Follow us on Twitter!
I'd prefer to die standing, than to live on my knees - Che Guevara
Thursday, April 24, 2014
Navigation
Home
HellBoundHackers Main:
HellBoundHackers Find:
HellBoundHackers Information:
Learn
Communicate
Submit
Shop
Challenges
HellBoundHackers Exploit:
HellBoundHackers Programming:
HellBoundHackers Think:
HellBoundHackers Track:
HellBoundHackers Patch:
HellBoundHackers Other:
HellBoundHackers Need Help?
Other
Members Online
Total Online: 15
Guests Online: 15
Members Online: 0

Registered Members: 82889
Newest Member: Geriztul
Latest Articles
View Thread

HellBound Hackers | Computer General | Webmasters Lounge

Author

Database Question.

Demons Halo
Member



Posts: 261
Location: Sweden
Joined: 26.03.09
Rank:
Apprentice
Posted on 23-02-10 19:56
I was wondering how enormous sites like Pricerunner.com works?
I guess PHP/MySQL is enough for building a site like that, but my question is how do they update the content of the site? I mean there are THOUSANDS of items, how do they update the status of every single item daily?!?!
base_dropper@hotmail.com www.demonshalo.com
Author

RE: Database Question.


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 23-02-10 20:47
They automate updates and they don't use static data.


Author

RE: Database Question.

Demons Halo
Member



Posts: 261
Location: Sweden
Joined: 26.03.09
Rank:
Apprentice
Posted on 23-02-10 21:19
Compromise wrote:
They automate updates and they don't use static data.


That much I figured out, but what is the actual method they use for that?
base_dropper@hotmail.com www.demonshalo.com
Author

RE: Database Question.


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 23-02-10 21:33
Demons Halo wrote:
That much I figured out, but what is the actual method they use for that?


Code interacting with databases, maybe some scripts on a cron-like timer that run every day/week/month/whatever.


Author

RE: Database Question.

Demons Halo
Member



Posts: 261
Location: Sweden
Joined: 26.03.09
Rank:
Apprentice
Posted on 24-02-10 00:26
Compromise wrote:

Code interacting with databases, maybe some scripts on a cron-like timer that run every day/week/month/whatever.


Well lets say the price in a store for a certain item has changed, how do Pricerunner find out that the price need to be corrected?
base_dropper@hotmail.com www.demonshalo.com
Author

RE: Database Question.

Demons Halo
Member



Posts: 261
Location: Sweden
Joined: 26.03.09
Rank:
Apprentice
Posted on 24-02-10 00:35
MoshBat wrote:
It checks the price daily/hourly, and if the one on their databases doesn't match the one it checks against, then it replaces it. Really, could you not work that out?


ofc I could jeez. But that would require Pricerunner to have access to the stores DB, Which I believe no store would allow..
base_dropper@hotmail.com www.demonshalo.com
Author

RE: Database Question.


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 24-02-10 02:02
Demons Halo wrote:
ofc I could jeez. But that would require Pricerunner to have access to the stores DB, Which I believe no store would allow..

MoshBat wrote:
... No it doesn't. There are other ways of getting information from a website/database.
Now, if it weren't to pull info from the website, the store would send the information, after all, it is advertisement.

Application Programming Interface.

Edit: You're welcome, Mosh. Figured you needed a little push.




Edited by on 24-02-10 02:08