Follow us on Twitter!
The measure of a mans life is not how well he dies, but how well he lives.
Thursday, April 17, 2014
Navigation
Home
HellBoundHackers Main:
HellBoundHackers Find:
HellBoundHackers Information:
Learn
Communicate
Submit
Shop
Challenges
HellBoundHackers Exploit:
HellBoundHackers Programming:
HellBoundHackers Think:
HellBoundHackers Track:
HellBoundHackers Patch:
HellBoundHackers Other:
HellBoundHackers Need Help?
Other
Members Online
Total Online: 19
Guests Online: 17
Members Online: 2

Registered Members: 82815
Newest Member: medjiking
Latest Articles
View Thread

HellBound Hackers | Computer General | General Computer Problems

Author

GDM

chess_rock
Member



Posts: 244
Location:
Joined: 20.02.08
Rank:
Apprentice
Posted on 15-10-09 18:24
Hello Smile
I use ubuntu for 4 months now, and i'm a new linux user, so everything is kind of new to me. I wanted my linux to boot in command prompt, and so, i heard that by disabling GDM i would be able to boot that way. So i went to admin > services, and cancelled it.

I restarted, and everything was looking great. I logged in as root, started x, and when i went to services again, i wasn't able to unblock the services, or add new users with the graphic display. I looked it up in google, but couldn't find anything useful. If anybody could help me, i would be really greatful. Thank you
Author

RE: GDM


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 15-10-09 19:28
Don't log in as root :+
Author

RE: GDM

chess_rock
Member



Posts: 244
Location:
Joined: 20.02.08
Rank:
Apprentice
Posted on 15-10-09 20:57
f16e7 wrote:
Don't log in as root :+


Sry, i forgot to mention that i have two users. I logged in both in root and the other user, and both have the same problem. When i had GDM activated, i was able to unlock services and users' menus with root only. Non-root users can't even see the panel.
Author

RE: GDM


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 15-10-09 21:05
No, look, I don't know what is causing your problem. I'm not really acquainted with Ubuntu, and the GNOME you're running on top of it. I'm just saying, don't login as root. Like, ever.

Edited by on 15-10-09 21:08
Author

RE: GDM


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 15-10-09 21:05
Try this
Code

sudo update-rc.d gdm defaults 13 01




This will just undo your gdm remove. See though if you do this you can go back to modifying the services




Edited by on 15-10-09 21:16
Author

RE: GDM

chess_rock
Member



Posts: 244
Location:
Joined: 20.02.08
Rank:
Apprentice
Posted on 16-10-09 00:05
stdio wrote:
Try this
Code

sudo update-rc.d gdm defaults 13 01




This will just undo your gdm remove. See though if you do this you can go back to modifying the services


Nope, it says the file already exists. Restarted and everything looks exactly the same... I mean, black :)
Author

RE: GDM

stealth-
Member



Posts: 1003
Location: Eh?
Joined: 10.04.09
Rank:
Mad User
Posted on 17-10-09 02:14
f16e7 wrote:
No, look, I don't know what is causing your problem. I'm not really acquainted with Ubuntu, and the GNOME you're running on top of it. I'm just saying, don't login as root. Like, ever.


Don't you mean "don't log in as root graphically, ever"?
Because it's kinda hard on some distros to not log in as root ever. Not to mention just a plain root login can sometimes be much faster than a chain of commands with a precedent of "sudo".

Ubuntu's idea of never using the root account directly, and instead obscuring and wrapping it with an over excessive usage of sudo, is, imo, ridiculous.


The irony of man's condition is that the deepest need is to be free of the anxiety of death and annihilation; but it is life itself which awakens it, and so we must shrink from being fully alive.
http://www.stealt. . .
http://www.stealth-x.com
Author

RE: GDM


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 17-10-09 07:04
stealth- wrote:
f16e7 wrote:
No, look, I don't know what is causing your problem. I'm not really acquainted with Ubuntu, and the GNOME you're running on top of it. I'm just saying, don't login as root. Like, ever.


Don't you mean "don't log in as root graphically, ever"?
Because it's kinda hard on some distros to not log in as root ever. Not to mention just a plain root login can sometimes be much faster than a chain of commands with a precedent of "sudo".

Ubuntu's idea of never using the root account directly, and instead obscuring and wrapping it with an over excessive usage of sudo, is, imo, ridiculous.


