Follow us on Twitter!
The measure of a mans life is not how well he dies, but how well he lives.
Wednesday, April 16, 2014
Navigation
Home
HellBoundHackers Main:
HellBoundHackers Find:
HellBoundHackers Information:
Learn
Communicate
Submit
Shop
Challenges
HellBoundHackers Exploit:
HellBoundHackers Programming:
HellBoundHackers Think:
HellBoundHackers Track:
HellBoundHackers Patch:
HellBoundHackers Other:
HellBoundHackers Need Help?
Other
Members Online
Total Online: 21
Guests Online: 15
Members Online: 6

Registered Members: 82813
Newest Member: VesuviusSentinel
Latest Articles
View Thread

HellBound Hackers | Computer General | General Computer Problems

Author

avp virus? not sure


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 09-04-09 23:58
i dont have much information, but im not sure whether this is a virus and am wondering if anyone has any idea. i have blue shield antivirus. its got a process avp.exe. theres two running on my brothers machine and i havent checked the other few here that have the program. but mine will occasionally have three. theres an extra one running on system. my cpu is always at 100% when the third avp is running. i looked at it in process explorer and the results confused me. process explorer told me it was from blue shield and i had killed blue shield. procexp confused me with a couple other things, but i dont remember what it was and can't figure out cause my dad told my brother to shut down the comp while i was at school and the third process is not currently running.

i havent done much else. too much hw. i was thinking maybe the avp from blue shield was run and then code was injected in (correct me if this is just stupid). i use run as admin a lot since im only supposed to have a limited account and im assuming thats why (if its a virus), its running under system privileges. i thought about using win32 debugger and checking if its the same process as the other two. (can i debug certain processes, never used it before)?

in any case, this is getting kinda long so ill stop going on. anyone know if it might be a virus, or how i can check if it is?
Author

RE: avp virus? not sure

spyware
Member



Posts: 4192
Location: The Netherlands
Joined: 14.04.07
Rank:
God
Warn Level: 90
Posted on 10-04-09 00:02
avp.exe is a Kaspersky anti-virus module, part of the Kaspersky suite.



img507.imageshack.us/img507/3580/spynewsig3il1.png
"The chowner of property." - Zeph
[small]
Widespread intellectual and moral docility may be convenient for leaders in the short term,
but it is suicidal for nations in the long term.
- Carl Sagan
“Since the grid is inescapable, what were the earlier lasers about? Does the corridor have a sense of humor?” - Ebert
[/s
http://bitsofspy.net
Author

RE: avp virus? not sure


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 10-04-09 00:09
spyware wrote:
avp.exe is a Kaspersky anti-virus module, part of the Kaspersky suite.


i know, but i checked and i dont have kaspersky. theres a process in the blue shield directory called avp so im thinking its a generic antivirus thing. but its using 100% even when i kill the damn antivirus


EDIT: theres a program registered as a trojan/virus on processlibrary.com called avp.exe with a security risk of 4/5

Edited by on 10-04-09 00:10
Author

RE: avp virus? not sure

fashizzlepop
Member



Posts: 482
Location: Old folks home.
Joined: 08.04.08
Rank:
Moderate
Posted on 10-04-09 00:51
Well if it is a virus and you can't get rid of it with your blue shield bullshit, then get a new AV program and uninstall blue shield.


"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.”
~Albert Einstein~


csullivan.codeinspire.net/images/boomsig2.png
fashizzlepop@gmail.com http://csullivan.codeinspire.net/
Author

RE: avp virus? not sure


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 10-04-09 03:24
fashizzlepop wrote:
Well if it is a virus and you can't get rid of it with your blue shield bullshit, then get a new AV program and uninstall blue shield.


my dad bought it and installed it. he says hell ban me from the computer if i install any programs. im not interested in getting a new AV.
Author

RE: avp virus? not sure


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 10-04-09 04:04
sounds like it's about time you bought a cheep computer. I mean, if you can't even install programs... Personally, I was thinking of getting an eee pc (or something similar).

If your dad is basically running the computers in your house, then it's something you'll probably want to do anyways.


Author

RE: avp virus? not sure

korg
Admin from hell



Posts: 2798
Location: ENDING YOUR ONLINE EXPERIENCE!
Joined: 01.01.06
Rank:
God
Posted on 10-04-09 08:37
The reason you see 3 instances of the avp.exe is because they all have a separate role. Every A/V program has a start-up exe, an active exe , an update exe and a scan exe. The reason your cpu jumps to 100% is probably caused by a scan in progress, Check your settings to see if you have a scheduled scan checked.


i57.photobucket.com/albums/g215/korg1269/shodan13.jpg

I deal in pain, All life I drain, I dominate, I seal your fate.
O R
Author

RE: avp virus? not sure


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 10-04-09 19:46
maug wrote:
If your dad is basically running the computers in your house, then it's something you'll probably want to do anyways.


ill be going to college soon. hes gonna buy me a laptop.


korg wrote:
The reason you see 3 instances of the avp.exe is because they all have a separate role. Every A/V program has a start-up exe, an active exe , an update exe and a scan exe. The reason your cpu jumps to 100% is probably caused by a scan in progress, Check your settings to see if you have a scheduled scan checked.


thanks. ill take your word for it. i dont know why it scans so much, but the process hasn't shown up since i originally posted, so i'll leave it alone.


Author

RE: avp virus? not sure

korg
Admin from hell



Posts: 2798
Location: ENDING YOUR ONLINE EXPERIENCE!
Joined: 01.01.06
Rank:
God
Posted on 10-04-09 20:15
Like I said check your settings in scheduled scans, It may be set to do full system scan everyday, Which is stupid, I set all mine to manual and scan them once a week or so.


i57.photobucket.com/albums/g215/korg1269/shodan13.jpg

I deal in pain, All life I drain, I dominate, I seal your fate.
O R
Author

RE: avp virus? not sure


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 10-04-09 20:45
it scans startup objects at application startup and updates automatically. i scan files every once in a while. i dont know if my dad does, but i never run full scans.