Follow us on Twitter!
Ideas are far more powerful than guns.
Monday, April 21, 2014
Navigation
Home
HellBoundHackers Main:
HellBoundHackers Find:
HellBoundHackers Information:
Learn
Communicate
Submit
Shop
Challenges
HellBoundHackers Exploit:
HellBoundHackers Programming:
HellBoundHackers Think:
HellBoundHackers Track:
HellBoundHackers Patch:
HellBoundHackers Other:
HellBoundHackers Need Help?
Other
Members Online
Total Online: 28
Guests Online: 28
Members Online: 0

Registered Members: 82852
Newest Member: sockpuppets
Latest Articles
View Thread

HellBound Hackers | Computer General | Networking

Author

difference between Hub and SwitchQ?


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 16-09-07 17:18
hi.. every one

most of the times i see that people use this kind of notation: Hub/Switch

whyQ Isnt there any difference between Hub or a SwitchQ

as far as I know.. Hub is used to group multiple computers in a network.
rightQ
Author

RE: difference between Hub and SwitchQ?


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 16-09-07 17:32
When you send packets to a hub, the hub will is going to repeat that data to all devices connected to it (not just the intended destination). A switch is the exact opposite. It will connect to the destination device based on the packet's header and send it to that device and that device only.

Short answer:
Switches = Less traffic, Better for larger networks, More expensive
Hubs = Mass traffic, More collisions, Small networks only, and Cheap

Or so is my understanding Wink.


Author

RE: difference between Hub and SwitchQ?


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 16-09-07 18:09
This is a bit off topic, but you should learn about Transparent Learning Bridges. It will help your overall knowledge of routing and terminology associated with it, ie: collisions, etc..

Also, this knolwedge is critical in knowing what ARP Spoofing really is, and what cache and routing tables are.

And if you're familiar with the OSI/ISO Model, you should understand that:

+ Hubs operate at ISO Layer 1 - Physical Layer
+ Switches operate at ISO Layer 2 - Data Link Layer
+ Routers operate at ISO Layer 3 - Network Layer

For your question, check out:
http://www.webjun. . .ent?id=947






Edited by on 16-09-07 18:10
Author

RE: difference between Hub and SwitchQ?


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 16-09-07 19:16
thanks very nice article.. for noobs Smile