I do agree that Ubuntu blocking the root account is dumb, but there is no need to use sudo for multiple lines. You can just sudo a new shell, and effectively do the same thing as "su"

EDIT:I suppose I will use this space to say that if you are really keen on using Ubuntu, you should look into Linux mint. Based off Ubuntu/Debian, has all the same features + extras. After becoming tired of manually doing everything all the time, Linux Mint has become a permanent OS on part of my machine. Oh and it doesnt block the root account.




Edited by on 17-10-09 07:13
Author

RE: GDM

stealth-
Member



Posts: 1003
Location: Eh?
Joined: 10.04.09
Rank:
Mad User
Posted on 17-10-09 08:05
stdio wrote:
stealth- wrote:
f16e7 wrote:
No, look, I don't know what is causing your problem. I'm not really acquainted with Ubuntu, and the GNOME you're running on top of it. I'm just saying, don't login as root. Like, ever.


Don't you mean "don't log in as root graphically, ever"?
Because it's kinda hard on some distros to not log in as root ever. Not to mention just a plain root login can sometimes be much faster than a chain of commands with a precedent of "sudo".

Ubuntu's idea of never using the root account directly, and instead obscuring and wrapping it with an over excessive usage of sudo, is, imo, ridiculous.


I do agree that Ubuntu blocking the root account is dumb, but there is no need to use sudo for multiple lines. You can just sudo a new shell, and effectively do the same thing as "su"

EDIT:I suppose I will use this space to say that if you are really keen on using Ubuntu, you should look into Linux mint. Based off Ubuntu/Debian, has all the same features + extras. After becoming tired of manually doing everything all the time, Linux Mint has become a permanent OS on part of my machine. Oh and it doesnt block the root account.


I made the chain of sudo commands comment because ubuntu doesn't recommend using sudo su or sudo -s sInce it is, like you said, virtually the same as spawning a root session.

I've heard of linux mint quiet a bit, and assumed it was a more pretty version of ubuntu. I wasn't aware it unblocked the root account or made any efforts to improve ubuntu other than making it more pretty and more compatible with wine. Maybe I'll check it out. I seriously doubt I would switch to it (I'm more of a gentoo man, myself), but I love checking out new distros.


The irony of man's condition is that the deepest need is to be free of the anxiety of death and annihilation; but it is life itself which awakens it, and so we must shrink from being fully alive.
http://www.stealt. . .
http://www.stealth-x.com
Author

RE: GDM


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 17-10-09 14:02
f16e7 wrote:
No, look, I don't know what is causing your problem. I'm not really acquainted with Ubuntu, and the GNOME you're running on top of it. I'm just saying, don't login as root. Like, ever.


stealth- wrote:
Don't you mean "don't log in as root graphically, ever"?
Because it's kinda hard on some distros to not log in as root ever. Not to mention just a plain root login can sometimes be much faster than a chain of commands with a precedent of "sudo".


Yeah, I did mean "don't log in as root graphically, ever". On the other hand, I also won't recommend using su. If you want a secure machine, you should disable the use of su for various reasons.
Author

RE: GDM

chess_rock
Member



Posts: 244
Location:
Joined: 20.02.08
Rank:
Apprentice
Posted on 17-10-09 16:48
Well, i did try to login with every single user to try and fix the problem, and for this, i also used root. But I never log in with root directly.

I'd like to thank you Moshbat since init 3 and init 5 solved my problem. I just don't understand one thing. What is the main difference between init 3, 5 and startx? Both inits work the same way, and startx loads the graphical mode without some aspects, like the users/groups unlock option. I googled it up and couldn't find their difference. What i've found, is that startx doesn't load the graphical login screen.
Author

RE: GDM


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 17-10-09 17:19
MoshBat wrote:
init sets the run level.


Allow me to expand, please.


0 Halt
1 Single-User mode
2-5 Full Multi-User with console logins and display manager if installed
6 Reboot


Taken from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Runlevel#Debian_Linux

*edit: fix0rred.

Edited by on 17-10-09 17:22
Author

RE: GDM

chess_rock
Member



Posts: 244
Location:
Joined: 20.02.08
Rank:
Apprentice
Posted on 17-10-09 19:24
Thank you both xD I will look it up on google. I've been into linux for less than one year, so i haven't really got natural with it. The keyword: "run level" is the important part of this thread. That will be my google search Wink Don't worry Mosh, i promise i'll study and learn the meaning of that xD