Follow us on Twitter!
Society leans ever heavily on computers, if you have the power to take out computers you can take out society. - cubeman372
Friday, April 25, 2014
Navigation
Home
HellBoundHackers Main:
HellBoundHackers Find:
HellBoundHackers Information:
Learn
Communicate
Submit
Shop
Challenges
HellBoundHackers Exploit:
HellBoundHackers Programming:
HellBoundHackers Think:
HellBoundHackers Track:
HellBoundHackers Patch:
HellBoundHackers Other:
HellBoundHackers Need Help?
Other
Members Online
Total Online: 20
Guests Online: 18
Members Online: 2

Registered Members: 82909
Newest Member: awais
Latest Articles
View Thread

HellBound Hackers | Computer General | General Computer Problems

Author

graphics card problem

TROY
Member



Posts: 83
Location: Sheffield, UK
Joined: 17.06.08
Rank:
Moderate
Posted on 25-01-09 23:48
hi, i am having a problem with a game i am playing on my Acer Aspire 5310 laptop, GTA San Andreas, well its all games actually, but with san andreas i have a strange problem, when i install car mods and then see them in game, it goes really choppy and stutters, then i face away from the car and it is fine, this also happens when i see alot of cars, even unmodded ones, my laptop is by far capeable of running this game, im asking here because apsolutely no one seems to be able to help. see next post for spec


Author

RE: These are my laptops specs

TROY
Member



Posts: 83
Location: Sheffield, UK
Joined: 17.06.08
Rank:
Moderate
Posted on 25-01-09 23:53
These are my specs
1.60 GHz (the game only needs 1.00)
2GB RAM
intel Media accelerator 950
windows vista
any help would really be appreciated


Author

RE: graphics card problem

TROY
Member



Posts: 83
Location: Sheffield, UK
Joined: 17.06.08
Rank:
Moderate
Posted on 26-01-09 16:49
moshbat wrote:
Your graphics card just isn't good enough.
The "choppy" bit you refer to is actually a very low frame rate (Frames Per Second). I would upgrade, if possible.


well ive read about my grapics card (Intel GMA 950) and on intels website it says 'PCI express* x16 port available to upgrade to higher performance if required for extreme gaming' and thats all it says :s , i really want to upgrade/expand my graphics card but dont know how :s thanks for your help


Author

RE: graphics card problem

Futility
Member



Posts: 725
Location: USA
Joined: 17.12.07
Rank:
God
Posted on 26-01-09 17:41
If you want to make sure your system is good enough to play a game before buying it, http://www.system. . .ntslab.com will help you out. It analyzes your computer and compares it to the games' requirements. Sure, you could do it by eye and possibly miss something and buy a game you can't play, but the site makes everything easier. Personally, I stay away from computer gaming because I don't feel like paying $100 to upgrade my system every time a new game comes out.

Ok, so I'm exaggerating again. It's not really that expensive. Happy mosh?


i252.photobucket.com/albums/hh11/zanimabean/Zim.png


Edited by Futility on 26-01-09 18:03
Futility91@hotmail.com Futility91
Author

RE: graphics card problem

AldarHawk
Member



Posts: 1690
Location: Canada
Joined: 26.01.06
Rank:
Hacker Level 1
Posted on 26-01-09 18:04
TROY wrote:
well ive read about my grapics card (Intel GMA 950) and on intels website it says 'PCI express* x16 port available to upgrade to higher performance if required for extreme gaming' and thats all it says :s , i really want to upgrade/expand my graphics card but dont know how :s thanks for your help


Okay, you have an Onboard graphics card. Not a good thing for gaming. You have a few options. Upgrade your laptops video card or not play it on your laptop.

If you have any questions let me know. Best bet is to put a nVidea Video Card in and you would want at least 256MB VRAM.


Just ask Yahoo!Taboo! http://www.erikwestlake.com
Author

RE: graphics card problem

hellboundhackersok
Member



Posts: 353
Location:
Joined: 20.09.07
Rank:
Moderate
Warn Level: 95
Posted on 26-01-09 21:55
Definitely upgrade. You wrote the website states it has a PCI express* x16 port which means you can grab an excellent card for very little cash. (PCI-E 2.0 cards can be used on PCI-E slots. btw) As stated before try to get 256MB onboard or higher.

