigation
Home
HellBoundHackers Main:
HellBoundHackers Find:
HellBoundHackers Information:
Learn
Communicate
Submit
Shop
Challenges
HellBoundHackers Exploit:
HellBoundHackers Programming:
HellBoundHackers Think:
HellBoundHackers Track:
HellBoundHackers Patch:
HellBoundHackers Other:
HellBoundHackers Need Help?
Other
Members Online
Total Online: 17
Guests Online: 17
Members Online: 0

Registered Members: 82813
Newest Member: VesuviusSentinel
Latest Articles
View Thread

HellBound Hackers | Computer General | OS specific

Author

Help me with my live CD!!


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 08-08-06 04:08
Here's the problem. Everything. I have no clue where to start with this thing.
Q#1 Is the ISO file supposed to be put onto the CD as a ISO file or are you supposed to unzip it?
Q#2 All I was doing was copying/pasting the file onto the CD, do I need to do something more?
Q#3 How do I get it to load up at boot-up?(Yes, I changed it to boot off the CD drive, I am assuming that you have to do something to the CD)
Please explain it like you are talking to the biggest idiot in the world and start from the beginning. I hope someone can help me out here:xx:


Author

RE: Help me with my live CD!!


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 08-08-06 04:17
You can either mess around with your live cd in VMware: (http://www.vmware. . .chine.html)

Or you could burn the iso file to a cd/dvd and boot it. You just put the cd/dvd into your pc and then turn it on, maybe you need to change the boot settings to search for a bootable cd/dvd first.

(I THINK)


Author

RE: Help me with my live CD!!


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 08-08-06 04:39
You can get a free Ubuntu live CD here Smile There's no catch, you don't need to pay for shipping or anything. This is the only Live CD i have, (well, I have a Linspire one, but all thats usefull for is getting restricted files from a windows machine Smile)

All I had to do is change my BIOS and set it to boot from CD, nothing needed to be changed on the CD. This'll at least save you whatever it costs for a writable CD Grin




Edited by on 08-08-06 05:57
Author

RE: Help me with my live CD!!


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 08-08-06 04:51
To Absorb:
Thanks for the info i'll check it out, but I would prefer to use the one that I have because of the tools that are on it. It's already downloaded I just have to put it on a cd and get it to boot up.
To spyware:
I changed the boot settings but it still doesn't work. How do I make it a bootable CD?
Thanks for the help everyone!!Grin


Author

RE: Help me with my live CD!!

knutrainer
Member



Posts: 243
Location:
Joined: 08.07.05
Rank:
Apprentice
Posted on 08-08-06 04:53
You need to get some software that gives you that option of creating a bootable cd.


img389.imageshack.us/img389/974/knu5ui1ja.jpg
~PM me if you need help or instant message me.


knutrainer@gmail.com
Author

RE: Help me with my live CD!!


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 08-08-06 04:58
From where?


Author

RE: Help me with my live CD!!


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 08-08-06 04:59
http://www.nu2.nu. . .cd/whatis/

Tadaa!


Author

RE: Help me with my live CD!!


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 10-08-06 14:29
I have a Knoppix 4.0.2 Live CD.

Just download the .iso and use DiscJuggler to burn it. It's now permantly in my school jacket pocket for quick draw Linux pwnage. :ninja: Wink


Author

RE: Help me with my live CD!!


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 10-08-06 14:37
I downloaded slax, knoppix, pclos and have ubuntu live cd's.

with slax knoppix and pclos, I burnt the iso to disc using nero then inserted the disc and restarted. as the boot screen comes up.. (before xp proffesional boot screen etc) I have to hit F12. (Dell Inspiron 600 laptop).

Firtly just check out the options you have... usually it's F2-F12 have the functions.


Author

RE: Help me with my live CD!!


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 10-08-06 14:43
I have to hold delete than change the boot sequence in BIOS. On Dells its just F12 and you're away. On the school laptops they make a eardrum-peircingly loud beep if you hold delete :angry:, which kinda blows your cover. Grin


Author

RE: Help me with my live CD!!


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 08-10-06 09:55
I gotta make the cd-rom boot before the hard disk for it to work....