Follow us on Twitter!
Your life is ending one minute at a time. If you were to die tomorrow, what would you do today?
Wednesday, April 16, 2014
Navigation
Home
HellBoundHackers Main:
HellBoundHackers Find:
HellBoundHackers Information:
Learn
Communicate
Submit
Shop
Challenges
HellBoundHackers Exploit:
HellBoundHackers Programming:
HellBoundHackers Think:
HellBoundHackers Track:
HellBoundHackers Patch:
HellBoundHackers Other:
HellBoundHackers Need Help?
Other
Members Online
Total Online: 12
Guests Online: 12
Members Online: 0

Registered Members: 82800
Newest Member: santana1744
Latest Articles
View Thread

HellBound Hackers | Computer General | General Computer Problems

Author

32 or 64bit


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 05-07-07 21:03
Ok, i recently built a computer, fairly basic and i got all the components for free so i didn't have much choice on what i got. But I've now been reading around and I'm under the impression that my new computer is 64bit capable. Ive done some googleing but i can only really find information on other people's PC's but not mine. So i figured id ask someone human Wink
ok so my computer is this:

Abit NV8 Motherboard, Nforce4-4x chipset (http://www.pcupgrade.co.uk/productdetails.asp?ProductID=820&categoryid=270 for full detials)
AMD Sempron 3000+ CPU 1.8Ghz http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/specpage.html?AMD-S7306O
1Gb RAM (2x512Mb) 184-pin DDR PC3200
ATi Radeon x1300 series 256mb GDDR2 PCI-e

If in the case that this PC is 64bit capable, is it worth getting the x64 version of windows, or am i already using 64bit functionality? I really need some help, because to be honest i havent got a clue about this kind of stuff, so any help from you guys realy would be appreiciated

Thanks.
Author

RE: 32 or 64bit


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 05-07-07 21:23
If the processor is 64bit compatible, then you will need the 64bit version of windows to take advantage of it.


Author

RE: 32 or 64bit


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 05-07-07 22:07
Apparently 64Bit systems aren't very compatible with many programs, although the compatibility is getting better. I'd say wait a couple of years before getting a 64bit CPU.


Author

RE: 32 or 64bit


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 05-07-07 22:28
Ive relaized that from my searhces, but i already have this system and am posting to you using it right now, but presumably im only using the processor in 32bit mode as its a Windows XP pro disk i built for my old computer, which i know to be the 32 bit copy of windows. Seeing as i already have this, is it worth getting x64?
Author

RE: 32 or 64bit


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 06-07-07 01:49
I use windows xp media center, with an amd athlon64 cpu. The os is 32-bit, so I'm in the same boat, but I'd just as soon stick with the OS you have, because AMD processors are good and unless you're going to be running some really high-demand programs you probably won't need x64. It should be a lot faster, but as mentioned above, it is sometimes hard to find compatible programs for 64bit.

I'd install linux Pfft before I pay Micro$haft for anything else.

There are plenty of x64 distros, just look. About windows, it's about $150 so I try to stay away... there again, I'm also a mac user Pfft so thats a lot of $$ (but I got my stuff cheap Smile)

Just google, I don't know much about 64bit running 32bit progs, and I'd prefer running "slowly" in comparison than not being able to find a program I want. I really am not an expert on 64bit so you can disregard most of the above if you like haha. howstuffworks.com has a pretty good simple explanation of it if you want to check it out

Here's the url: http://computer.h. . .essor6.htm


Author

RE: 32 or 64bit


Member

Your avatar

Posts:
Location:
Joined: 01.01.70
Rank:
Guest
Posted on 06-07-07 21:34
Well lets just say i don't intend on paying Microsoft even if i do use the x64 edition of windows, Id love to use Linux, Ubuntu, i am simply in love with at the moment as i have it in a virtual machine, but i need the games and all that to run. I also had previous problems with Linux that have put me off using it.

I now have the 64bit edition of windows, so i'm just gunna back everything up and give it a go. If its any better and there arnt too many problems ill say so you can see if its worth it too.

Its easy to revert back anyway if it is all wrong, and 64bit applications are becoming more and more common these days.

Cheers
Author

RE: 32 or 64bit

richohealey
Member



Posts: 1022
Location: #!/usr/local/bin/python
Joined: 01.05.06
Rank:
Monster
Posted on 06-07-07 22:12
well IMO ubuntu sux, but that's a different thread.

if you want to play games under linux contact me RE cedega. i can help you out.


bitchohealey at hotmail dot com skype:richohealey www.psych0tik.net