Follow us on Twitter!
One mans freedom fighter, another's terrorist.
Wednesday, April 23, 2014
Navigation
Home
HellBoundHackers Main:
HellBoundHackers Find:
HellBoundHackers Information:
Learn
Communicate
Submit
Shop
Challenges
HellBoundHackers Exploit:
HellBoundHackers Programming:
HellBoundHackers Think:
HellBoundHackers Track:
HellBoundHackers Patch:
HellBoundHackers Other:
HellBoundHackers Need Help?
Other
Members Online
Total Online: 23
Guests Online: 17
Members Online: 6

Registered Members: 82885
Newest Member: ConiBE
Latest Articles
View Thread

HellBound Hackers | Computer General | General Computer Problems

Author

backtrack 2 fubared my laptop

fuser
Member



Posts: 960
Location: in front of a computer (duh)
Joined: 05.04.07
Rank:
Mad User
Posted on 01-02-10 05:16
To cut a long story short, my house is currently undergoing a major renovation process, and so the electricity and phone line to my house is affected as well.

So we moved to my uncle's apartment, which is vacant since he only lives there when he comes here occasionally. The problem began when I realised that there are lots of wifi connections, except all of them are passworded, so I found a copy of BT2 in my laptop bag, and booted from there, and since I didn't find any results, I just restarted my computer, and then I noticed it didn't even get past post.

So I then tried to go to bios, and then when I restarted it, it simply hanged there, and when I went to the boot device menu, all it said was "Checking NVRAM" and simply stayed there even after about five minutes, so booting from CD and USB is out of the question.

so now I've come to the conclusion that my laptop is fubar. Does anyone have any clues what might cause this, and can anyone offer a solution other than taking it to the store I bought it from?

I'm using an Asus K50IJ with Win 7, btw


img.userbarz.com/51/10006.png
img.userbarz.com/146/29144.gif
img.userbarz.com/99/19602.jpg
img.userbarz.com/4/600.png
img.userbarz.com/45/8814.gif
img360.imageshack.us/img360/9231/bfbarlr0.jpg
[url=http://userbarz.com/][img]ht

Edited by fuser on 01-02-10 05:25
catinthecpu@hotmail.com
Author

RE: backtrack 2 fubared my laptop


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 01-02-10 05:35
I have no clue what actually happened, but it sounds like you might need to restore your master boot record.


Author

RE: backtrack 2 fubared my laptop

fuser
Member



Posts: 960
Location: in front of a computer (duh)
Joined: 05.04.07
Rank:
Mad User
Posted on 01-02-10 05:45
ok, basically, when I my attempt to crack the passwords around the area yielded no results, I restarted my computer, except it didn't even get past the boot screen.

then I restarted it, and went into bios to see if there are any changes, and so, firstly I tried to save my changes (which results in a restart) and then it simply stayed at the boot screen.

I then restarted it again, and this time, I went to the boot menu (asus puts the boot menu, where I can boot from CD/USB device/network separate from the BIOS), and after scanning the computer for CD's and USB devices, it simply hanged and said Checking NVRAM, up to five minutes, so I know something's wrong.

I have no idea what's going on, and just when I'm about to backup my project as well..

and at other forums, there were suggestions that it might be my motherboard's or bios's fault. and so I have to send it for a warranty.

update:

I just remembered one thing, my friend, who he gave me a copy of Win 7 he downloaded, which turns out to be an OEM version, he also gave me this application that tricks win 7 into thinking that you have win 7 for your laptop which basically adds the OEM master key for you by selecting your OEM Information, and it was stated in the info file that No BIOS modification needed.

it's called Windows 7Loader By Orbit30 & Hazar Build 1.4 (Released August 12, 2009)

I thought it might be the culprit, but I've been using it for a month with no issues whatsoever.


img.userbarz.com/51/10006.png
img.userbarz.com/146/29144.gif
img.userbarz.com/99/19602.jpg
img.userbarz.com/4/600.png
img.userbarz.com/45/8814.gif
img360.imageshack.us/img360/9231/bfbarlr0.jpg
[url=http://userbarz.com/][img]ht

Edited by fuser on 01-02-10 06:09
catinthecpu@hotmail.com
Author

RE: backtrack 2 fubared my laptop

korg
Admin from hell



Posts: 2798
Location: ENDING YOUR ONLINE EXPERIENCE!
Joined: 01.01.06
Rank:
God
Posted on 01-02-10 06:17
Try pulling your battery and power cord, then hold down the power/reset button for at least a minute to reset the cmos. This should work if it's not a video gpu going bad (nvram holds your settings for this among other system info).

Edit: didn't finish my sentence.


i57.photobucket.com/albums/g215/korg1269/shodan13.jpg

I deal in pain, All life I drain, I dominate, I seal your fate.

Edited by korg on 01-02-10 11:12
O R
Author

RE: backtrack 2 fubared my laptop

fuser
Member



Posts: 960
Location: in front of a computer (duh)
Joined: 05.04.07
Rank:
Mad User
Posted on 01-02-10 06:26
korg, I tried your advice and thankfully it works, but I'm still wary. will this problem occur again, and why did this happen in the first place?


img.userbarz.com/51/10006.png
img.userbarz.com/146/29144.gif
img.userbarz.com/99/19602.jpg
img.userbarz.com/4/600.png
img.userbarz.com/45/8814.gif
img360.imageshack.us/img360/9231/bfbarlr0.jpg
[url=http://userbarz.com/][img]ht
catinthecpu@hotmail.com
Author

RE: backtrack 2 fubared my laptop

korg
Admin from hell



Posts: 2798
Location: ENDING YOUR ONLINE EXPERIENCE!
Joined: 01.01.06
Rank:
God
Posted on 01-02-10 06:31
Probably a clash with win7 drivers and bt2 being held in the video ram. Shouldn't happen again on it's own. I see this a lot with people dual booting on laptops.


i57.photobucket.com/albums/g215/korg1269/shodan13.jpg

I deal in pain, All life I drain, I dominate, I seal your fate.
O R