Follow us on Twitter!
Hacking isn't just Computers & Exploits. It's a Philosophy. - Mr_Cheese
Sunday, April 20, 2014
Navigation
Home
HellBoundHackers Main:
HellBoundHackers Find:
HellBoundHackers Information:
Learn
Communicate
Submit
Shop
Challenges
HellBoundHackers Exploit:
HellBoundHackers Programming:
HellBoundHackers Think:
HellBoundHackers Track:
HellBoundHackers Patch:
HellBoundHackers Other:
HellBoundHackers Need Help?
Other
Members Online
Total Online: 28
Guests Online: 27
Members Online: 1

Registered Members: 82850
Newest Member: hardstylurr
Latest Articles
View Thread

HellBound Hackers | Computer General | Webmasters Lounge

Author

Apostrophe replaced by square


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 31-01-11 18:41
I am working on a website for a competition. For some reason when I use an Apostrophe, as in "Welcome to the Minico TSA Chapter's homepage" it is replaced with a square. I have tried a few escape sequences, but it is still a square. The really weird part is that it is only a sqaure when returned by the AJAX, but if I visit the source page, then it is an apostraphe. The browser is IE 8 on windows 7.

Does anyone know how to make this work?
Thanks
wired_al
Author

RE: Apostrophe replaced by square

Mr_Cheese




Posts: 2468
Location: Brighton, UK
Joined: 30.11.04
Rank:
Uber Elite
Posted on 31-01-11 19:30
it'll most likely be your character encoding your using on the site.

try changing it to UTF-8
http://www.hellboundhackers.org/
Author

RE: Apostrophe replaced by square

chess_rock
Member



Posts: 244
Location:
Joined: 20.02.08
Rank:
Apprentice
Posted on 31-01-11 19:32
Have you tried switching to some other codification such as UTF-8?
Author

RE: Apostrophe replaced by square

stealth-
Member



Posts: 1003
Location: Eh?
Joined: 10.04.09
Rank:
Mad User
Posted on 01-02-11 01:45
chess_rock wrote:
codification


What?


The irony of man's condition is that the deepest need is to be free of the anxiety of death and annihilation; but it is life itself which awakens it, and so we must shrink from being fully alive.
http://www.stealt. . .
http://www.stealth-x.com
Author

RE: Apostrophe replaced by square


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 01-02-11 02:10
Use the HTML entity instead of the apostrophe. That would be & rsquo; (without the space between the ampersand and the "rsquo;" part).




Edited by on 01-02-11 02:11
Author

RE: Apostrophe replaced by square

AldarHawk
Member



Posts: 1690
Location: Canada
Joined: 26.01.06
Rank:
Hacker Level 1
Posted on 01-02-11 13:27
If you copied the words from a program like MS-Word there lies your problem. These programs use the stylized versions of the " and ' symbols. To be 100% certain there are no problems ensure the change all " and ' into the HTML code of them.


Just ask Yahoo!Taboo! http://www.erikwestlake.com
Author

RE: Apostrophe replaced by square

j4m32
Member

Your avatar

Posts: 81
Location:
Joined: 01.05.10
Rank:
Newbie
Posted on 01-02-11 14:47
stealth- wrote:
chess_rock wrote:
codification


What?


I think chess_rock, if I am not mistaken speaks Spanish or Portuguese as his first language, in Spanish they would probably say "codificación del documento" document encoding (literally it's encoding of the document). I imagine it's something similar in Portuguese.

Jim,
Author

RE: Apostrophe replaced by square

stealth-
Member



Posts: 1003
Location: Eh?
Joined: 10.04.09
Rank:
Mad User
Posted on 01-02-11 23:53
Ah, damn, and here I thought I was mocking his spontaneous creation of words.


The irony of man's condition is that the deepest need is to be free of the anxiety of death and annihilation; but it is life itself which awakens it, and so we must shrink from being fully alive.
http://www.stealt. . .

Edited by stealth- on 01-02-11 23:54
http://www.stealth-x.com