Follow us on Twitter!
I'd prefer to die standing, than to live on my knees - Che Guevara
Friday, April 25, 2014
Navigation
Home
HellBoundHackers Main:
HellBoundHackers Find:
HellBoundHackers Information:
Learn
Communicate
Submit
Shop
Challenges
HellBoundHackers Exploit:
HellBoundHackers Programming:
HellBoundHackers Think:
HellBoundHackers Track:
HellBoundHackers Patch:
HellBoundHackers Other:
HellBoundHackers Need Help?
Other
Members Online
Total Online: 18
Guests Online: 15
Members Online: 3

Registered Members: 82908
Newest Member: krishna7799
Latest Articles
View Thread

HellBound Hackers | Computer General | Hacking in general

Author

Ermm, a WHOLE LOT of process modules


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 29-09-05 23:26
I ran Ad-Aware and I only had about 10 critical files but it said i had 1123 process modules. Usually I only have like 3. And I found my firefox has started randomly going to other advertising sites at sporadic intervals and popups that freeze my computer and create little blank white squares that block my whole computer's screen. I always keep a close check on all my spyware so what could it be?


Author

RE: Ermm, a WHOLE LOT of process modules

Mr_Cheese




Posts: 2468
Location: Brighton, UK
Joined: 30.11.04
Rank:
Uber Elite
Posted on 29-09-05 23:34
you downloaded anything recently?


http://www.hellboundhackers.org/
Author

RE: Ermm, a WHOLE LOT of process modules


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 29-09-05 23:35
Firefox is getting targetted by hackers now. It sucks.
Author

RE: Ermm, a WHOLE LOT of process modules


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 29-09-05 23:40
not really, a few jimi hendrix songs...

I keep getting redirected at very inconvenient times to some site advertising WinFixer, a program supposedly similar to Spybot but no doubt riddled with Spyware and other various sites... hopefully I'm not alone hereSad


Err, and what IS a process module?




Edited by on 29-09-05 23:42
Author

RE: Ermm, a WHOLE LOT of process modules


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 30-09-05 03:38
actually ur not alone i get the same thing it always takes me 2 some poker game
Author

RE: Ermm, a WHOLE LOT of process modules


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 01-10-05 01:33
did you download the latest version of ad-aware? It says the same thing about an absurd amount of "process modules" on mine too. The last version did not. Think of process modules as sub-routines of a processes. You can have several modules for one process.

I also use spybot along with ad-aware. It finds what ad-aware misses and vice-versa. Together they make a good team. Spybot also had an "advanced mode" where you can list everything that starts up and get rid of the unwanted stuff. Very cool and free is awesome.




Author

RE: Ermm, a WHOLE LOT of process modules


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 01-10-05 09:38
I had a nigthmare that I had gotten spyware yesterday night Frown I woke up in a sweat lol, lame I know Sad


(also, Hackerbabe, cool, avatar, sig combo...)




Edited by on 01-10-05 09:38
Author

RE: Ermm, a WHOLE LOT of process modules


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 01-10-05 14:48
hey thanks,

You know your a computer geek when.......

you have nightmares about spyware...

LOL


Author

RE: Ermm, a WHOLE LOT of process modules

n3w7yp3
Member

Your avatar

Posts: 358
Location: USA
Joined: 19.03.05
Rank:
Moderate
Posted on 02-10-05 00:25
i had a nightmare that i got kernal rootkitted...

it was horrible.... Sad


"Root is a state of mind" -- K0resh
Author

RE: Ermm, a WHOLE LOT of process modules


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 02-10-05 17:52
haha, apparently this thread has steered far from it's original subjectPfft


Author

RE: Ermm, a WHOLE LOT of process modules


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 11-05-06 05:15
I had the same issue a while ago, it turned out to be the vundo virus that was causing "winfixer" to pop up plus all the other pop ups
Author

RE: Ermm, a WHOLE LOT of process modules


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 11-05-06 05:39
If you only had 3 process modules, something was wrong then or you looked at the display incorrectly. (IE., look at it while it's counting, alt-tab to another window when it got to 3, then not check again till later.)

You should have a few hundred at the minimum for an average desktop.

A 'process module' in these terms is basically a library file, whether a .dll or .bin file, but the file itself is compiled code meant to be shared between multiple applications. These can be loaded and essentially cached in the processors cache or your RAM, depending on the code itself and it's usage.

Basically, they're teeny little programs that work together to form the programs you're used to using.


Author

RE: Ermm, a WHOLE LOT of process modules


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 11-05-06 06:51
Eh, I stopped using firefox after the issue/bug reports started increasing.... now I use Avant Browser.

The only problem with Avant (because in my opinion, it blows every other browser out of the water) is the fact that it tags http:// to the front of unknown commands (like js injection) making it into http://javascript:alert(document.cookie) and it doesn't work.

That and the current release has some issues with flash (but only on certain sites).

Other than that, this browsers owns them all haha.

I turn it on, type in hbh and press enter, the url alias kicks in and I go to http://www.hellboundhackers.org (url aliases can be set).

That and if you've got something "fun" on the screen and people come in, I can right click and drag to the lower right and make the entire program go into the system tray. (motion commands for EVERYTHING)..

Technically it gets it's underlying code from IE, and it shares the same cookie collection (my cookies in IE are the same as in AB), but it just works really really well... if anyone has any questions just ask... I've been using it since version 2.1, and it's on 10.2 Build 52 right now.


Author

RE: Ermm, a WHOLE LOT of process modules

bl4ckc4t
Member

Your avatar

Posts: 591
Location: /etc/
Joined: 07.03.06
Rank:
Wiseman
Posted on 11-05-06 07:35
Slight Return wrote:
I ran Ad-Aware and I only had about 10 critical files but it said i had 1123 process modules. Usually I only have like 3. And I found my firefox has started randomly going to other advertising sites at sporadic intervals and popups that freeze my computer and create little blank white squares that block my whole computer's screen. I always keep a close check on all my spyware so what could it be?


Coolwebs. Its a pain in the ass. go to http://housecall.. . .micro.com/ and run a free scan. They blow AdAware out of the solar system. These guys will kill all that ails your computer as far as adware.

Try it, see what you remove. (ill bet it was coolwebs)
Please repond when you finish your scan.

Bl4ckC4t


Author

RE: Ermm, a WHOLE LOT of process modules


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 15-05-06 14:37
It's normal, mine said I had over 2000 modules Pfft