Follow us on Twitter!
It is never to LATE to become what you never WERE.
Sunday, April 20, 2014
Navigation
Home
HellBoundHackers Main:
HellBoundHackers Find:
HellBoundHackers Information:
Learn
Communicate
Submit
Shop
Challenges
HellBoundHackers Exploit:
HellBoundHackers Programming:
HellBoundHackers Think:
HellBoundHackers Track:
HellBoundHackers Patch:
HellBoundHackers Other:
HellBoundHackers Need Help?
Other
Members Online
Total Online: 21
Guests Online: 19
Members Online: 2

Registered Members: 82843
Newest Member: hx47
Latest Articles
View Thread

HellBound Hackers | Computer General | General Computer Problems

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Author

Computer Booting


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 05-05-07 09:23
My media computer won't boot. I added two harddrives recenthly and I think while I was doing so, something else got unplugged.

When it tries to boot, it beeps arround 5-6 times.

All I see unplugged is my sound card. Which has a small 4 small hole. Although I cannot find any 4 pin on my mother board the only place I see where it fits is the hard drive. But I might be wrong.

My skills in computer hardware isn't very good. So please be gentle... Pfft


Author

RE: Computer Booting


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 05-05-07 09:33
did the additional hard drives work previously, before you connected them?
And, o, are they SATA? More information means more help --


Author

RE: Computer Booting


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 05-05-07 09:42
They were pretyt old harddrive. Needed a converter on my compouter and it never really worked properly thats why i added them in my old computer whioch they worked.

When i boot my coimputer my computer screen does not show anything. I unplugged my old hard drives and still the same problem occured thats how I know that it is not the hard drives fault. Unless it blew up my computer ofcourse...

Thanks


Author

RE: Computer Booting


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 05-05-07 11:12
and did you installed RAID? if one hdd is SATA, and second IDE, they can be some problems with it


Author

RE: Computer Booting


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 05-05-07 11:12
does beeps are warnings check you rmanual
my guess is your RAM unplugged .
it's not your sound card, the fact that it resets is it's due to something vital for it running. Tell us what your BIOS is and the nature of the beeps, eg:
1 short-2long-1short


Thos 4 holes sound like molex thingies, those are power cables in effect, like yellow, black, black, red. yes?




Edited by on 05-05-07 11:17
Author

RE: Computer Booting


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 05-05-07 11:25
wolfmankurd wrote:
does beeps are warnings check you rmanual
my guess is your RAM unplugged .
it's not your sound card, the fact that it resets is it's due to something vital for it running. Tell us what your BIOS is and the nature of the beeps, eg:
1 short-2long-1short


Thos 4 holes sound like molex thingies, those are power cables in effect, like yellow, black, black, red. yes?


My ram seems well plugged.
and yes, but there is no yellow its one black, one red, one white. with a 4 pin.


Author

RE: Computer Booting


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 05-05-07 11:27
It's a molex power cable, please tell moi the nature of the beeps and the bios verson, atleast the type of computer, ie ibm, mac etc, and we'll have this kicked in about 5 mins.




Edited by on 05-05-07 11:29
Author

RE: Computer Booting


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 05-05-07 11:30
wolfmankurd wrote:
It's a molex power cable, please tell moi the nature of the beeps and the bios verson, atleast the type of computer, ie ibm, mac etc, and we'll have this kicked in about 5 mins.


One long beep. 2 short ones after that. then nothing.


Author

RE: Computer Booting


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 05-05-07 11:31
on the whole thats a video card issue, which makes sense no video card no shoing error on screen. THAT DOESNT MEAN IT'S NOT RAM! I still recommend you chekc ram, and maybe your PSU sometimes they ar esoo poor they cant provide power to run extra stuff you've added in.




Edited by on 05-05-07 11:34
Author

RE: Computer Booting


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 05-05-07 11:35
wolfmankurd wrote:
on the whole thats a video card issue, which makes sense no video card no shoing error on screen


So the video card would be unplugged. Is it only a card I put in the slot. Or is it also connected to the mother board?

Thanks a lot for the help I appreciate it greatly!


Author

RE: Computer Booting


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 05-05-07 11:38
Mechanical89774 wrote:
So the video card would be unplugged. Is it only a card I put in the slot. Or is it also connected to the mother board?


could almost be anything, check your ram is in the right way around fully clicked in in the right slot.

The video card could be in the wrong slot not in properly or the connecters bad, maybe you zapped it from some static when you opened up your pc (very unlikely) try it in another pc

Mechanical89774 wrote:
Thanks a lot for the help I appreciate it greatly!

NP Smile


Author

RE: Computer Booting


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 05-05-07 11:48
Everything works! seems to be the graphic card.


so now for that 4 pin thing. does it go anywhere? I think i unplugged when i was adding the harddrives... Or does it not really matter and was most likely not plugged in before?


Author

RE: Computer Booting


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 05-05-07 11:51
it's a power cable for HDD's floppies, etc, if a drive doesnt have one pu tit in there if all drives have one then it was unplugged originally, yes, the beeps imply it's the video/graphics card. maybe it's just not compatible with your motherboard.


Author

RE: Computer Booting


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 05-05-07 12:00
well it boots now.

But now another problem occured. i unplugged my new harddrives to see if it will work like it did before. but. it goes hrough the first boot up screen then into the normal detecting screen. then the third screen with info about slvae floppy, cd drive. etc. But it stays on that screen and does not continue the process...


Author

RE: Computer Booting


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 05-05-07 12:02
DO NOT READ ABOVE!!

I can't seem to edit my previous post. So i unplugged my old hard drives and works like it did before. But when I plug them, they get stuck on the third screen as I said above...

Thanks


Author

RE: Computer Booting


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 05-05-07 12:02
-----------------
sounds like a loose connection, or something, (sounds like it crashes at the BIOS hardware check)
----------------

okay then, check if the hard drives are onnected and so are the molex's. It could be that you rpsu cant run both effectivly, what is your psu's power etc




Edited by on 05-05-07 12:04
Author

RE: Computer Booting


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 05-05-07 12:06
wolfmankurd wrote:
-----------------
sounds like a loose connection, or something, (sounds like it crashes at the BIOS hardware check)
----------------

okay then, check if the hard drives are onnected and so are the molex's. It could be that you rpsu cant run both effectivly, what is your psu's power etc


I done a quick search on google to learn what a PSU power is and looks liek the power supply if that is what u mean, my power supply is 300 watts...


Author

RE: Computer Booting


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 05-05-07 12:08
okie do all the drives have a molex connector?


Author

RE: Computer Booting


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 05-05-07 12:10
No. But i took out the floppy out of my computer to make space for the hard drives so Im guessing that is where the unpluygged one is. but i dont seem to see others...


Author

RE: Computer Booting


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 05-05-07 12:13
So CD, DVD, HDD drives all have a molex?

Okie. I'm having a bit of trouble getting what you mean.

Your PC now boots, without beeping, BUT on booting it hangs at the hardware check? AND, without the a HDD plugged in the system boots?




Edited by on 05-05-07 12:15
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >