Follow us on Twitter!
Don't judge the unknown - Grindordie
Monday, April 21, 2014
Navigation
Home
HellBoundHackers Main:
HellBoundHackers Find:
HellBoundHackers Information:
Learn
Communicate
Submit
Shop
Challenges
HellBoundHackers Exploit:
HellBoundHackers Programming:
HellBoundHackers Think:
HellBoundHackers Track:
HellBoundHackers Patch:
HellBoundHackers Other:
HellBoundHackers Need Help?
Other
Members Online
Total Online: 29
Guests Online: 28
Members Online: 1

Registered Members: 82851
Newest Member: darthvador
Latest Articles
View Thread

HellBound Hackers | Computer General | Networking

Author

Can't connect to AP.

Night_Stalker
Member

Your avatar

Posts: 329
Location:
Joined: 01.02.07
Rank:
Apprentice
Warn Level: 10
Posted on 01-07-09 05:37
I'm using a BT3 live CD....
If it helps, it is the final release.


Anyways, in Wireless ASSistant I can see all the networks, but when I try to connect to one it always fails, even on open networks without MAC filtering...

It works perfectly in Windows, but not here..

I've been looking into this problem since this morning, but I haven't found anything too helpful...

Any suggestions as to what I can do to connect to a wireless network?

I know the card works because it is in monitor mode and I can detect APs and I've even cracked some WEP keys, but as previously stated, I can not connect to any networks, not even open ones without MAC filtering, and I know hat the signal strength is not the problem because it is 90-100%.

Any suggestions as to what I can do to connect to a wireless network?




Edited by Night_Stalker on 01-07-09 05:38
Author

RE: Can't connect to AP.


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 01-07-09 07:23
try using WICD http://wicd.sourceforge.net/

or do it from the command line (as root):
lshw -C network //gives you the interface, you may skip this if you know (ex. wlan0, eth0, ath0)
ifconfig <interface> down
dhclient -r <interface>
ifconfig <interface> up
iwconfig <interface> essid "ESSID_IN_QUOTES"
iwconfig <interface> mode Managed
dhclient <interface>

for more: man ifconfig




Author

RE: Can't connect to AP.

Night_Stalker
Member

Your avatar

Posts: 329
Location:
Joined: 01.02.07
Rank:
Apprentice
Warn Level: 10
Posted on 01-07-09 07:57
Thanks man, it is working now with both open and WEP secured networks. Smile


Author

RE: Can't connect to AP.


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 01-07-09 08:36
nice!


Author

RE: Can't connect to AP.


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 01-07-09 08:44
Night_Stalker wrote:
Thanks man, it is working now with both open and WEP secured networks. Smile

Yeah WICD is the default in BackTrack 4 for a reason Pfft .