Follow us on Twitter!
Don't judge the unknown - Grindordie
Friday, April 25, 2014
Navigation
Home
HellBoundHackers Main:
HellBoundHackers Find:
HellBoundHackers Information:
Learn
Communicate
Submit
Shop
Challenges
HellBoundHackers Exploit:
HellBoundHackers Programming:
HellBoundHackers Think:
HellBoundHackers Track:
HellBoundHackers Patch:
HellBoundHackers Other:
HellBoundHackers Need Help?
Other
Members Online
Total Online: 18
Guests Online: 16
Members Online: 2

Registered Members: 82906
Newest Member: ilija
Latest Articles
View Thread

HellBound Hackers | Computer General | Hardware

Author

dual operating systems - is it possible?

thehacker3
Member



Posts: 47
Location: NY
Joined: 05.12.06
Rank:
Newbie
Warn Level: 20
Posted on 03-01-08 02:38
alright, an idea just struck me. i have 2 mice, 2 headphones, and 2 monitors all plugged into the same comptuer. my cpu is dual core too. is it possible to have 2 operating systems running AT THE SAME TIME? like each monitor having a dif OS? idk how to do it neither do i have a clue if it's possible or not but can some1 shed some light?
Author

RE: dual operating systems - is it possible?


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 03-01-08 03:23
well, your using one PC. so no it is not possible. how are you going to boot up 2 different operating systems at the same time :xx:. BUT. how ever it is also possible at the same time. have you heard of VMWare. VMware is tricky to get to know, i have no experience with it. but i know few people who have successfully used it. but you can run anything on Windows. By using the Virtual Machine Ware you can run your Windows OS, and you can run another Windows, Linux, MAC OSX... anything, and you can use it to test your own work.. really great tool, you can torrent the VMWare Client.


Author

RE: dual operating systems - is it possible?


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 12-01-08 04:42
I'm kind of curious about this as well; I have dual-core athlon 3.0ghz with dual display, two keyboards, a mouse, and a usb tablet. How would one go about booting up simultaneous OSs? It would be awesome to run Win and Lin at the same time, so I don't have to reboot just to use Photoshop (the only thing I still need windows for XD, having solved teh iTunes issue with Banshee)


Author

RE: dual operating systems - is it possible?


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 12-01-08 04:52
ThorsDecree wrote:
How would one go about booting up simultaneous OSs? It would be awesome to run Win and Lin at the same time, so I don't have to reboot just to use Photoshop (the only thing I still need windows for XD, having solved teh iTunes issue with Banshee)


So, run Linux as your main OS and run Windows inside a virtual machine using VirtualBox. Linux as the host OS, running Windows as the virtual OS, tends to have similar performance to Windows on a native machine, anyways.



Author

RE: dual operating systems - is it possible?


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 12-01-08 13:49
You could also dual boot, have both installed on the same computer. switching would require a restart, however, and you cant use both at the same time.


Author

RE: dual operating systems - is it possible?


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 14-03-08 10:08
VM ware =]

its easy to get a VM reader and just run any Linux ISO through it =]


Author

RE: dual operating systems - is it possible?

richohealey
Member



Posts: 1022
Location: #!/usr/local/bin/python
Joined: 01.05.06
Rank:
Monster
Posted on 14-03-08 11:13
yes technically, you could run one in a VM in a seperate X server, bind soley to the other kb and mouse, which would keep them seperate.

But i'd suggest just binding it all ina xinerama screen.

Hit me up on msn if oyu need this explaining



bitchohealey at hotmail dot com skype:richohealey www.psych0tik.net
Author

RE: dual operating systems - is it possible?


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 14-03-08 15:31
Would it not be a lot easier just to buy a very cheap desktop to run one os (linux) on and run the other on your dualcore (xp-vista).

You can Dual-Boot but it requires restarting to change os and can lead to havoc in the system files if you don't do it properly.

I'm with the guys above - if u must run 2 os at the same time, run linux and use virtualbox to run windows from that.
Author

RE: dual operating systems - is it possible?


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 10-05-08 21:41
i was reading something a while back about using one computer as two (or more, i think they mentioned up to 10)

pretty sure it was just running several 'thin' linux clients

here is a link to an article about it i just found on google:
http://www.digita. . .etely_Free

Plus its free software Wink

can probably also just get linux working with two separate x-servers each accepting input from one keyboard and mouse each. But I think I heard something a while ago about this been problematic with two mice inputs. Then you could easily hook up one of the x-servers to automatically load vmware to start a virtual os on login, something similar to this guide:
http://www.watchi. . .buntu.html

hope this helped and didnt confuse too much.