Oh and moshdude next time just ask to explain.


i.imgur.com/qBWHo0R.png


Edited by hellboundhackersok on 26-01-09 21:58
Author

RE: graphics card problem

TROY
Member



Posts: 83
Location: Sheffield, UK
Joined: 17.06.08
Rank:
Moderate
Posted on 27-01-09 19:13
hellboundhackersok wrote:
Definitely upgrade. You wrote the website states it has a PCI express* x16 port which means you can grab an excellent card for very little cash. (PCI-E 2.0 cards can be used on PCI-E slots. btw) As stated before try to get 256MB onboard or higher.

Oh and moshdude next time just ask to explain.

Where could i get one of these cards, do you have any sites or stores etc you could refer me to?
Thanks very much


Author

RE: graphics card problem

TROY
Member



Posts: 83
Location: Sheffield, UK
Joined: 17.06.08
Rank:
Moderate
Posted on 27-01-09 19:21
moshbat wrote:
TROY wrote:
hellboundhackersok wrote:
Definitely upgrade. You wrote the website states it has a PCI express* x16 port which means you can grab an excellent card for very little cash. (PCI-E 2.0 cards can be used on PCI-E slots. btw) As stated before try to get 256MB onboard or higher.

Oh and moshdude next time just ask to explain.

Where could i get one of these cards, do you have any sites or stores etc you could refer me to?
Thanks very much

Ebay.


From what i've seen on ebhay the cards there are desktop sized cards and certainly wouldnt fit in a laptop


Author

RE: graphics card problem

TROY
Member



Posts: 83
Location: Sheffield, UK
Joined: 17.06.08
Rank:
Moderate
Posted on 27-01-09 19:25
lol Pfft if it only it was that simple




Edited by TROY on 27-01-09 19:25
Author

RE: graphics card problem

TROY
Member



Posts: 83
Location: Sheffield, UK
Joined: 17.06.08
Rank:
Moderate
Posted on 27-01-09 19:35
moshbat wrote:
TROY wrote:
lol Pfft if it only it was that simple

Ah, I just had a look. There are none Pfft
Well, you could always just Google a model that you want/will fit your motherboard.


lol Pfft well thanks for your help man. I think i might take it into somewhere like PC World. Only thing about those places is they charge you 50 to tell you that you have a laptop, and an extra 100 to look inside Pfft .


Author

RE: graphics card problem

TROY
Member



Posts: 83
Location: Sheffield, UK
Joined: 17.06.08
Rank:
Moderate
Posted on 27-01-09 19:58

I'm charging a relative 20 for fixing his laptop. 40, if you count the new hard-drive.

what was wrong with it?


Author

RE: graphics card problem

TROY
Member



Posts: 83
Location: Sheffield, UK
Joined: 17.06.08
Rank:
Moderate
Posted on 27-01-09 20:11
moshbat wrote:
TROY wrote:

I'm charging a relative 20 for fixing his laptop. 40, if you count the new hard-drive.

what was wrong with it?

Hard-drive broke, somehow... I tried dis-assembling it, magnet, and even checked it worked with my PC (adapters,) which it didn't, so I bought a 60GB one as a replacement. Which was +20GB more than the other.
I thought my price was reasonable.


Sounds good to me. But these guys at the PC World near my house are shit then, they have this team called the tech guys ( supposedly good with computers) and i asked them about improving my FPS rate and the guy had no idea what i was talking about Pfft lol


Author

RE: graphics card problem

TROY
Member



Posts: 83
Location: Sheffield, UK
Joined: 17.06.08
Rank:
Moderate
Posted on 27-01-09 20:22

Grin How much did you get charged for asking? Pfft

hahaha nothing, Amazingly!, but if i said anymore they probably would have suggested me to do a pc health check with them, which costs 50 Angry :S, just for them to tell you something that anyone with half a brain could easily figure out using their computer and google.


Author

RE: graphics card problem

korg
Admin from hell



Posts: 2798
Location: ENDING YOUR ONLINE EXPERIENCE!
Joined: 01.01.06
Rank:
God
Posted on 28-01-09 05:03
Well let's start at the basics the man has Intergrated video, There is no card to replace or upgrade for christ's sake. As for your PCI express x16 port adapter that's used on desktops to adapt an 1x pci express slot up to 16x pci express.
Now back to your gaming problem, Do you have the latest drivers for your video adapter and the latest version of directx. These games use Direct draw acceleration, Check your settings in the directx diagnosis.



i57.photobucket.com/albums/g215/korg1269/shodan13.jpg

I deal in pain, All life I drain, I dominate, I seal your fate.

Edited by korg on 28-01-09 05:13
O R